We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
No. 7, Lot 267 | Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
+60 82-234 934
Website
Today
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Mon - Sat 10:00 am - 10:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

246 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 223: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Authentic delicious and refreshing Indian food. In the centre of kuching. Very friendly lady manager and equally good guy named Sanap who looked after me every time I had a meal here (total of 3 times). Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Sourabh C
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Sourabh, Thank you. Appreciated your comments. Looking forward to serve you again when you come back to our enchanting city, Kuching. More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate here man times since the vegetarian options are limited in kuching, actually good food is limited in kuching so this met our needs to be close to hotel with edible food. They had heaps of veggie options, most of the dishes I did not recognise so suck with known favourite indian dishes and no complaints.

Helpful?
Thank B M
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear B M, Thank you for coming to our restaurant and looking forward to serve you again if you happen to visit us during your next visit to Kuching. More 

Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went there on the advice of lonley planet guide. The food is overpriced however it is not the worst food i have had during my malaisian tour. The restaurant need is old and need to be restored, the menu is very large and not well understandable by the guest and the weiters do not speack english. I would not... More 

Helpful?
Thank paoing
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Mr/Mdm paoing, We appreciate whatever comment you made and certainly we will take note and improve the operation. However, complaining of 'overpriced' is uncalled for as all the prices are exhibited outside the restaurant menu stand and the same is given to the guests before ordering. After consuming the food, if the bill is different from what we have mentioned... More 

Changshu, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was advised by a Indian/Malaysian taxi driver, not many people when we entered but ended up with great food and a good service.

Helpful?
Thank Bob2507
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Bob, Thank you for coming and we look forward to receive you during your next visit . We are glad to know that you enjoyed our hospitality. More 

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

While the food was overpriced and unimpressive, the worst part of the evening was meeting the owner, who is one of the most offensive people I have ever met. He came by to ask how our dinner was and quickly made a shockingly sexist remark. After I was able to pick my jaw up off the table, I launched into... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ard34
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ard34, We thank you for coming to our restaurant and spending your hard earned green packed in our restaurant. Your comment "overpriced" is uncalled for as all prices was laid out in our menu which you scanned through before you ordered the food like everybody. If the bill was different from the published price then you have every right... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

We enjoy Indian food & Lyns was convenient for us & reviews seemed ok. Having eaten in a range of Indian restaurants in the UK and on trips to India over the years, the food was at best average, lacking depth. Staff were friendly & reasonably helpful. No reason not to return but I would first explore alternative Indian restaurants... More 

Helpful?
Thank robert j
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Robert j, Thank you for coming. During your next visit if you can't find a better place, please do come back and we will pamper you with something different provided you take our suggestion. Thank you. More 

Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

We were very hungry and looking forward to a great curry. Maybe the main chef was away for the night because it was pretty poor for INDIAN food. More like a mix of Malysian and Indian food, but not in a good way. I think they are offering too many dishes and the overall quality is suffering. The style is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Richie1010
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016 via mobile

Worst indian food ever. Vegetarian briyani taste like fried rice. Naan bread is expensive and dry. Chicken tikka is serve like small portions of tandoori chicken chunks. The dhal is not fresh, plain. Tea is like water. Taste is horrible. I don't understand how people can say great food. I'm an indian, from Semenanjung, raise with various of indian cuisine... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel R
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Mr. Emmanuel, You visited our restaurant in February 2016 but commented on 23rd June 2016. Perhaps your memory could have been shortchanged. It appears you are a joker when you said "worst indian food ever". Our restaurant is patronised by all range of nationalities and majority of them found that our place is a dining experience. It appears you are... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Found this place by accident and it was a real treasure! The food was genuine Indian food, very spicy and there was so much to choose from. Average prices, and the restaurant itself looked very plain and simple. Overall a very positive experience!

Helpful?
Thank Elvira B
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Elvira B, Thank you for coming to our restaurant and making an appropriate comment commensurate with your experience during your visit to our place. We shall endeavour to ensure our guest get the best Indian food in the town. Politics apart, this is where you can enjoy a sumptuous Indian meal. We thank you for coming and hope to... More 

Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

I want to start off by saying how delicious the food was, we thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant and atmosphere. On the contrary the owner of the restaurant made us feel pretty awkward with a few unusual comments. First he came to our table just to question our drink choices (tea and juice). He proceeded to tell us that we should... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank sanadyp
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear sanadyp, Thank you for your comment and your concern. Hope you will come back and enjoy your meal in a quiet atmosphere. More 

Travelers who viewed Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
Indian, Asian, Halal
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Takeout, Reservations, Waitstaff
Good for
Families with children
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 pm - 10:00 pm
Monday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
10:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: No. 7, Lot 267 | Jalan Song Thian Cheok, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
  • Location: Asia  >  Malaysia  >  Sarawak  >  Kuching
  • Phone Number: +60 82-234 934

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?