We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ho Lee Fook

All photos (499)
All photos (499)
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (499)

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

Sponsored by: Ho Lee Fook
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
1. Funky Chinese Kitchen
1. Funky Chinese Kitchen
"Its fun and hip, but most importantly the food is Amazing!"
VicsWorldTour
See reviews that mention fun
2. Great For Groups
2. Great For Groups
"Highly recommended. I would give a six if TripAdvisor would let me!"
Robyn A
See reviews that mention night
3. Late-Night Dining
3. Late-Night Dining
"A truly hot spot where people flock to for great food & atmosphere."
cristina p
See reviews that mention fun
About
Ho Lee Fook, which translates to “good fortune for your mouth” in Cantonese, is a funky Chinese kitchen inspired by old-school Hong Kong cha chaan tengs and the spirit of late-night Chinatown hangouts in 1960’s New York. Taiwanese-born chef Jowett Yu’s innovative cooking style reinterprets classic Chinese dishes and flavours with premium ingredients, modern techniques and a touch of humour.
PRICE RANGE
$51-$77
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Late Night
CUISINES
Taiwanese, Chinese, Asian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (915)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveler rating
519
187
51
25
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
519
187
51
25
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prawn toast short ribs dumplings char siu brussel sprouts wagyu beef calamari chilli salad fries drunken clams asian fusion amazing food waiting list worth the wait wait for a table long wait
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 807 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We were really looking forward to visiting this restaurant when we booked our holiday to Hong Kong. Being a huge "foodie" and residing in Cape Town, South Africa where we are spoilt for choice when it comes to good food, I was really anticipating this...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank KeshneeH
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Was brought by friends who live in Hong Kong. We had to be on a waitlist to get in because they do not take reservations for less than 5 people. The hostess (cannot remember her name unfortunately but she has green hair) gave us great...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank vincentlamsg
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hello vincentlamsg, Wow thank you for the amazing review-- we certainly do appreciate it! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at ho lee fook and we'll be sure to pass on your positive feedback to Rebecca (our hostess with the green hair)...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Amazing place. Excellent decor, ambiance & the service. Thank you to all the staff for making it a special evening for the family.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 5travellers602013
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Hello 5travellers602013, Cheers for the great review, it really means a lot! We'll so happy, we were able to make your dining experience at ho lee fook a memorable evening. Hope to have you back again soon. Best, Matt General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a table for 6. Staff were great, very friendly and helpful, but the music was SO loud and so awful (modern Hip-Hop). Food was delicious. If only we could have had a conversation then that would have made it perfect. Came out with a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank jonnyguvnor
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear jonnyguvnor, We are very sorry to read your review. You're completely right, the vibe can be quite boisterous, especially on the weekends. We're so sorry if this impacted your dining experience at Ho Lee Fook. We always suggest to guests looking for a more...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Had wanted to dine here for over a year, arrived and found it is more image than good food. We had BBQ pork and a kale rice that were OK. A water spinach dish was good, and the pork ribs that were deep-fried blobs of...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Mindkandy
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Mindkandy, We're sorry to read your comments. We take a lot of pride in the dishes we serve and are disappointed we didn't manage to impress you on this occasion. If you have a spare moment, we would really like to hear any additional...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a great night of fabulous food & wonderful staff. It was bustling from entry to exit after our delicious meal. We waited a short time out the front but the team made it fun lead by Sophie greeting the patrons with efficiency, warmth &...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank Karenosaurus
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Karenosaurus, Thank you for the awesome review-- we really do appreciate it! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your dining experience at Ho Lee Fook! We'll be sure to let the Team and Sophie know about your positive feedback. Hope to see you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had an amazing dinner at Ho Lee Fook! The food, service and atmosphere were all incredible. Definitely worth the extra money.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank tinap916
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello tinap916, Cheers for the awesome review-- your feedback is much appreciated! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our dishes and dining experience at Ho Lee Fook. Hope to see you again soon! Best, Matt General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We’d been recommended this place by a frequent traveller plus previews reviews showed this was a good place. You can’t book for less than 5 people! We arrived about 7.30pm, waiting time was either an hour or they could seat us straight away in a...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank AmandaG997
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello AmandaG997, Thank you for the amazing review-- your feedback is much appreciated! We are so happy you enjoyed your dining experience at Ho Lee Fook. Hope to see you again soon! Best, Matt General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Ho Lee Fok is everything a restaurant should be. Best to come here in a big, noisy group and enjoy all the different dishes and soak up the amazing music they play, dark lighting and ambience. Char siu pork is a highlight - also the...More

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank f0lkb
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello f0lkb, Wow cheers for the great review-- we really do appreciated it! We're thrilled you had an awesome time at Ho Lee Fook. Hope to see you again soon. Best, Matt General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this place for the first time in a party of 6. Great idea to do this as we were able to sample quite a number of plates. They were all fantastic have no hesitation recommending: Prawn toast Wagu steak tartare Shredded chicken salad Crispy...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Neil H
BlackSheepRest, Manager at Ho Lee Fook, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Neil H, Thank you for the 5 star review-- it really does mean a lot! We are so happy you got to enjoy all our signature dishes. Hope to see you again soon. Best, Matt General Manager

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Guy R
June 6, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Mariettata | Reviewed this property |
Yes my husband commented straight away. 😂..this is why we decided to visit! The name, decoration and food! All worth!
1
Vote
Stuart R
March 3, 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from VandEm59 | Reviewed this property |
Ring the restaurant. They will help You.
0
Votes
telly100
February 20, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from VandEm59 | Reviewed this property |
I personally don’t think it is suitable for young children.
0
Votes
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing