We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $100
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, European, International, Ukrainian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
44
27
13
12
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
44
27
13
12
29
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After the start of the war, the guys were surprised, the cuisine became much tastier, I’m not afraid to call it the most delicious, the service and approach to the guest are perfect, I go regularly, it’s very comfortable

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 18, 2022 via mobile

An all around memorable experience.The service was attentive. My guest thanked me for the discovery and stated he'd be returning to celebrate his birthday.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 1, 2021

$60 for a juice? It's a scam That's a juice with no alcohol. This restaurant is purely set up to defraud peopleMore

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesia Z, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2021

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better in the future. Please feel free to reach out to our General Manager Olga 095 677 14 16 with any further comments, concerns,...More

Reviewed August 31, 2021

Ordered Sushi and some drinks. Ordered a Steak. Overcharged for EVERYTHING. Went with Bald and Johnny famous You Tubers and even they got scammed. They recorded everything. We all know Avalon now as a SCAM restaurant. Menu prices are quadrupled in the final bill. Drinks...are sometimes 10 times higher than what they tell you at the outset. An average 50 euro meal was on the bill at 350 Euros. Had to argue with the server who refused to call a manager. STAY AWAY FROM THIS RESTAURANT. SUPER EXPENSIVE SCAM. I REPORTED THE RESTAURANT TO THE UKRAINIAN AUTHORITIES AND TOLD THEM TO SHUT THIS RESTAURANT DOWN.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?6  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesia Z, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2021

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better in the future. Please feel free to reach out to our General Manager Olga 095 677 14 16 with any further comments, concerns,...More

Reviewed August 17, 2021

Their menu is complicated . We ordered a steak and they charged 4,5 times. I asked the reason and waiter said it’s about grams . What! So silly! Why didn’t you explain it on the menu! I think is a rip off!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?6  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesia Z, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2021

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better in the future. Please feel free to reach out to our General Manager Olga 095 677 14 16 with any further comments, concerns,...More

Reviewed July 18, 2021

The Sushi is simply tasteless The Cocktails are tasteless Over priced , not worth it We ordered a big plate of sushi and we barely tasted , they took it back almost as it came, and they didn't even bother asking why or what was...it we didn't like, as if they knew it was bad anyway, and all they wanted was to add to the bill, which was 9,697 CYMA for 2 people, Simply nothing was good to eat, or to drink, except for water and beer. Shisha was OK, except they would always push to add items to the basic one, like fruits, not that it makes any diffence except adding to the bill So especially if you are a tourist or you look stranger you have to be aware that they are going to try to rip you off, Not recommended at allMore

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?4  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesia Z, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2021

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better in the future. Please feel free to reach out to our General Manager Olga 095 677 14 16 with any further comments, concerns,...More

Reviewed July 13, 2021

Great view and good food. Excellent staff, accommodating me by allowing me to smoke cigars. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesia Z, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a 5 star rating - it's much appreciated!

Reviewed June 18, 2021

we were served by maybe 4-5 different servers, I can't recall getting the feeling that any one of them cared. main courses arrived 40 mins after each other, despite us chasing, no explanation. drinks dumped on tables with no comment. food surprisingly good, service a...shockerMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesia Z, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2021

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better in the future. Please feel free to reach out to our General Manager Olga 095 677 14 16 with any further comments, concerns,...More

Reviewed March 13, 2021

cheats frauds, when i got back to france I saw they had cheated amnd fooled me, I ordered a 500uah drink on my credit card and when i got home they had charged me 5000euro and bank refused to reimburse me because they provided security...footage of me inside, i spent a year trying to fix andMore

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?9  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Lesia Z, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2021

Thanks for sharing your feedback. We’re sorry your experience didn’t match your expectations. It was an uncommon instance and we’ll do better in the future. Please feel free to reach out to our General Manager Olga 095 677 14 16 with any further comments, concerns,...More

Reviewed October 28, 2020

More staff then people here (which shows how much money the restaraunt makes). 200 pound bill for average food. i have a feeling they pay girls commission to bring people here.

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?5  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
_V8390JE, Владелец at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2020

Thanks for the feedback. Indeed, the premium restaurant AVALON has much staff to provide personalized service and attention to each guest. We have a wide menu with unique dishes, quality ingredients. We hope your next visit to AVALON will leave you with pleasant emotions.

Reviewed July 30, 2020 via mobile

Pros: Upstairs Looks Nice Cons: Food is moderate. They overcharge and charge you for things you did not request. I ordered sushi and the plates of sushi came with a decorative sauce. They charged me for each decorative sauce! I have been to other wonderful...high end restaurants in Kyiv. My bill was 30% less than at Avalon.More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?6  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SandraAvalon, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2020

Hello We are sorry that you had such incident. May I kindly ask you to tell the date ant time you have been in AVALON. We'll check and consider this situation.

Reviewed July 12, 2020

AVOID! 700 EUROS for crap plate of seafood, plate of fruits and cheese, shisha and cheap Proseco vine. Did we order caviar and crystal champagne with fireworks? hellooo? Who you think you’re Four Seasons in Paris?? Cmon. Once we said that’s not what we actually...wanted to eat, because we even haven’t seen menu, waiter putted those food to our personal plates, no way back so!:) They got us:) Never seen bill like that, even in Europe, not to mention crappy, bad taste, “fancy” Ukrainian Avalon. We got a terrible table without air conditioning close to the kitchen it was like in sauna. I’ve been in expensive places and I will be back there with pleasure with my friends, but your place never in my life me and all my friends who ever visit Ukraine. We will do all possible to tell as many people to avoid your place! Wish you one day to scam wrong people, that’s why they got LOTS of security! Seriously? Such a shame!More

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?8  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SandraAvalon, Маркетинг at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2020

Dear Olga Can you please specify exact date of your rest in AVALON. We would like to consider this situation with management. Thanks in advance.

Reviewed January 14, 2020 via mobile

I was there last time 10 years ago. These guys are great. They did excellent Renos and it’s even better now inside. I tried mushroom soup and desert plus tea. Delicious and special appreciation for well trained personnel. Thank you for being so great for...more than 20 years. I consider Avalon as one of the principal benchmarks of restaurant business in Kiev. Good luck and love what you do!More

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?74  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AvalonGS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2020

Thank you for such nice words. We try to keep up to date and it is getting better for our guests. We are waiting for you again!

Reviewed December 14, 2019 via mobile

Great location, near the hotel of the same owner. The food is tasty, surely I would recomend the shrimp salad. The coctails are stunning. We have been there several times and would come again.

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AvalonGS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2019

Thanks for your good feedback!

Reviewed November 16, 2019

It was my first visit with my girlfriend. We start from seafood on grill, tar-tar set snd salad with tuna. Good fresh food, amazing interior. It was my first, but not the last time. Recommend.

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
AvalonGS, Менеджер по связям с общественностью at AVALON, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2019

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent visit to Avalon! We really hope to see you again!

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Royal Grand Hotel
93 reviews
.06 miles away
11 Mirrors Design Hotel
1,208 reviews
.10 miles away
Cityhotel
324 reviews
.23 miles away
Hilton Kyiv
880 reviews
.25 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
11 Mirrors Rooftop Restaurant & Bar
197 reviews
.07 miles away
Crazy Quentin
56 reviews
.05 miles away
Citronelle
215 reviews
.07 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St. Volodymyr's Cathedral
680 reviews
.12 miles away
National Museum of Natural History
62 reviews
.21 miles away
The National Museum of Medicine of Ukraine
20 reviews
.24 miles away
Monument to Mykhailo Hrushevsky
17 reviews
.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from AVALON staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about AVALON

Yes, AVALON offers takeout services.

AVALON is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4