We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a Table
2
Mon, 5/25
8:00 PM
OR
Order Online

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Menu

Tiramisu with Khalua
Italian mascarpone with marsala liqueur & sponge cake soaked in Khalua & espresso, Topped with stripes of chocolate
$6.50
White Chocolate Cassis
A lovely combination of white chocolate mousse and black current mouse. Two layers of sponge cake flavored with fruit punch, decorated with black current glaze and surrounded by a strip of embossed almond Joconde.
$6.50
Chocolate Delight (Gluten Free)
Two layers of flourless chocolate cake, filled with rich and fine textured chocolate cream. Decorated with chocolate glaze and edible gold leaves
$6.50
Tartufo
Classic tartufo with a zabaglione cream center, Covered with chocolate gelato & caramelized Hazelnuts, topped with cocoa powder
$6.00
Limoncello Truffle
Lemon gelato with a heart of limoncello, covered in meringue
$6.00
Spumoni
Strawberry, pistachio and chocolate gelatoall coated with chocolate and drizzledwith white chocolate
$6.00
Cannoli
Cannoli shell filled with sweet ricotta cheese & Chocolate chips
$6.00
Ripieno
Lemon, Peach, Pineapple or Coconut ...in it’s original fruit shell, imported from Italy
$6.00
About
When you think Italian ...Think IL PORTO!! Old Town"s First Italian Restaurant in the Heart of Old Town's Historic Seaport District. Serving Fine Italian Cuisine since 1973. Let the Italian flag wave you into the restaurant and soon you'll discover why we have so many satisfied customers around town and around the globe.
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $30
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Italian
FEATURES
Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (534)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
260
151
56
30
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
260
151
56
30
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lasagna bread raviolini salad pasta al pollo seafood special shrimp italian food old town king street red sauce our waiter food was amazing historic building visiting alexandria the wait staff
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed March 7, 2020

We ate dinner here in February, overall the service and food was good (not exceptional), yet a bit overpriced.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

Very tight seating with no personal space & no ambiance! Poor, poor, poor service on a Sunday at 7:00PM:( Food was awesome! Hats off to the chef & cooks, but the service was horrendous. We were served soup, salads& appetizers and our drink orders hadn’t...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
waliz2013, Owner at Il Porto, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review. We are deeply sorry that the service was not up to our usual standards. We have spoken to our staff about your review in order to ensure that this kind of service never repeats itself again. We are...More

Reviewed February 6, 2020

The first warning sign was that the restaurant was completely empty when we came in; however, it was around 4pm so we didn’t think much of it. We ordered an antipasto plate and mussels for starters. The mussels were ok but the cold cuts on...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
waliz2013, Owner at Il Porto, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2020

Hello Bea! Thank you so much for leaving us a review. While the winter months are always slow for restaurants in Old Town, our establishment was empty due to the fact that we were just beginning our dinner shift which is served from 4 pm...More

Reviewed January 23, 2020

I just have to say ! This place is amazing plus the service was wonderful ! Kevin was a really great server , he knew the specials and he was very kind to let us know what il porto is about . I’m definitely coming...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

So many food options in old town Alexandria...but Il Portos takes the win. The setting is quite and romantic and there is always someone greeting you at the door. The warm bread is to die for. My go-to is the pasta alla veneziana which is...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed January 5, 2020

We found this place on our first night in Old Town and didn't have a booking. They found a table for the four of us. We would recommend booking your restaurants when you arrive in Old Town. The good places are often booked out. This...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed January 2, 2020

The atmosphere was fantastic and the waiter was excellent but the meal was disappointing. I had the Pollo Masala. The chicken was paper thin and cool. The wine sauce for the chicken tasted burnt. I was expecting better given the price of the meal. Now...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
waliz2013, Owner at Il Porto, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Thank you for leaving us a review! We apologize that the Pollo Marsala was not up to our usual standards. In the future please feel free to let your waiter know how you feel about the meal as we would have been happy to remake...More

Reviewed December 29, 2019 via mobile

Great original Italian food & ambiance venue. Pasta Primavera con Aragosta is “to die for” with DaVinci Chianti DOCG. Chocolate Bavarian cake was “not bad” either. Will go back.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed December 28, 2019

The “homemade” pasta tasted like it was from a box, and the “grilled corn” on our salad tasted right out of a can. The pasta sauce was also overly sweet. What really turned me off, however, was a mystery charge added to my bill after...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
waliz2013, Owner at Il Porto, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Thank you for leaving us a review! All of our pasta is homemade, and when we approached your table at the end of your meal you told us that you had enjoyed your entrees. In the future please let the establishment know how you truly...More

Reviewed December 28, 2019

We read the lunch menu outside of the restaurant and it said “homemade pasta” and decided to go in and try. The pasta was definitely not homemade, the salad that had “roasted corn” had corn from a can. Definitely not impressed and not worth the...More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
waliz2013, Owner at Il Porto, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Thank you for leaving us a review! Our pasta is indeed homemade, as it has been for over 40 years. The corn is not from a can, we try to keep our ingredients as fresh as possible. While we apologize that you did not enjoy...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
The Alexandrian Old Town Alexandria, Autograph Collection
2,091 reviews
.16 miles away
Morrison House, Autograph Collection
848 reviews
.42 miles away
Travelodge Alexandria
263 reviews
.58 miles away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
851 reviews
.63 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Warehouse Bar & Grill
889 reviews
.04 miles away
Pops Old Fashioned Ice Cream
308 reviews
.04 miles away
The Wharf
1,028 reviews
.01 miles away
Landini Brothers Incorporated
830 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Old Town
2,752 reviews
.03 miles away
Stabler-Leadbeater Apothecary Museum
280 reviews
.07 miles away
Carlyle House
309 reviews
.08 miles away
Old Town Waterfront
1,275 reviews
.13 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Clay_Robson
October 10, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Guy S | Reviewed this property |
We ate downstairs, but I didn't hear any piano music from upstairs.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing