We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Froggy Dog

40050 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
+1 252-995-5550
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good29%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible18%
Travelers talk about
“frog legs” (7 reviews)
“seafood” (31 reviews)
“chowder” (7 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
American, Bar, Seafood
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
40050 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Food was okay. The hotdog was good according to those eating with me. There were several flies when we were there.

Thank rlewis818
Froggydog55, Manager at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We thank you for your feedback and hope to have you back soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife & I Decided to try The Froggy Dog tonight for dinner, One of the specials listed on the "Specials board" near the hostess station was tuna for $4.99, when we received our check after dinner we were charged $12.99 for the tuna, I...More

Thank ojjody
Froggydog55, Owner at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. It's important to us that every customer has a great visit, so it's disheartening to hear that you were so disappointed with this experience. We do encourage all guests to bring any issues up with...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I'm pretty confident with using reviews from trip adviser however I almost past on the Froggy Dog tonight. We had 5 adults and a 2 year old.. all meals were great. The local fish specials were awesome and the price was more than fare. Service...More

Thank JerseySoundGuy
Froggydog55, Owner at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are so happy that you stopped by! Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback :)

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Party of six for dinner. Waiter only checked on us once after ordering. Table next to us had an excellent waitress always around to check on them. Our food was excellent I really enjoyed and will probably go back again hopefully we get the waitress....More

Thank Bob B
Froggydog55, Manager at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hey Bob, thanks for taking some time to provide us with feedback. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the food, but we wish you would have felt the same way about the service. We do hope you join us again soon so we have...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

So when we arrived we were instantly seated and waited almost 1 1/2 hours before our food order was taken. It took them almost 2 1/2 hours total from start to finish to get us out. Conch fritters were under and overcooked and didn't taste...More

Thank Andrew M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Their sign states they’re open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. We get there at 11:15 and see another sign sign that they're not serving lunch till 11:30. Okay fine. We ordered 2 sodas and sat down. Looking at their menu I couldn’t believe they didn’t...More

Thank Loves2Cruise10
Froggydog55, Manager at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, thank you for the feedback we truly appreciate it. I would like to apologize that you had a negative experience with us. If you wouldn't mind contacting me at info@froggydog.com with the date of your visit, I would like to look into the situation...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just arrived in Avon for two weeks of family vacation and decided to revisit The Froggy Dog. We were greeted very friendly and were ushered to a booth, we asked for. Our waitress was prompt and very attentive and suggested we try the...More

Thank Philip F
Froggydog55, Manager at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hey Phillip, We can't thank you enough for taking the time to leave us feedback! We are thrilled we were able to provide you with an all-around enjoyable experience and hope you'll be back to see us again soon! :)

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Been eating here for 15 years. Called at 11:15 to place an order for take out, was told to call back when open at 11:30. Called in again and was told they don't do take out orders. I asked why and the guy actually said...More

1  Thank Pasa_Bon_Dia
Froggydog55, Manager at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there, thank you for leaving us with some feedback. Customer service is extremely important to us, and one of our main values as a restaurant, so to hear that you received service that was less than stellar is disappointing. Rest assured that this will...More

Reviewed July 11, 2018

I have been here to Froggy Dog in Avon 3 times. The first 2 were really good, and service was great. This last time was just ok. The server was not really with it, and they were out of a lot of things (a few...More

Thank MARY H
Froggydog55, Owner at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for the feedback, Mary, and we appreciate your understanding. We know that your next visit will be a true representation of our restaurant, and aligned with the great first two visits you had!

Reviewed July 6, 2018 via mobile

Stayed at a house near here and decided to try something local and non-chain. Good choice as the food was great and the service was good.

Thank Stephen B
Froggydog55, Owner at The Froggy Dog, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2018

Hi Stephen, thank you very much for the wonderful review and 4-star rating! We are thrilled you had a positive experience with both the food and service during your visit! We hope we get the pleasure of serving you again in the future!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 11 hotels in Hatteras Island
Avon Motel
70 reviews
2.46 miles away
Cape Hatteras Motel
298 reviews
6.51 miles away
Outer Banks Motel
157 reviews
6.59 miles away
Cape Pines Motel
335 reviews
6.63 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Burger Burger
327 reviews
.57 miles away
Pangea Tavern
314 reviews
.92 miles away
The Mad Crabber
330 reviews
.53 miles away
Oceana's Bistro
676 reviews
.74 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Avon Fishing Pier
234 reviews
.92 miles away
Kite Club Hatteras
49 reviews
.31 miles away
Tightlinez Charters
33 reviews
.95 miles away
Kinnakeet Clay Studio & Showroom
52 reviews
.49 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
lizgva82
August 18, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from oibwed2011 | Reviewed this property |
We were in Avon this past week and had similar problems with this restaurant. The hostess appeared to be disoriented and confused, after we asked her to move us to a different table, because it was blazing hot near the back... More
0
Votes
patricia C
August 7, 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LindaDG16 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry , I don't know . I would suggest you check on their site . Maybe it's written there .
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Families with children, Local cuisine, Kids, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Monday
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Friday
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40050 12, Avon, Hatteras Island, NC 27915
  • Location: United States  >  North Carolina (NC)  >  North Carolina Coast  >  Outer Banks  >  Hatteras Island  >  Avon
  • Phone Number: +1 252-995-5550
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing