We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$4 - $10
CUISINES
Vietnamese, International, Healthy
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
124
25
10
12
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
124
25
10
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pad thai gazpacho sandwiches banana cake portobello burger pancakes juice bread vegetarian plate salad cold brew delicious coffee garden wall healthy food vegetarian restaurant soft music goat cheese
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed April 29, 2020 via mobile

What a Perfect Cafe/Restaurant.   It has everything we need and more.   Healthy, Delicious, actually skilled and talented. We were doing a lot of Laptop creative work while we were in Colombia, so we wanted to fuel our body with high quality food that makes us...feel alive. Coffee Is obviously exceptional, being Organic, high grade Sierra Nevada Colombian Coffee, and the options and Variety of coffee and other hot beverages is incredible and creative.   Im so Happy we found this place.  Once we found it, we came here just about every day.   Love the staff too.  Staff are very good English speakers, Friendly,  and Enthusiastic.  Makes you want to come back just to see them.   I can't sing the praises of Ikaro Highly Enough.  In my View, A Top 5 Cafe in the World. PS: Music was wonderful too in my experience Thank you Guys, you made my experience one I will cherish for a very long time I appreciate each and every one of youMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
helmutullrich, Owner at Ikaro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2020

thanks Michael! thats very sweet of you sending out this praise in these hard times where we are closed! this will keep us motivated to endure some more and to open up again with high spirits and lots of motivation!

Reviewed March 30, 2020

Ikaro owners, staff, story, coffee, and food are full of love!! Ikaro became a second home for me during my time in Santa Marta. I first had the pad thai that was supremely delicious. The lavender matcha is life changing.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

We stumbled upon Ikaro, walking down a busy street of restaurant reps begging you to come to their place- we just wanted to get away from it all. Ikaro looked unassuming plus it sold coffee. The overall setting looked great, it was almost a hipster...version of a jungle- it has lounging ‘beds’ where you can chill and the interior is green with jungle like vibes. I felt immediately at ease- we are both bag packers so we just wanted somewhere to chill and plan the next phase of our trip with a nice coffee. The overall ambiance of the cafe felt good it was busy but not too loud. The staff were very pleasant and the service was great, I could also see the story of their coffee drawn on the wall- the menu seemed good with lots of choice however we did not eat (vegetarian and vegan options) the coffee was good. I went for a cold brew. The experience of the cafe was trendy and it look uniquely fashionable we enjoyed the atmosphere and chilled out vibe. It offers as a place to meet with a friend for a catch up, a place where you can chill and read a book, or do some research- it's very unassuming. Santa Marta is naturally hot they also had mist sprayers inside to cool you down. Definitely worth a visit :)More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 15, 2020

Really, the worst coffee ever that I have ever had. I asked very hot flat white and also mineral water and they gave me cap of cold coffee with foam and very strange bottle of water with lid that is not closed. Took me 9500...p that is very very expensive. Also arond sit only young travelers are boredMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 8, 2020

Hair in my African curry Was provided free drinks and dessert Didn't pay for meal Waitress was apologetic When went bathroom saw kitchen was dirty Nice place decor wise but pity regarding my first visitMore

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
helmutullrich, Inhaber at Ikaro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2020

Dear Katrupa... Im sorry you had this inconvinience eating at our Restaurant. We tried everything to do our best to make up for the hair in your dish, we invited your for your meal, desert drinks went on our knees to apologies for this error...More

Reviewed February 23, 2020 via mobile

This restaurant looks cool, but the food was not so tasteful. To be honest, like more vegetarian restaurants, it was just a bit weird. But the wine was good and the staff is really friendly! We are going back tomorrow morning for the coffee, because...the atmosphere is nice. We were there with our 1,5 year old daughter. They don’t have a children-seat or a changingtable, but they have cool mattresses where you can chill on. So we played there with the (non-used) coffeemachine and she loved it! It’s sounds crazy, just try it out when you get there :)More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 16, 2020 via mobile

Great selection of food and drinks, but you have to wait a long time before you see any waiter. They do speak English.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
helmutullrich, Inhaber at Ikaro Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2020

Dear Nick. On behalf of our whole team Im very sorry for the long waiting time on sunday. One of our chefs got sick and we had only one personal in the kitchen so we werent able to give a good service on that day....More

Reviewed February 14, 2020

Very nice staff, excellent food (not the cheapest place, but worth it!), healthy options, nice music & atmosphere.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 13, 2020

Came on two different days, and quite different experiences. First time we loved the chilled traveller vibe, had amazing juices & smoothies and huge tasty sandwiches. Second time the juices weren’t as thick or cold, the same sandwich was much smaller, and the 2 cakes...we tried were both dry and disappointing. Came a third time for dinner and that was pretty good, great smoothie, but portions quite small again. Still a cool place, and lovely to hang out, use the wifi, relax, and have some food and drink, but it can be hit or miss with the quality.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 11, 2020 via mobile

Today is the second time I've visited this cafe in 2 days. Just wanted a snack and ordered the banana chocolate chip cake which is gluten and dairy free. Also ordered a fresh mango juice. The cake is the best I've ever had. Even my...husband who hates banana cake ate some and liked it. The juice is made in the moment and tastes great. Staff are friendly and helpful and service is good. Had dinner here last night and we both had a great meal. Prices are very reasonable and portions are more than enough. Coming back again for dinner tonight.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Taganga Dive Inn
68 reviews
2.24 miles away
Svahns ApartaHotel
69 reviews
2.24 miles away
Bahia Taganga Hotel
195 reviews
2.23 miles away
Hotel Rodadero Real
29 reviews
1.54 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Porthos Steakhouse & Pub Santa Marta
246 reviews
.02 miles away
Senses Restaurant - Garden - Bar
128 reviews
.03 miles away
Patio Querido
136 reviews
.03 miles away
Soul Food
390 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Parque de Los Novios
1,671 reviews
.06 miles away
Mi Casa es tu Casa bar
14 reviews
.03 miles away
Marley Coffee Bar
12 reviews
.03 miles away
Wi Make Tours
39 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Ikaro Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing