We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2017 - 2019 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
About
Casual & convenient beach side dining with an emphasis on keeping both parents and children happy. Serving up international style cuisine using fresh, local ingredients. Now also selling authentic Italian Pizza. Proper coffee, with local beans, ethically farmed & sourced. We smoke our own fish & chicken and produce our own mozzarella & halloumi cheese. Hosting weekly events that focus on arts, culture & community. Activities include surfing, slackline, climbing wall, table football and skate ramp. Open to any & all, from 7am till 9.30pm. Enjoy!
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $20
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Italian, Gastropub
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer, Live Music, Beach, Playgrounds, Dog Friendly, Family style, Sports bars
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
160
10
2
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
160
10
2
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smoked fish halloumi burger salad poached eggs mahi mahi juice prawn curry surf lessons climbing wall matara road wonderful beach staying nearby cool music great food and drinks sri lanka beautiful atmosphere
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited several times during the Covid time and they had good quality food and drinks. The staff is really friendly and nice. The place has a nice vibe and you can be right on the shore or in the cool courtyard. Thanks for some...More

Date of visit: April 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Wow - thanks for the stellar review - we weren’t expecting that! Really happy if we’ve helped anyone get through these trying times. Hope to see you here again soon! ❤️

Reviewed March 8, 2020

We stayed at the Shacks AirBnB accommodation, so when we say the food here is great, we know what we are talking about - we basically had all our meals here. The food is really good and very generously priced. The menu has a lot...More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2020

Thanks for making time you write us a review. We are very flattered that you thought our food was so good! We aim to do simple dishes well - so glad you didn’t get bored of the menu! Hope you can come back soon! All...More

Reviewed February 28, 2020

I so loved The Shack, that I had to go back after a little trip to Hiriketiya! I ended up staying in all three accommodations which were very clean and tidy. The Love Shack was probably my favourite and I'll definitely be taking my son...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2020

Well thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and eloquent review - I don’t where to start to address your points! But I think what pleases me most is that you felt safe as solo female traveler - we...More

Reviewed February 27, 2020

This is a brilliant place to eat, drink, hang out and meet people. The food is delicious, there's plenty of variety and it's very reasonably priced. The Shack is bang on the sea front, although you would never guess what a lovely beach lies behind...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2020

Thanks so much for the lovely review. Yes the juxtaposition of the busy road and the chilled beach is amazing! Really glad you enjoyed the band we try to have live music at least twice a month. Really hope to see you here again soon....More

Reviewed February 27, 2020 via mobile

Recently spent two weeks in Galle and visited the Shack on several occasions. The food was always excellent the service attentive and the view fabulous. Highly recommended !

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 29, 2020

Thanks for the great review - really glad you enjoyed dining with us. Yes when the weather is good there aren’t many places with a better view! Hope to see you again soon. All the best The Shack Team

Reviewed February 24, 2020 via mobile

Although I am 60 and this was my first attempt, I was able to surf gentle waves during my first lesson under Roger's tuition. But you will probably need another lesson as there is much learn - all good fun and Roger knows his stuff...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2020

Thanks for the lovely review - learning to surf is difficult at any age! We try to keep our prices competitive and the price on the menu is inclusive of all service and taxes - where else can you get a beer for Rs 300?...More

Reviewed February 23, 2020

We went here for pizza after surfing for a bit, and ordered two pizzas with coke: Prices are medium with about 3600 for two pizzas and two cokes. Quite reasonable. Pizza, we agreed, was more or less average. This was due to a big upside,...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Thanks for taking the time to review it. We are disappointed that you didn’t think the pizza toppings were good - the buffalo mozzarella is the best we can get hold of in Sri Lanka as is the beer which is from an organic farm....More

Reviewed February 16, 2020

After a year, I came back to this landmark of Dewata Beach. The atmosphere is super nice. The owner succeeded to make a comfortable (though super accessible) place, right in front of the sea. The drink and food menu is very creative as qualitative. Do...More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Well thank you for the lovely review - it means all the more that’s it’s the second time you have come! We have spent a lot of time and effort improving the cafe over the last year - I’m glad you like the improvements. Come...More

Reviewed February 12, 2020

We had such a great time staying at The Shack Beach! Incredible food, and wonderful staff. We we’re lucky enough to stay in the beautiful room overlooking the beach. Couldn’t recommend it more!!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2020

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are blessed to have such wonderful staff - without them we are nothing! Hope to see you back here soon.

Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

This place is a small paradise for all those who seek great food at a wonderful beach combined with excellent service. I spent some very relaxing weeks there and enjoyed the surfing (ideal for beginners - they offer privat lessons to a reasonable price at...More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
John_Mann_london, Owner at The Shack Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2020

Thanks so much for this amazing review. It means more as you've obviously been here a few times and the service has been consistently good. Our biggest asset in our staff - we have been very lucky to find them. The pizza menu has been...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Closenberg Hotel
412 reviews
.24 miles away
CoCoBay Unawatuna
994 reviews
.46 miles away
Bilin Tree House
18 reviews
.70 miles away
Star Light Hotel
14 reviews
.77 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
CocoBay La Mer Beach Restaurant
242 reviews
.45 miles away
Three Monkeys
37 reviews
.12 miles away
Scarlett Skyy
34 reviews
.34 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Nalu Surf Shop & School Unawatuna
89 reviews
.12 miles away
Surf School Boardwise Unawatuna
26 reviews
.13 miles away
Whale Watching Safari
50 reviews
.77 miles away
Akmal Ayurvedic & Herbal Tea
12 reviews
.77 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
micheleduffy123
August 4, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from bensoulriders | Property representative |
Sorry for the delay I am travelling in Flores with limited connectivity I am sorry we do not take credit cards. Ben
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing