We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$2 - $18
CUISINES
Cambodian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveler rating
24
1
0
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
24
1
0
0
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed January 5, 2020

We made reservations at the Coconut Palm on the strength of the overwhelmingly positive reviews on TripAdvisor. My wife and I had spent an amazing week in Siem Reap, and sampled some delicious, very affordable, food during that time, and this was going to be...our final night before we headed south to Phnom Penh. We were also meeting a group of four friends who had just arrived in town. It was Friday, 27th December 2019 and this would be our way of spending time in a different country with people we like at the end of the year. We thought that some fine Khmer dining would be a great celebration for everyone and we were prepared to pay a bit more for the experience. Unfortunately, however, our evening turned into a complete disaster! When we arrived there were no other diners and, in spite of our online reservation, the staff seemed rather confused by our arrival. In fact, aside from taking our drink order, they did not pay us much attention for a while as we attempted to figure out what to eat from the two menus that were handed to each side of the table. The paucity of menus and the fact that there was no sparkling wine (we were in a celebratory mood) did not put us off. We called a waiter over and placed all of our food orders - starters, main courses, and desserts - to ensure that we would not have to bother him again. This tactic may have further confused and overwhelmed our hosts because nothing really went as planned after that. Each dish was delivered separately in ten minute intervals, as if prepared one by one, which meant that there was no given time at which everybody had something to eat and that there were times when some of us had dessert while others were receiving their starters. The first dish to arrive was Khmer sam or chi, which is a catfish soup. My friend could not eat more than a spoonful, claiming that it tasted of vomit. After all six of us us had tasted it, there was unanimous agreement that the soup was rancid and could not be eaten. We marched on though, semi-confident that the mishaps thus far were mere aberrations on the road to the glorious experience promised by so many reviewers. Next to be served was a grilled Mekong lobster. My friend, a six foot four athlete who normally has a huge appetite and will eat anything, was unable to get through a mouthful of this dish. The joke that night was that he was able to eat a grilled starfish back home in China, but could not get through one bite of this lobster. One of my other friends, also a large individual, opted to order only an appetizer and a dessert. He had sensed the writing on the wall that evening and did not want to take his chances with a main course. His starter never arrived - although we were billed for it - while the dessert came when most of us were still playing around with our main dishes. This man’s only food during our big reunion/send-off/end-of-year evening was a plate of cold, fried banana fritters with an already melted scoop of ice-cream on top. It took him one bite to realize that it was cold, chewy and inedible. Meanwhile, his wife had ordered the ginger cream caramel that turned out to be fruit with canned whipped cream on top. Needless to say, neither of them were happy with their dessert orders. My wife and I received about two-thirds of what we were eventually billed for and, although the food was fairly ordinary and not really the epitome of fine-dining that we were expecting, we ate most of it. We tried the seafood amok and the lok lak, dishes that we had liked in other restaurants. The main problem with the Coconut Palm versions of these traditional foods was that there was a lame twist that provides the customer with less food for twice the normal price and half the taste. Our main complaint of the evening was that, while we were struggling to enjoy our food, a stray dog showed up at our end of the table. He was eyeing the food with a lot more interest and anticipation than any of the humans there. Unfortunately, when we informed a staff member about our canine voyeur, the waiter came over and proceeded to throw rocks at the dog! This obviously did not deter the poor creature because he returned to salivate over our mostly unfinished plates of food. By the time all of this had played out, we were somewhat amused and bemused at the situation and started to wonder what we could could do to salvage some dignity from the evening. We were willing to pay for what we had consumed but not for all the food that had been left on the table. We asked for the bill and, at first, received only the bill for food. We assumed that the charge for drinks had been taken away as compensation for the overall lackluster experience. As we discussed this, another dish arrived. It was my starter, a smoked seafood soup, delivered to someone else a full hour after it was ordered. We all tried the soup, just to measure whether there was anything that could be considered worth tasting from the menu. Unfortunately the fish, floating in a broth that tasted very similar to the catfish soup, was dry, rock hard and barely edible! My friend ended up paying over a hundred dollars for the meal that night. We eventually received an additional bill for the drinks. She managed to have the desserts erased from the bill but did not have the heart to further reduce the costs owing to the fact that the waiters were clearly overwhelmed. One of them started crying during the post-meal negotiation because there was an assumption - based on a vague, empty threat that someone made - that we might not pay for anything. We are all fully aware that the people in the service industries in Siem Reap rely on the money that comes in from tourism during the dry season and that a hundred dollars between six people is not a huge price for people like us while a small percentage of it is a lot for a local waiter. There was no way that we were going to leave wihout paying our bill. However, we all had better, larger, tastier meals throughout our trip to Cambodia for a fraction of this price. My wife and I have visited many different countries and have had many terrible experiences in restaurants. For example, we once had to wait forty-five minutes to be served after being seated at a restaurant in our current home town. In the final analysis, our evening at the Coconut Palm was almost certainly the most memorable comedy of errors with which we have ever been involved. I have never written a restaurant review before (using my wife’s account) but I feel that there has to be a record of this particular meal - which may simply be down to a severe off-day in the kitchen - in order to take some of the sheen away from the glow of all the five star reviews.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

I have no idea why our experience was so vastly different than all the reviews I’ve been reading..... we literally had to laugh off our experience as it was 1: the most expensive and 2: the absolute worst food we’ve eaten since being in Cambodia....We had a fish curry and I have no idea how but it actually tasted of vomit. We ordered deep fried bananas and ice cream and they were stone cold. Food arrived all over the place and the dessert I ordered (ginger cream caramel) was served and it was literally fruit salad with a scoop of ice cream? I have zero idea how they are the same. We complained but they insisted we pay our bill. We did because we felt sorry for the young guys here but honestly we were so ripped off. There was NO ONE in sight but us and seriously the bill Was astronomical. I don’t understand how it has so many good reviews and we had the worst food ever 😂More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
Reviewed September 22, 2019 via mobile

I was tried test food and coffee many restaurants but not good like this restaurant. Coconut palm restaurant is a Romantic Restaurant. great service(friendly staff)and best food & coffee.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed March 11, 2019

First i did expect the quality of service, i am really surprise about the standard of this restaurant 5 stars *****. Good food with western cuisine and nice atmosphere with romantic time with my couple. i am really recommand this restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 26, 2018

Went to the Asian Street Food Festival. We had a great time catching up with friends. All food was priced from $ 1 to $ 1.50 and it was great. Young Khmer chefs have done a great job. Looking forward to having more of this...festival.More

Date of visit: August 2018
Helpful?4  
Reviewed August 25, 2018

We went for dinner here. Not disappointed at all. A little hidden Gem in Siem Reap. Nice décor and garden sounding. I tried the Khmer Lemon Pickle soup and Prawn Curry. My Husband had Avacado Soup and grilled Chicken breast. The food taste great and...well presented. The staff very attentive and friendly.More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?4  
Sok C, Manager at Coconut Palm, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear Ronalyn, Thank you for coming over to have dinner at our restaurant. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our food and services. Looking forward in welcoming you again.

Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We had a three course meal here after a temple tour. The soup starter was so tasty, followed by a grilled fish meal which was not only tasty, but beautifully presented. Lastly we had a fruit dessert which was also beautifully presented. Would love to...go back and try some more of their lovely food!More

Date of visit: July 2018
Helpful?3  
Reviewed June 27, 2018 via mobile

It is the best place for dinner after full day tour at temple. Big space with beautiful green garden. Staffs very charming smiling and good recommend all we needed. Very strong recommend.

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?3  
Reviewed June 19, 2018

I was here in early of June, place itself nice by tropical garden and designed with the old Cyclo front of gate which is a great idea. Open air at group floor with the best environment, the food is tasty and reasonable charged. The manager...and supervisor is very nice guy.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?3  
Reviewed May 27, 2018 via mobile

Visited with family. Fantastic food service and great ambience. We tried their Western food and it was fantastic. Great value for money. Would recommend for anyone looking for a great place to dine with family and friends

Date of visit: May 2018
Helpful?3  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Chheng Residence
125 reviews
.07 miles away
160 Angkor Villa
49 reviews
.07 miles away
Season D' Angkor Hotel
16 reviews
.08 miles away
Mulberry Hotel
777 reviews
.08 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Brother Bong Cafe
320 reviews
.07 miles away
Rasoi Ghar Indian Restaurant
223 reviews
.16 miles away
Funky Flashpacker
378 reviews
.06 miles away
My Little Cafe
331 reviews
.17 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Cambo Beach Club
148 reviews
.11 miles away
Siem Reap Waxing and Spa
13 reviews
.14 miles away
Cambodia Cab
71 reviews
.06 miles away
Bamboo Sak Yant
24 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Coconut Palm staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Coconut Palm

  • Yes, Coconut Palm offers takeout services.

  • Yes, Coconut Palm offers delivery services.

  • Coconut Palm is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
    • Food: 5
    • Service: 5
    • Value: 5