We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wreck Restaurant

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Business meetings

Location and contact

About
Situated on the second floor of the Beach Lodge, with uninterrupted sea-views, beautifully presented delicious food with attentive service in an elegant environment, the Wreck Restaurant offers one of the best restaurant venues in Swakopmund.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Seafood, International
FEATURES
Parking Available, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveler rating
163
77
19
15
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
163
77
19
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters curry steak snails pasta beach lodge chef anthony atlantic villa beautiful view dining experiences fine dining food and wine great restaurant main course superb food lovely meal visiting swakopmund
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The food was out of this world and the service was on point. Although I had to wait a few hours for the kitchen to open, it was worth the wait.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ndinelagon
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience at The Wreck Restaurant! Regards, Andre

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The wreck is a nice looking restaurant with views over the ocean. We were here on christmas eve in the second seating. The athmosphere was very stressed, staff were running around all over the place and they were loudly communicating through the restaurant. The front...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank thijshuijsmans
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wounderful dinner with excellent servis. Ambient is fancy and beautiful view on the beach. We had a late dinner and it was almost dark when we arrived. Check the time for the sunset and weather if you want to be there for...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AmiTengfors
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience and the view at The Wreck Restaurant! Regards, Andre

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

only went there for Dinner, Good Food and Friendly staff the bar area is very small but service was good. will come again and experience the the rooms im sure this will be very good as they are just a stone away from the ocean

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Floraswk
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience at The Wreck Restaurant!. We look forward to your next visit! Regards, Andre

Reviewed November 12, 2018

The bar section is minimal but welcoming tables and staff change rapidly your mind. Good food from this beautiful country and fantastic wine proposals gives you a good evening. A perfect start before the next days see catamaran safari i Valvis Bay

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Patric J
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that we managed to change your initial perception and that you have enjoyed your dining experience at The Wreck Restaurant! Regards, Andre

Reviewed November 9, 2018 via mobile

It’s disappointing that in this day and age we still have people that believe it’s okay to be racist, which was the experience we had at the wreck. I would not recommend it unless we think such behavior is okay.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Reginald N
Reviewed November 7, 2018

Fantastic views of the sea. Super delicious food and very friendly staff. Please greet Monalisa from us and all the best for her baby. Best regards Jörg and JuttaMore

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Jörg M
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your dining experience at The Wreck Restaurant! We will convey your message to Monalisa, who are now relaxing at home before the "big day".Regards,...More

Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile

Very unprofessional behavior from the restaurant manager. The owner should really look into his behavior towards customers. Doesn't he actually want us to eat there. If so please.......he should let us know when we book. The food was good, but the only reason we stayed...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Petrus S
Reviewed October 5, 2018

Not really impressed. Although prebooked our table mixed up. Very poor service not enough staff and I had to return my fish as was lukewarm.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Margery P
Reviewed September 26, 2018

Our second night in Swakopmund we ate at the Wreck, and like the Tug the night before, interesting building. No direction as to how you get into it - it was upstairs. The food was more expensive and no better. Service was terrible, we had...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank David M
Andre v, General Manager at The Wreck Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2018

Thank you for the review as we can only improve if we are made aware of our downfalls. We have noted your comments and will workk harder to improve on both the service and quality of the food! Regards, Andre

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GaboroneKenneth
June 28, 2015|
Answer
Response from Andre v | Property representative |
Hi , Tahnk you very much for the interest shown in our restaurant. Unfortunately the restaurant had been temporarily closed due to an interdict obtained by a neighbour after a lengthy legal battle. We are however convinced... More
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing