We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
American, German, Steakhouse
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Table Service
View all details
features, about
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
11
13
3
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
11
13
3
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

Very friendly owners and staff! My husband didn't like his burger too much but all my food was good!

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed May 28, 2018 via mobile

We really hoped this place would be great but it was really average. The wurst was good but the rest of the food was weak. There was no air conditioning so the dining environment was not pleasant.

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed April 29, 2018

Will be back! Outstanding steak! Great Cole slaw Great service awesome price! Looks like a good buffet! Many thins I wanted to try;Time was short :-( I shall return!

Date of visit: April 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed March 4, 2018

A friend recommended trying this restaurant, so my wife and two other couples had dinner there. To put things in perspective, the restaurant is n the heart of a central Virginia farming county. I have lived in Germany for several years and I was somewhat...skeptical of how good the food could be. It is small building formerly a dinner that seats about 20 people. Although small, it was clean and cozy. The owner who is Germany and the server were very friendly and pleasant. The restaurant offers a limited authentic German menu and the usual American menu fare including a buffet and salad bar. My wife and I shared the Black Forest Haus platter. It included two schnitzels, three types of wurst, red cabbage, sauerkraut, potatoes. The red cabbage mixed with minced apple and as exceptionally good. The sauerkraut was also well seasoned. The schnitzel was delicious as was the wurst. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The entrée meals were of very ample proportions and the menu items are very reasonably priced. The rest rooms were very clean. The restaurant has easy access from and egress back onto Patrick Henry Highway. It is open from 8:00 am – 8:00 pm daily and 8:00 am – 1:00 pm on Sunday. It is 37 miles from our house, but it was well worth the drive. We will be back again.More

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?
Rolf R, Owner at Black Forest Haus, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Thank You! Your group made the Place look good on a Saturday night! Since the place is for Lease or Sale the only correction I like to make,that it has seating for 45 persons.Looking forward to your next visit,just check on Facebook or call first.

Reviewed March 3, 2018

The first time we went there, it was ok. The next 2 times were terrible. The staff was not friendly and did not listen to what we wanted. The hamburger was burned too death. We asked for medium. The fries were not crispy. The buffet...was tasteless. Won't go back there.More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
Rolf R, Owner at Black Forest Haus, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

There are 3 Options: 1. We offer you a full refund,give you a $ 15.- Gift certificate for your next visit! We will always try to please every customer! 2.Somebody might wan't to apply for a part time job,and maybe we can fix the above...More

Reviewed February 6, 2018

Very easy access off the highway for a quick lunch. We both had burgers but might have tried the German fare if it was later. They did have a buffet which, if I had realized it, I would have done. Burger where OK. A bit...overdone. Good bread.More

Date of visit: January 2018
Helpful?
Reviewed October 1, 2017

We finally had time to stop and eat at the Black Forest Haus. We were expecting a German themed restaurant. The inside is in my opinion very shabby and dingy. The server who was very awkward told us about their dinner buffet and named what...sounded like a good selection. We went over to the buffet after saying we would have that and I was very disappointed. Some of the items were not on the buffet as she had listed, the items that were there were not German except for the sauerkraut cooked with ham hocks. To me that is a weird southern slightly German thing. The salad bar consisted of lettuce and cheese with several macaroni salads and beets. The mashed potatos tasted like wall paper paste and the only good thing I can say is the short ribs were pull off the bone tender and very slathered in bbq sauce, but were a tad fatty. We satisfied our curiousity and will not be back.More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

What a delight to find a little restaurant that has GERMAN food within a pleasant drive through the countryside from Richmond VA. After we ordered, we noticed the placematsThe placemat showed the Augtoberfest Black Forest Platter. Hubby jumped up and followed the waitress to ask...to change our order to that platter, which serves at least two people. We got 2 Wiener schnitzel, several kinds of wurst, potato salad, red cabbage, sauerkraut and brown bread. What a pleasant late afternoon excursion from our N. Chesterfield area. We will go back soon for the potato cakes.More

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed January 30, 2017

We had heard a lot of good news about this place and it all turned out to be True! The food is Delicious, the Service is Excellent, and the prices can't be beat. You can get a complete meal with drink (includes beer and/or wine),...soup, and salad bar all for one price. Extras are plentiful and inexpensive. We ate the Schnitzel plate and the Black Forest Platter and couldn't finish it all. The salad bar is quite plentiful and the chicken, rice, and vegetable soup was very good. We took home the two deserts they make there (Black Forest Cake and Apple Strudel) and they were Excellent...just like in Germany! We definitely will make this a regular place to come. By the way, their breakfast menu is the cheapest we have ever seen. Clean, Cute, Quality, and a Superb price...This place can't be Beat!!More

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
Reviewed January 28, 2017

Enjoyed the breakfast buffet. Pancakes were tasty and grits's were delicious. We had great service and our coffee cup always filled.

Date of visit: January 2017
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Amelia Inn & Suites
37 reviews
4.48 miles away
Quality Inn Burkeville Hwy 360 & 460
47 reviews
13.38 miles away
Wedgewood Motor Inn
18 reviews
17.34 miles away
Hampton Inn Farmville
606 reviews
19.26 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Angelo's Sub Cafe
11 reviews
4.65 miles away
Mi Jalisco
19 reviews
2.99 miles away
Mario's Italian & Country
22 reviews
4.19 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Morefield Mine
16 reviews
6.40 miles away
Powhatan State Park
45 reviews
14.75 miles away
Metro Richmond Zoo
267 reviews
14.80 miles away
Sandy River Outdoor Adventures
307 reviews
17.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Black Forest Haus staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Black Forest Haus

  • Yes, Black Forest Haus offers takeout services.

  • Yes, Black Forest Haus offers delivery services.

  • Black Forest Haus is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 4.5
    • Service: 4.5
    • Value: 4.5
    • Atmosphere: 3