We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Otto Taverna

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Nikole Tesle 8, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
+385 20 358 633
Website
Today
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wed - Mon 12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,041: English reviews
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I went for dinner here twice with a friend from reading tripadvisor reviews beforehand. We had different food each time and it was all superb, so was the wine. I don't think anything on the menu could disappoint. The dishes other diners had looking super aswell. Restaurant was full, I'd recommend booking in advance if you can. Professional, nice and... More 

Helpful?
Thank elsie_ct12
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile

We made a reservation in advance, and had an incredible meal. The food was fantastic and the wait staff very attentive. It's not a cheap dinner, but well worth the price.

Helpful?
Thank jordan914
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2016

I like a restaurant which combines the best aspects of fine dining- imaginative cooking using local ingredients- with the friendly and accommodating service you might receive in your local eatery. This is not an easy balancing act to pull off, but as a general rule, the way an establishment caters for a fussy 10 year old is a good yardstick!... More 

Helpful?
Thank vieiravenom
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2016

This is a cute and every small place, especially if it's cold out and the outside patio is not available. I would highly recommend you go but make reservations, even if you call for same day reservations. We started with the pork belly, and had the sea bass fillet, leg of lamb for dinner and then cheesecake with honey and... More 

Helpful?
Thank WhyVonneM
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2016

Down by the marina, well away from the crowds. Great setting - a dozen tables inside. Informal setting, very friendly service - could well be family run. Food tasty and a wide menu, and Gordons gin and Schweppes tonic - what more can one ask. Book a table for a relaxed, fun and decently priced evening out.

Helpful?
Thank emcauslan
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2016

First of all, you really need to book before you come. I saw several people being turned away as they did not have a reservation. Ott's offers modern European cuisine served in a very relaxing atmosphere. The staff are friendly, knowledgable and in no rush to turn over your table. Their steaks are delicious but beware of the chilli broccoli... More 

Helpful?
Thank IanKelly63
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

We ordered three steaks but they were the worst we ever had . Other fish and salad dishes were good . The steak was rubbery and tasteless beef ( it didn't even taste like beef ) they didn't charge us for the steaks though but we left the place with empty stomach !! I surely can not recommend this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Juzer S
TavernaOtto, Owner at Otto Taverna, responded to this review

Dear Juzer S, Thank you for your visit. I am very sorry to read this comment. Guest satisfaction has always been our goal. Therefore as soon as my waiter informed me about your dissatisfaction I came to the table and spoke to you about the problem you had. I have explained you that we use wet aged beef and the... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2016 via mobile

Excellent food and service. Best to book in advance, which we didn't but were given a table out on the patio. Friendly and helpfull staff. Was recommended by our taxi driver from the airport. Mostly used by locals.

Helpful?
Thank Janice R
New York, USA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2016

We were in Dubrovnik for 2 nights. The first night we were jet lagged and chose to eat in the old town as we were staying close to it. The second night we wanted to venture out and see a little of the town outside the walls. We checked on TripAdvisor and found 2 highly rated restaurants. One of them... More 

Helpful?
Thank lovely_planet14
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2016 via mobile

We decided to give the Ottos Taverna a try following the good reviews on TA. As with other restaurants we have visited locally, Ottos had a very limited menu 5-6 items for starter and main course, but we found dishes that we fancied. For starters we had mussels and chicken pate and both went down well. Both were tasty and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hallam_Blade

Travelers who viewed Otto Taverna also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Otto Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$5 - $21
Cuisine
International, Mediterranean, European, Croatian, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Monday
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Friday
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Saturday
7:00 pm - 11:00 pm
12:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Nikole Tesle 8, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
  • Location: Europe  >  Croatia  >  Dalmatia  >  Dubrovnik-Neretva County  >  Dubrovnik
  • Phone Number: +385 20 358 633
Description
Comfortable and casual atmosphere of a small street side taverna, simple handwritten menu by our experienced chef, combination of traditional Mediterranean cuisine and contemporary preparation techniques, affordable prices and high quality wines served by glass...Welcome to Taverna Otto in Gruz bay!
Please make note we are not able to accept email, Tripadvisor or online bookings requested for the same day. For same day requests please contact us by telephone. Thank you!

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Otto Taverna and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Otto Taverna staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?