We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppies Restaurant

Poppies Lane I, North Side Near Legian St, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
+62 361 751059
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good31%
  • Average8%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“rijsttafel” (59 reviews)
“lamb curry” (14 reviews)
“garlic prawns” (15 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
European, Asian, Indonesian, International, Fusion, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Poppies Lane I, North Side Near Legian St, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 300 of 1,313 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2016 via mobile

Had my dinner and came back disappointed . The food was below average the service cold. Poppies might have a following but kuta has better places to go to. The setting still remains impressive and the desserts saved the day.. Visit only if you must

Thank AmitShweta
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Very sorry to disappoint. We are very seriously addressing the problem of cold service, and hope to fix things fast.

Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

This is still a lovely little oasis in amongst the chaos of Kuta. Friendly service. Our daughter had the Piña Colada which comes in a fabulously carved coconut! We had sate campur which come out on a little clay BBQ with a great satay sauce...More

Thank MissBossyBoots
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We're sorry to be rated average of course, since we are still trying as hard as we always have to present a good product. Everyone is playing their part. It's hard to get everything perfect every time, but Nasi...More

A TripAdvisor Member
61
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

Highlight was the pina colada in a coconut the most expensive thing on the menu. Food was too spicy for my liking but the ambience and the service were excellent.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 30, 2016

Great place to eat and large variety to pick from on the menu. Good for both couples and families. Reasonable prices for the Kuta area. Good food and great atmosphere set in garden surrounding.

Thank beachedbyngs
Reviewed September 30, 2016 via mobile

I visited there with my family, it didn't seem that busy (2 more tables other than us), but we had to wait more than 40min.. Nasi goreng and Gadogado was okay but the steak and tuna steak was too cooked and not tasty at all....More

Thank SeungHee C
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016

Very sorry for these shortcomings. We take your comments very seriously, and have tried to address them.

Reviewed September 29, 2016

Although the setting and the restaurant is very beautiful, I would not suggest it due to the amount of rats we have seen running around our table. Unfortunately, we had already eaten the food, which was good to be fair, but god know what's behind...More

Thank Iulia G
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2016

Firstly, we apologise for the fact that your evening at Poppies was spoiled. I am all too aware that when rats are visible to our guests it would seem that something more could be done. We’d like to assure our guests that we use all...More

Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed this restaurant , the garden its set in is really lovely and it is in a central location. We decided to have the rice table (selection of maybe 10 Indonesian dishes) as we Dont eat seafood ..they kindly made one up with...More

Thank Dublingirl92
Reviewed September 26, 2016

This place was really nice. It has a garden style decor. We ate local style food. It was very nice and not expensive. The staff are very nice too. It doesn't have aircon but the industrial sized fan made it quite comfortable.

Thank Chris B
Reviewed September 26, 2016

We had the ricetable tonight. Looked all lovely but food was stonecold. This worries me with regards to the Bali Belly..We also could have done with an explanation of what was served.More

Thank Mary C
SambalSamuiBali, Owner at Poppies Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2016

We are very sorry for your disappointment. We are addressing the food temperature issue again. Please do not worry about hygiene at Poppies. Our food is almost exclusively prepared daily, and certainly the ingredients of the Rijsttafel, which is very popular. As for an explanation...More

Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile

Our favourite restaurant in Bali. Great food, excellent staff and atmosphere. We come here multiply times when we are in Bali.

Thank David H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Un's Restaurant
1,282 reviews
.05 miles away
TJ's Mexican Bar & Restaurant
1,042 reviews
.06 miles away
Legian 27 Cafe
83 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bali Surf Energy
7 reviews
.09 miles away
Bali Beach Surf School
43 reviews
.11 miles away
Angelina Spa
46 reviews
.06 miles away
Young Spa Bali
584 reviews
.08 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Mi S
January 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from antonychattaway |
no they don't went last night specifically for this menu item only to be told for 2 only- annoyed beyond belief.plus tables too small food about average, slow service and nothing to keep beer cool
2
Votes
cphan30
September 12, 2016|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Foxfamily_Aus | Reviewed this property |
Hi I have always been a walk in, never booked a table and never not got a table. If was a large number for a meal, I would make a booking. Enjoy your stay
0
Votes
_paul_rogowski
May 11, 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from liketbike | Reviewed this property |
never saw a buy your own establishment whilst there wine is reasonably priced
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi
Good for
Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
8:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Poppies Lane I, North Side Near Legian St, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
  • Location: Asia  >  Indonesia  >  Bali  >  Kuta
  • Phone Number: +62 361 751059
  • E-mail
Description
For over four decades we have welcomed visitors and friends from around the world to these hanging gardens of Kuta, offering them fine dining and calming respite from the ever-increasing hustle and bustle beyond our walls. Our current menu includes several house favourites that remain as popular today as when we introduced them in 1973.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing