We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restaurant Hotel Christina

Claimed
Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Romanian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 06/30/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
153 results
Traveler rating
110
26
12
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
110
26
12
3
2
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

I booked a wine tasting via AirBnB. Daniel, the son of the owner, is a mechanical engineer who pursued a degree in tourism and a sommelier certification to help in the family business. His father owns the hotel and happened to be on the patio...outside of the wine tasting. Daniel is kind, friendly, personable. This was a great experience that I was much more personal than another wine tasting at a well known wine bar. The small bites were delicious and well paired with wine. Daniel was very knowledgeable about the terroir and the varietal. I was treated like family. At the end, I received a bottle of red wine that I actually opened when I returned to the hotel for more small bites prior to leaving Bucharesti.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dan M, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

Thank you so much for doing the wine tasting with me and for being such a great company, I thoroughly enjoyed the evening and a great experience for me also! Always a pleasure to share a little bit of Romanian wines and stories with my...More

Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

When in Bucharest do not miss this gem of a Resturant. We met the owner and he shared some excellent Cold War stories. He also shared some drinks with us. Total hospitality and super friendly guy. The food was amazing. We tried some local delicacies...and they were lovely. We had some massive main courses and we were totally full up. Glad to walk back to the Christina plus hotel to walk off our gorgeous food. You won’t regret eating here it’s magic. Pay what you think it’s worth. We paid London prices. It was excellent.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dan M, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2019

It was a real pleasure to meet you and have the chance to talk, this is for sure the thing that I enjoy most about what I do! Thank you so much for your generosity, very kind review and rating of for offering such a...More

Reviewed April 27, 2019

The food prepared in this restaurant is the best which we had in Bucharest (and we were born in Romania...). Each dish was fresh, tasty, colorful, like in a famous Michele restaurant. The famous Romanian desert "papanasi" included 2 small, fresh, fluffy and very tasty...items with white creme and cherries jam. My wife ordered twice.They were better than in a very fancy restaurant in town which we visited... It is highly recommended to try also the local "tuica" (a strong alcohol prepared from plums with a specific flower) and the cherries liqueur.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dan M, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

Thank you so much for your very nice and kind words of appreciation, I am very happy to know that you regard your experience at the Christina Restaurant so highly, especially the Romanian papanasi, a new addition to our menu that we encourage all the...More

Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the hotel after a disastrous trip by Lufthansa from Frankfurt. We were met by our transport to the hotel who was very kind and helpful and well briefed by the hotel. We had dinner in the restaurant and were...assisted by a youthful waiter who assisted us with the initially challenging tablet showing the menu. After a dreadful travel it was restful andbin a very colourful and tastefully decorated we enjoyed the food the environment and the staff attention greatly. We had soup a local dish and a local desert and local beer fir myself and a local wine for my wife! The food was wholesome well prepared for me a little too much but as I said to the waiter please explain to the chef it was outstanding but I could not finish it! We especially liked the local desert! Another couple who returned to Roumania on an annual basis said it was the best hotel in Bucharest for money and service! We met the owner later who was genuinely interested in our opinions and reactions! We have travelled the world in Europe and Asia and have not found a hotel or restaurant where we felt more cared for genuinely. As I have a disability this attention and attitude from ALL I found exceptional! The restaurant we used often rather than our usual practice of one visit only.More

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dan M, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2019

First of all, it was such a pleasure to have you as our guests for your time spent in Bucharest and Romania, you know how much we enjoyed your company! I really appreciate your kind feedback about the restaurant and that you decided to share...More

Reviewed February 13, 2019 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night and tried the restaurant. Food was excellent! I personally enjoyed the desk breast with cranberries.More

Date of visit: February 2019
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Dan M, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2019

Thank you so much for trying out the Christina Restaurant, I am very happy that you enjoyed it so much and decided to share your experience with the community! Also the that is one of my favorites, it goes really well with the Novac wine...More

Reviewed September 1, 2018

The dinner offer here is that you pay what you think the meal is worth - there is no price list and you select your meal from an ipad tablet. We stayed overnight at the hotel and decided to dine in. We ordered the lamb...cutlets and vegetables. Sadly, when the meal arrived it was inedible. The cutlets were almost black and it was like eating chewing gum. We politely declined the meals and, at the hotel manager's suggestion, dined at an Italian restaurant (Galletto) just around the corner. A beautiful meal.More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2018

I am sorry that you felt you had a bad experience at the restaurant, I am afraid though that maybe you were put off by the color of the lamb chops. It is almost black, but not because they are burnt or anything, but because...More

Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

The menu selection from a tablet was a different experience. Fun and nice for sure. But the service is quite slow even though we were the only one eating... I wanted to enjoy a gorgonzola chicken...but half of the chicken was raw so not really...enjoyable (though the taste and mix with gorgonzola was a very good idea). Then for the dessert i went for chocolate fondant... But this was totally liquid. Nothing like a cake... Fondant doesnt mean totally liquid.... And this was not pleasant. Didnt ask to change it though as service was rather slow and had been long enough there. So good thing is we pay what we want...i asked a sum and im still waiting for my change. Happened 15 minutes without seeing anyone... So we decided to leave....More

Date of visit: June 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2018

I am sorry that your overall experience was not very positive, for which I am sorry, but I do hope that you will give the restaurant another try in the future and we will do our best to improve it. I think the experience with...More

Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

I had here one of the best lamb chops ever, relaxing and quiet atmosphere, nice selection of Romanian wines. Would go again!More

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

The lamb chops are also my favorite in the menu, very tender and that special glazing sauce makes the difference! For sure we will be happy to have you again to enjoy also other dishes and the wines, thank you very much for your review...More

Reviewed April 1, 2018

Great food, great cook, great atmosphere.The manager was very helpful and the service excellent. You feel the warmth of the place as soon as you go in, the food was very tasty, well executed and looked lovely. I would recommend it to anyone who wants...a great and varied breakfast, amazing culinary experience and i wish i had more time in my stay to try more of their menu.More

Date of visit: March 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review and rating, I really appreciate your support mentioning so many positive aspects! You know that whenever you are back in Bucharest, it will be our pleasure to have you over! Until then, all the best thoughts!

Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

I won't talk about the unusual policy of the payment for the food, but everything was very nice! Tasty food, big portions, friendly waiter and a big collection of craft beers!

Date of visit: January 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2018

Thank you so much for mentioning all the positive aspects that made your culinary experience a 5 star one! I really appreciate your maximum review and kind rating, thank you for your kind support!

Reviewed November 9, 2017

This hotel is in a quiet side street about a half hour walk from the old town. The nearest Metro station (Piata Victoriei) is about a ten minute walk. The Metro was easy to use, felt very safe and despite the negative things we'd heard,...it was very reliable. A single trip costs 2.5 RON (£0.50). The hotel is clean, welcoming and has more than a few gadgets. There's the massage chair and laptop for guests near reception, remote control curtains in the room, gently flashing multi-coloured lights in the shower and restaurant menus are on Samsung tablets. Breakfast was very good indeed. Loads of cereals and dozens of dishes of seeds, nuts and so on to sprinkle on top. Sausage, bacon and an eggy dish are part of the buffet but you can have omelette or other eggs prepared for you. There's loads of fresh fruit and excellent very fresh orange juice. Good old English breakfast tea is available if that's your preference, but several others are available. Good fresh coffee too. Our room on floor 5 was bright with interesting lighting, a safe, a balcony with views across roof tops. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom had a shower, WC, sink and hairdryer. We were offered a glass of local wine and a selection of cheeses as a welcome snack. We actually chose to wait until our second evening. It was very good. The hotel restaurant is a little unconventional, not just because of the menu tablets. It's an area with plastic tables near reception and rather lacked atmosphere. There are no prices for food; you pay what you think it's worth. Not sure of the point of that, but it seems that the hotel staff want you to focus on the food and not worry about the amount you pay. The food was pretty good, plenty choice, but the chips were barely warm and the friendly waiter had disappeared and didn't reappear until we'd finished. We were able to reflect our disappointment in the price we paid! There were several beers and wines available (at fixed prices). The hotel offers an airport shuttle but a standard taxi is cheaper and Uber operates in Bucharest. There are on-line transfer options too. On a Sunday evening it took no more than 15 minutes to get to the airport. Traffic in the opposite direction was pretty heavy. We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Christina and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

It was a pleasure to read your comprehensive review about your experience at the Christina Restaurant and to have you as our guest during your stay in Bucharest of course! I am very happy to know you took so many positive aspects about your experience...More

Reviewed September 19, 2017

The dinner meals at Hotel Christina were very good and fresh. They had a menu with a variety for both meat eaters and enough for those who do not eat meat items. The lamb chops were wonderful and also the other items we ordered -...prepared by chef Andrei. This is my second time to stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. Great !!!More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2017

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed dinner at the Hotel's Christina restaurant and decided to share your experience with the community, I really appreciate it! As you noticed, we use the best and fresh ingredients and the lamb chops really are one of...More

Reviewed July 20, 2017

This is a great restaurant that had only one big drawback for me. The food was great, and the service was good. Some real menus would be better than the tablet we were given to use. As I stayed in the hotel we had breakfast...there each day and it was a good start to the day. Dinner is where I had my concern. The food was great, especially the salads, and the service was good. I do not like the "pay what you like" policy! I had been traveling around a bit of Romania and had paid from 15 lei to 30 lei for excellent meals. This is not a good way to learn that in Bucharest 15 lei does not buy as much. The restaurant wait person refused to even listen to my concern about being fair and I had to use my best judgement which I believe was lacking in paying for our meals. Being in a different country has enough challenges without having to figure out how much to pay for dinner. That should be done my comparing prices on menus not by comparing other meals in other cities or even countries.More

Date of visit: February 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

I am happy to know you enjoyed the food at the Christina Restaurant so much, for sure this is the most important thing and where we put allot of effort, so there is always a great sense of satisfaction when our guests are happy with...More

Reviewed July 20, 2017 via mobile

Breakfast is nice and service is exceptional . Dinner however was bad. Uneatable. You pay for dinner as much as you want.More

Date of visit: July 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2017

It would really help us in the quest to improve our services if you could let us know what you had for dinner and when did you have it, please don't hesitate to let us know, maybe through the email. I am looking forward to...More

Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile

I enjoy great food. I enjoy new places. So, when a restaurant is slowly rising towards the top positions in the restaurants in Bucharest, getting a lot of five stars reviews, I have to check it. What was I expecting to find in such an...appraised restaurant? 1. Great food. Well, I was disappointed to find just decent food that is far from surprising or original. A great dessert, then? No, my choice looked good, but tasted like having been just taken out of a hypermarket box. 2. Skilled personnel. Not my luck! A young guy was very nice but totally helpless and certainly did not know anything about food nor the food industry. 3. A wonderful location? I admit that the place is inside a good 4 star hotel. But this is it. An indoor garden helps the atmosphere, a little, though. 4. Some surprising details? I am not a fan of a menu that is not on paper and you have to browse through an outdated tablet. Also, I was not ready (nor did agree) the next surprise- the fact that you do not have pricing, you can pay as much as you like. This is, in fact, the click that made most of the 5-star reviews. Well, it didn't click for me. All-in-all? And here comes the reason I wrote the review... All of you, reviewers out there, if you find a decent place with some surprising touch, put a three star on it, a four star, maybe, but do not haste into five stars. Because, after your continuous five-starring, somebody else might expect a great place, get disappointed and, instead of letting a decent meal be, it will trigger in her or him an urge to pick the tablet, go on TripAdvisor and write a 2-star review. As I do now. Even if, in the end, nor the restaurant or the people there would deserve such a bad appreciation.More

Date of visit: May 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
hotelchristina, Owner at Restaurant Hotel Christina, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2017

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Christina's restaurant, because this is the most important thing for me and my team. On the other hand, I cannot shake the feeling (got by reading carefully your review many times), that you offered...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Christina
1,410 reviews
.00 miles away
Hotel Unique
158 reviews
.07 miles away
Marshal Garden Hotel
284 reviews
.13 miles away
Capital Plaza
314 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Trattoria Mezzaluna
444 reviews
.09 miles away
Ciorbarie
136 reviews
.09 miles away
Galletto Ristorante
158 reviews
.11 miles away
Friddi
47 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Muzeul George Severeanu
25 reviews
.32 miles away
Storck Museum
20 reviews
.15 miles away
Admiral Vasile Urseanu Astronomical Observatory
9 reviews
.26 miles away
Queen Casino
7 reviews
.30 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Restaurant Hotel Christina staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Restaurant Hotel Christina

Yes, Restaurant Hotel Christina offers takeout services.

Yes, Restaurant Hotel Christina is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Restaurant Hotel Christina is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4