We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe

) #2 of 23 Restaurants in Avarua $$ - $$$ , Cafe, European
Black Rock Villas, Avarua, Cook Islands
+682 21 233
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good14%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“lunch” (101 reviews)
“tapas” (46 reviews)
“dumplings” (17 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 am - 2:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
New Zealand, Cafe, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Black Rock Villas, Avarua, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were told to try the fish and chips here and we weren't disappointed. The fish was parrot fish and the chips were wedges. Service was good as was the view of black rock. I had my first ginger beer here and it was a...More

Thank Derek W
Reviewed 1 week ago

This certainly wasn't our first visit to Tuoro. When we arrived I mentioned to Michelle that I had been craving her mussel fritters since our last visit, to which she replied "we have changed the recipe". My first thoughts were "if it aint broke, don't...More

3  Thank Fernsie
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had the most amazing time and Michelle was just fabulous. Set in a tranquil setting with sea views, The food was truly sensational and well worth the visit. Thank you so much Michelle

Thank Louise C
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had lunch in this great Restaurant and decided that this was where we wanted to take our guests to celebrate Morris's birthday. What a fantastic choice it was!! We had a private function which we would highly recommend to anyone with a celebration coming...More

1  Thank Pamela R
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really great lunch Food brilliant Let down only by not being able to a coffee at 2.10pm as kitchen closed. Highly recommend overall.

Thank ickbar
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had lunch here on our last day in Raro. Great vista which was spoilt some what by the rain. Service was good despite being down by a staff member. Like the menu as it is designed for sharing. The Ika Mata was my best on...More

Thank GastroGaz
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on Raratonga for a family reunion so had been busy zipping here and there. Our 10 year old grandson every day would ask if we could go up the hill for lunch before we went home. So on our last full day we...More

Thank Robert F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Unfortunately, we didn't even get to try the food, so this review doesn't address the menu. However, I felt I needed to write about our experience. Tuoro only serves lunch, and everything we've read said they were open until 3pm. We arrived at 1:50pm and...More

1  Thank jwag777
Michelle231600, Owner at Tuoro Restaurant & Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Firstly,thank you for stating we only open for lunch time dining. Secondly, whilst appreciating the fact that you did not review us on food, I am rather perplexed that you provided a rating on value as you did not dine with us therefore how could...More

Reviewed June 6, 2017

The food was so nice we went back a second time. Between the two of us we have eaten: the pork dumplings;, the Tuoro twist on KFC;, Ika Mata (raw fish in cocomut cream); and the fish sliders. We could not fault any of these...More

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Glen W
Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

We stopped in on a whim, were greeted and seated promptly with friendly smiles. Drinks arrived quickly, as did the food. The fish and chips was delicious and the views are awesome. What more could you want ?

Thank JHerlig
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Kikau Hut Restaurant
937 reviews
.26 miles away
The Anchorage Restaurant & Bar
284 reviews
.32 miles away
Oceans Restaurant & Bar
253 reviews
.89 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Tik-e Tours
116 reviews
.85 miles away
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
250 reviews
1.56 miles away
Punanga Nui
299 reviews
2.62 miles away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
121 reviews
1.70 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
NDST_2013
September 18, 2016|
Answer Show all 3 answers
Response from Michelle231600 | Property representative |
Kia Orana, Thank you for your enquiry. Yes,you can book the cafe via email. I look forward to your reply. Kind regards Michelle.
0
Votes
Brogirl
February 11, 2015|
Answer Show all 8 answers
Response from Fiona C | Reviewed this property |
The villas are spacious well laid out and private. Have stayed twice over the last two years. There is also BBQ facilities with the ability to eat inside or out. The pool is also fantastic being a good size fot just two... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$7 - $27
Meals
Lunch, Brunch
Restaurant features
Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups, Romantic
Open Hours
Tuesday
11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 2:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Black Rock Villas, Avarua, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Avarua
  • Phone Number: +682 21 233
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing