We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Romanian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (953)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveler rating
451
155
73
48
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
451
155
73
48
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood beef herastrau lake nice restaurant waiters terrace music
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It has been my favourite restaurant for last 30 years. I have accompanied foreingn researchers who have visited Politehnica University at this restaurant several times. It has been very good. Unfortunately, as soon as "sanitary restrictions" have been lifted, the "new face" of this restaurant...seems to be more interested in High Prices and Low Quality (Atmosphere). Tables are so closed one to the other, that you are feeling like at an university buttery (like at Politehnica University, Bucharest).. However, prices are at very high-level (two times greater than I have expected for a couple of cofees and sweets, for example). It is said that the new owner has made this restaurant highly profitable.. No wonder, A lot of tables, a lot of money.. Its profitability will disappear when peolple will be infomed about this "new face". Once again - it is living on memories.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not sure why our tour group chose this restaurant. Food was inedible. A waste of a couple of hours of our holiday.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 1, 2022 via mobile

Horrible experience. My kid was served with raw meat ( chicken wings). Cooked only outside, the interior was freezing cold and raw. Reason - I’m sorry, it’s very busy ( restaurant was full)

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 5, 2022

The speaker on the tree, loud music, music only for clubbing not for a restaurant like that by the lake.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 27, 2022 via mobile

After a long day we took a trip by foot through the park and got to Pescarus to eat. We ate some good sea food, it has a varied menu and good serving. We drank good wine and we have been very pleased by the...look of the restaurant.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 27, 2022 via mobile

There are a lot of factors that led me tot this review as follows: 1. We just arrived and when we were sitted waiter was rude 2. We ordered starters and main course and asked that all food came at the same time and yet...the starters arrived immediately after the ordered. 3. We ordered some drinks and they screwed up the order 2 times 4. The food was less than decent(french fries so greassy and bad color most likely due to overused oil) 5. They forgot about our desert and when we asked they said they are sorry and most likely it will take arround 1 h to make it…. Which it did last arround 1 hMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 28, 2022

They made me feel so welcome, and let me use a table for 6 by myself. Lovely food, great view, good atmosphere, really friendly staff. A must!

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed January 9, 2022 via mobile

The food is great at a reasonable price. It is a wonderful place to visit with friends and/or family (especially on New Year’s Eve). I enjoyed the burger and the papanaș the most. It has food for everybody.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cornel_Mihalascu, Owner at Restaurant Pescarus, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for visiting and we appreciate your kind words. We would like to mention that one of our priorities is to keep the right balance between quality and price. We are waiting and for you on other occasions, with friends or family....More

Reviewed October 18, 2021

Thank you for a great experience with an amazing view. The local chorba soup was very tasty. We will be back soon be sure ;)

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cornel_Mihalascu, Owner at Restaurant Pescarus, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2021

Hello! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback on our page. We appreciate your kind words and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards!

Reviewed October 18, 2021

...Not that it wasn't an excellent restaurant even then, but like all other places that still exist, after a lifetime, it touched my heart. The location is gorgeous, by the lake. The food is great and the service is perfect. Highly recommended as an overall...wonderful experience.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cornel_Mihalascu, Owner at Restaurant Pescarus, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2021

Hello Thank you very much for taking the time to write this feedback on our page. It was a pleasure for us to have you like a guest and we are looking forward for you next visit. We are happy to see that everything was...More

Reviewed October 3, 2021 via mobile

1 Scary meals with an astronomical price Ceafa de porc Amiral: a piece of fatty meat with nothing else 25$ Greek salad: chunky green peppers with cream cheese not feta cheese 10$ Horrible service I will never step foot in this restaurant chain Please do...not waist your moneyMore

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cornel_Mihalascu, Owner at Restaurant Pescarus, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2021

Hello! Thank you for the information that you write on our page. We are sorry because we didn’t succeed to impress you with the food and the services. We’ll make sure that your suggestion regarding the price-quality ratio will be taken very seriously. Because it`s...More

Reviewed August 29, 2021 via mobile

This restaurant was a decent place to eat something good some time ago ( before covid pandemic). Now it is transformed in a very crowded canteen, with half of menu unavailable and with rude waiters. Social distance is a joke, tables are almost sticked by...each other and all the noise around make you shout instead of talking. When we tried to order something for children, the waiter said " we don' t have anything for children to eat!". I thought it was a joke, but it was't. They hadn't pasta, schnitzel or any kind of chicken meat on Sunday at lunch. We asked the waiter to bring the food for children first and he said he can' t because all the food must be brought in the same time. That's why we had to order beef and fish ( the fish was horrible and the beef also) . When a friend ordered draft beer, the waiter said he must wait an hour, because there is a waiting list for beer. So, the beer came in the same time with the desert. The desert was another disappointment. The icecream was a very low quality one and the " papanasi" ( cheese pancakes) were like stones, maybe cooked some days ago. Finally, when we asked for the bill, the waiter( a person who maybe belives he knows everything ) made a grimace after we changed our mind and wanted to pay cash instead of card. It a shame to try to recover all the loss from the last year of lock down and restrictions in such a manner. Rude waiters, supplemented tables, unavailable food from menu in the weekend, food cooked without any care for the taste made us feel like in a tourist trap. We wanted to leave from the beginning , but the children were hungry and we thought we can' t find another available restaurant for Sunday lunch in the neighborhood.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cornel_Mihalascu, Owner at Restaurant Pescarus, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2021

Hello! Thank you for your objective feedback. We are sorry that we didn`t meet your expectations regarding the food and the service.I assure you that we will take your words into our consideration in order to improve our weaknesses and that we will train harder...More

Reviewed July 20, 2021 via mobile

The “Pescarus” is one of the mythical restaurants of the Romanian capital, with a long history, from the early 1940s! After being abandoned for several year, the CityGrill network managed to revive its long forgotten glory! It was a nice surprise to see that the...new look is a blend between the classic style of Pescarus with a modern and trendy terrace! On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and they have a generous wine collection! Negative side: we asked for several dishes from the menu, but they were out! Especially fish & seafood! Price wise, I would say that, considering the location, they are reasonable! They don’t have private parking (although you can drive up to the front door of the restaurant), so remember to pay the public parking fees (after 23.00h is free)More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cornel_Mihalascu, Owner at Restaurant Pescarus, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2021

Hello! Thank you very much for sharing all this details regarding your visit on our page. Is a pleasure to see that you find our Restaurant a nice place where you can have good experiences. We hope to see you soon. Kind Regards!

Reviewed June 27, 2021 via mobile

The worst restaurant in Bucharest! You will find just half of the menu content in the reality and personal attitude will disgust you!More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cornel_Mihalascu, Owner at Restaurant Pescarus, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2021

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving your objective review on our page and we’d like to apologize for the inconsistent service and hope you won’t judge our entire activity by this one unfortunate experience. The aspect you mentioned provides us the opportunity to improve our...More

Reviewed June 5, 2021 via mobile

Excelent food, great service and an amazing View. I recomand this location. And a big outdor terace with great jazz musicMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cornel_Mihalascu, Owner at Restaurant Pescarus, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2021

Dear Guest, We are happy to see that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and also the ambiance. Every day we try to offer to our customers great service and exquisite dishes because this is our mission. Hope to have you back as a...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Herastrau Hotel
63 reviews
.61 miles away
Casa Victor
18 reviews
.67 miles away
Pullman Bucharest World Trade Center
743 reviews
.75 miles away
Euro Hotels International Triumf
51 reviews
.78 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
La Biblioteca Herastrau
216 reviews
.30 miles away
OSHO
852 reviews
.39 miles away
Tete-a-Tete
91 reviews
.32 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Herastrau Park
3,367 reviews
.34 miles away
Ceausescu Mansion
798 reviews
.44 miles away
Muzeul National al Satului "Dimitrie Gusti"
4,387 reviews
.41 miles away
Tineretului Park
142 reviews
.55 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
0crinam
June 28, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dan I | Reviewed this property |
Better to ask before, once you make the reservation. :-) D
1
Vote
714ancad
June 21, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 245c_dricd | Reviewed this property |
we had no mosquitos...
0
Votes
Google Translation
raduandrei23
April 19, 2016|
Answer
Response from 776elenae | Reviewed this property |
Buna ziua, nu stiu foarte multe despre all you can eat. De fiecare data cand am fost la Pescarus am preferat meniul ” a la carte”. Banuiesc ca platiti o suma fixa (26 ron) si mancati cat puteti din preparatele propuse in... More
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Restaurant Pescarus

Restaurant Pescarus is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4