We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Sea to Table Since 1895. Upscale dining in relaxed atmosphere. Fresh fish and shellfish delivered 7 days a week. 8 varietal oysters daily, and eight more on deck. Generous wine and craft beer selection. Daily Happy Hour and buck a shuck in bar area (see website). Voted "Best Seafood" for many consecutive years. Certified Black Angus Choice ribeye, sirloin and tenderloin steaks. Learn more on our website: menu, Chef's features, history and more...
PRICE RANGE
$12 - $50
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Seafood
FEATURES
Takeout, Seating, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Discover, Reservations, Private Dining, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
198
82
43
20
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
198
82
43
20
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters carrot cake paella bang bang shrimp lobster tail haddock new england clam chowder blueberries cole slaw rice steak bread soups residential neighborhood lehigh valley an appetizer lump
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed February 22, 2022

I have seen many bill boards for Youell,s while driving around the Lehigh Valley Area. When I finally had the time to get there, I was not disappointed. The restaurant is tucked away in a residential neighborhood. The decor of the restaurant is very beautiful....The staff is extremely accommodating to their customers. The seafood is fresh and tasty. When I get a chance to visit the Lehigh Valley Area Youells is my first stop for seafood.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Youells Oyster House, Owner at Youell's Oyster House, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2022

Thank you!

Reviewed February 18, 2022

The seafood was fine but would be mediocre in the Chesapeake Bay or New England. Unfortunately the whole experience was soured by a sangria (literally and figuratively). I’ve never met a sangria I didn’t like and this one tasted like they tried to cover skunked...wine with extra sugar - however they refused to take it back and the manager came over to point out fine print on the menu that drinks cannot be sent back - apparently that includes ones that have gone bad. They did eventually take it back but having to argue ruined the experience.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed December 29, 2021 via mobile

The raw oysters were fresh and sweet. The seafood combos were plentiful and cooked perfectly. We had the crème brûlée’s and they were wonderful and the peanut butter crunch cake is a must have. Our waitress was attentive but didn’t hover and served us well....We only had one complaint. While I was so excited that they were willing to make our favorite oyster stew, we were disappointed that they only added 3 oysters to a $12.00 bowl. The taste was there but really, as a couple more oysters please.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Youells Oyster House, General Manager at Youell's Oyster House, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2022

Thank you!

Reviewed October 24, 2021 via mobile

My husband and I visit Youell's every year for my birthday and have been disappointed yet. This afternoon we had Kayley as our server. She was very attentive to our needs and was very pleasant. Our platters were prepared perfectly. We started with Bang Bang...Shrimp for an appetizer, which exploded with flavor. Lobster Benedict was delicious. It could've used a bit more lobster meat, but all in all was good, and for $18.00.....you can't beat that. My husband always loves the Broiled Seafood Combination. It's his go-to meal. Absolutely try the Blueberry Carrot Cake! Topped off the whole dining experience!More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Youells Oyster House, Owner at Youell's Oyster House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2021

Happy Birthday! Thank you so much for your continued patronage.

Reviewed September 29, 2021

Made a reservation for our anniversary; asked for and assured a quiet table where we could talk. Said they'd be sure to note our anniversary. We were seated smack in the middle of the restaurant, which became very busy and noisy. Seafoid was tasty, veggies...(2 different) were wayy undercooked...raw, if you will. The meals, overall, were luke warm, a huge disappointment. And no mention of our anniversary. A disappointing evening for $150 PLUS tip. Back to Henry's it is!More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 23, 2021

We haven't been to Youell's for a few years even before the covid epidemic so this was going to be a treat. We had a reservation and were seated immediately on arrival. I noticed that some of the staff wore masks and some didn't. I...have to assume that some were vaccinated and others not but did not inquire as it made no difference to us. Our waitress was right there to take our drink order and I stayed with the ice water she brought while my wife ordered one of their special Martinis called a "Sparkling Pear". I prefer a traditional Martini but tasted hers and it was good and very pear forward but too sweet for my taste. With drinks in hand we ordered our meal and we both had the New England clam chowder. My wife noted that her previous favorite of Manhattan clam chowder was missing from the menu as was my favorite main dish of broiled stuffed shrimp. She went for the broiled crab cakes and I ordered the fried combo with a side of Cole slaw to share. The soups arrived and they were good, thick and rich but I thought a little low on seasoning and flavor. Then the mains arrived and I was a bit disappointed that no fries appeared with the dish but rechecking the menu showed that they were not included. There was a medially of vegetables that included quartered baby potatoes, broccoli spears and carrots. It was the same on my wife's plate. The haddock was the first thing I tried and it was hot from the fryer but typical of a frozen processed fish. The scallops disappointed as they were near raw on the inside perhaps put in the fryer while still solidly frozen. The scrimp were good but I only ate one and left the crab cake for the doggy bag. My wife said her broiled crab cakes were excellent. We went on to coffee and she had the crème brulee. That I did taste and it was excellent, just about perfect. I am happy it was because it capped what I rated as an average meal and I really hate giving that sort of a review to a local place. The house is a bit noisy for conversation but not exceptionally so. The waitstaff did a good job of looking in on us and keeping us happy. I wish I could make a better report of our evening.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Youells Oyster House, Owner at Youell's Oyster House, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2021

Well we certainly appreciate your coming back after such a long time as illustrated by your comment of no Manhattan Clam Chowder, which has not been on the menu for years. One thing g that I will emphatically deny is your reference to haddock and...More

Reviewed September 15, 2021

i was excited to see paella on the menu. it was good, but a true paella has a crusty rice layer on the bottom which this did not have. also, there were one 2 clams and 3 mussels. for the price, i expected more seafood...than i got. my husband enjoyed his crab rolls. our desserts were also good. the decor is the now trendy industrial, however, with that comes an increased noise level. we were her to celebrate our anniversary, which they knew, but they didn't even offer to comp one dessertMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed September 11, 2021 via mobile

I LOVE this place and have a go to item-fried seafood. We have come here about once a month, at least, for years. Sadly this latest visit included a hair deep fried into my deep fried shrimp. The server was apologetic and asked if I’d...like a replacement shrimp. I received my replacement shrimp a while later. It just seems a little strange to me that in light of the disgusting experience, the remedy is to bring out one fried shrimp on a plate. Just my two cents. (Have the Blueberry Carrot Cake)More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?5  
Reviewed August 25, 2021 via mobile

Less than expected…for 45$ a plate food, quality of crab roll was not there. Menu substitutes were not allowed for the cheap potatoes nor could I get different vegetables(undercooked). Lobster tail was good. I suspect management over controls this place. The lunch menu has cheeseburgers...on it, but they refused to make us one for our kid. The chicken fingers are served plain with no dipping sauce. I was just underwhelmed by the place in general.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed August 22, 2021

A party of five celebrated a birthday on Friday August 20, 2021. We were greeted and seated promptly, drinks and oysters were delivered in a reasonable time even though the restaurant was packed. An order of salmon was tasty, seafood fra diablo was good, one...party ordered appetizers of mussels and bang bang shrimp as an entree was fine also. My order of lump crabmeat dinner was tasteless and an order of #2 broiled seafood was disappointing. While we were eating, a waitress clearing another table dropped a tray with water glasses and a red beverage of some sort. The water wet the back of one of our party's blouse and white skirt and later we found out there were stains from the red beverage on the skirt. The waitress was apologetic and the floor was dried immediately and a marker placed noting the floor was wet. One person ordered a desert and another told the waitress we had a birthday and ordered a slice of cake that came with a small candle. Considering one party getting wet and the total bill was, with tip $250, I thought the restaurant would have considered offering the slice of cake at no charge.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed August 17, 2021

We ordered paella and found shrimp and lobster tail were over cooked to the point of crunchy. We waited a longer period of time for our meal delivery than expected. Our oysters were served to our neighbors at the bar. We did not receive bread....Our waitress/barkeeper was very affable but also very busy. Considering the prices and the existing reviews I am disappointed.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed June 29, 2021 via mobile

One of my favorite seafood restaurants on the East Coast every time I come the staff is so welcoming and they Always make you feel like family. They always have a superb oyster selection and oysters are my favorite so I get an assortment and...they also have an amazing specials as well as the seafood towers where you can build your own! This restaurant is worth every Penny! Also you must order dessert they are so good and such an amazing selection blueberry carrot cake is killer!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
Youells Oyster House, General Manager at Youell's Oyster House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2021

Thank you for the enthusiastic review! So glad you enjoyed.

Reviewed June 28, 2021

We visited this easy to find family friendly neighborhood restaurant on June 24th and were very pleased with the neighborhood setting, food and service. We had the Oysters Rockefeller, Surf Turf & Surf (a special that eve), and Fried Seafood Combo. Everything was prepared as...requested and was hot and tasty. It was also a very nice change to get Brussels Spouts with the meal instead of the usual vegetable medley offered many places. We got a piece of the carrot cake with blueberries to go and had that later in our hotel room. Yum! Service was excellent thanks to our friendly server, Shivendra. We hope to return on our next trip to the area.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Youells Oyster House, General Manager at Youell's Oyster House, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2021

We appreciate your patronage and are so glad you visited for the first time. See you again soon!

Reviewed May 23, 2021 via mobile

Great brunch! Came for my wife's birthday, great food and great service. This is our second visit and it was just great. We both ordered the Turf+Surf and Chirp. Steak, eggs, and a lobster cooked and served perfectly. This truly is a great restaurant where...the care taken in every part of the operation makes for a great experience.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Youells Oyster House, General Manager at Youell's Oyster House, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2021

Thank you Stew!

Reviewed May 8, 2021

I really wanted to like this place. The reviews looked promising and I'd rather give my money to a local restaurant instead of some chain. For the most part the food was good. It was the kitchen / management I took issue with. Mother Day...weekend. My mom's medium filet had to be sent back twice. ( rare and cold in the center twice.. . When it returned the third time after we had dessert, the same piece of meat cooked 3 times is now shriveled, dry, and pitiful looking. The manager comped us $8 on. $300 bill. Sorry but. When you order a surf and turf for $50. You actually want to eat it all at the same time. If at least half of her meal was comped, I would have been ok with it. I did tip my waiter the appropriate 20% as it was not his fault. Not looking for a free meal here. Just would like my moneys worth. Sorry but I do not believe we will return.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Howard Johnson Hotel & Suites by Wyndham Allentown/Dorney
712 reviews
1.32 miles away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Allentown Cen - Dorneyville, an IHG Hotel
327 reviews
1.67 miles away
Four Points by Sheraton Allentown Lehigh Valley
12 reviews
1.76 miles away
Renaissance Allentown Hotel
342 reviews
1.83 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Henry's Salt of the Sea
394 reviews
.80 miles away
The Tavern on Liberty
34 reviews
.60 miles away
Syb's West End Deli
23 reviews
.63 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Allentown Farmers Market
259 reviews
.65 miles away
Da Vinci Science Center
220 reviews
.88 miles away
Allentown Rose Gardens
76 reviews
.86 miles away
Cedar Beach Park
31 reviews
.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Laci C
October 1, 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from allentonian | Property representative |
Suggested. Very busy, especially on weekends. Best to call ahead at least.
0
Votes
Sharon S
September 3, 2016|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Barbara M | Reviewed this property |
They come with sides.
0
Votes
Lorraine N
August 15, 2015|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from allentonian | Property representative |
Busy, lively restaurants can be considered noisy. Youell’s is a popular place.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Youell's Oyster House

Yes, Youell's Oyster House offers takeout services.

Youell's Oyster House is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 3.5