We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cru

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Food and ambience

Local cuisine, American, Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene
About
CRU is closed until Christmas Stroll. We will reopen November 29, 2019. This premier oyster bar offers casually elegant cuisine in a visually stunning waterfront setting on Nantucket harbor.
PRICE RANGE
$31 - $50
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
CUISINES
American, Seafood
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (566)
Filter reviews
558 results
Traveler rating
265
173
73
23
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
265
173
73
23
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews oysters lobster roll hummus hush puppies blue crab fries burger chicken open windows nantucket harbor raw bar boat basin straight wharf a late lunch great drinks outside seating wine list
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 558 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2018

Visited the Friday night of Christmas Stroll. We were placed in a corner round table. Those near the window were very cold. Seven dinners ordered and not one was good. Hush puppies were not fried through, salads were small and the dressing was odd tasting,...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Lo W
Reviewed December 2, 2018

This is the best seafood place that I have ever been to. Their seafood tower and lobster dishes were phenomenal. Their sparking wines / rose wines are a must for those who were into a light sip in front the ocean view. As this place...More

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 777shinyz
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

We had a late lunch at Cru on our last day in Nantucket. We had a lovely table on the water where we watched the boats come in and out of the mariner. Staff were fantastic and had great knowledge about the menu. Don’t expect...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank BuffyPaulie
Reviewed October 15, 2018

My wife, daughter, and I ate here twice during a long weekend visit. We had dinner and then came back for lunch on the patio, because my daughter liked the oysters so much. For the dinner, I liked my grilled salmon with a glass of...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jandc8491
Reviewed October 10, 2018

CRU is one of the very best restaurants around, serving creative, fresh, appealing, delicious dishes. Their dessert menu, however, is questionable. The birthday cake that we ordered was a disappointment. It was whisked away after the first bite.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Skip_SS
Reviewed October 8, 2018

Came for dinner during restaurant week on my first trip to Nantucket and was so glad I did. You get such beautiful views of the harbor on your way into the restaurant, and then we were seated along the edge of the restaurant so I...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank 656rebeccau
Amy Y, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

656rebeccau, We are so glad you enjoyed your dinner at CRU! Restaurant Week is a great way to taste our menu and we are happy you participated with us. Thank you for the positive review!

Reviewed October 7, 2018

It's our second summer and 4th or 5th time having lunch, dinner or drinks at Cru. Its definitely a hot spot because it's right by all the yachts and the ferry drop off/pick up. The bar tendress was nice and welcoming when we went for...More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank DinedThereSippedThat
Amy Y, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Rob B, I am sorry that you didn't enjoy your service when you visited CRU. We work hard every season to have the best staff and train them to be accommodating and welcoming. If you choose to visit us again next season, please contact me...More

Reviewed October 2, 2018

Went for lunch twice. Nice spot on the water. Great oysters - Fifth point from Nantucket was our favorite, along with a nice white wine from Greece (Santo) recommended by our server.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Steve S
Amy Y, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Steve S, We are glad you enjoyed your lunch at CRU. Thanks for the review! Hope to see you next season!

Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Lovely location; monopoly on waterfront dining and their prices reflect it! $18 martinis, $18 lobster bisque, $18 fried calamari, $38 lobster roll, etc. Very good service. Very good food. Lovely location. All, at a cost!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank OG1010
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Cru is one of Nantucket's hot spots given its great location directly on the docks where the yachts and power boats line up. It attracts a flashy, youngish crowd, i.e., baseball caps and tee shirts or shirts untucked (you know the look) for the guys...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank plkmtk
Amy Y, Manager at Cru, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

plkmtk, I am sorry that you were not impressed with your dinner at CRU. We do try to cater to all crowds but we understand CRU isn't for everyone. We are now closed until Stroll but if you decide to give us another try next...More

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MichaelS23096
August 22, 2018|
Answer
Response from SnowBubby18 | Reviewed this property |
Agree
-1
Votes
Donald D
August 25, 2017|
Answer
Response from J0setteJ | Reviewed this property |
Sorry - I cannot answer that question but if you're into fresh oysters and clams and let your server know about your issue - there will be definitely be something on menu for you.
0
Votes
Gehlejea
April 8, 2017|
Answer
Response from Amy Y | Property representative |
Dear Gehlejea, I apologize for the delayed response. We will be not be open for Easter Sunday. We reopen for the summer season on May 11!
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing