We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cafe Villa Rosa

Certificate of Excellence
European, Italian, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Chiromo Road, Nairobi | Villa Rosa Kempinski Hotel, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 703 049 000
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 37: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016

After an amazing experience the last time we were here, we decided to do lunch. Variety of dishes as always....and not to mention the staff who worked tirelessly to ensure that we were Ok! I have so far recommended this hotel to my friends and family!

Helpful?
Thank _jacquna78
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear _jacquna78, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased to read that you decided to visit us once again after an amazing experience the first time around. Glad to know that the team's efforts make a difference in making your time with us memorable enough for you to return.... More 

Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2016

drinks, food and guests in general very pleasant. Great security and easy to reach. Italian snacks and food very good quality naturally at a price..

Helpful?
Thank Martin F
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear Martin F, Thanks for taking time to write your review. Glad to know that you enjoyed the drinks and food and found the experience to be worth it. Villa Rosa Kempinski is definitely easily accessible from most parts of Nairobi. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to host you once again in the coming days. Warm... More 

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
182 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2016

Buffet has much variety and normally acceptable however some of the items are overcooked having been in the warmer at high temps. Service is good.

Helpful?
Thank StratManLou
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear StratManLou, Thank you for giving us your feedback on your dining experience at Café Villa Rosa. The Executive Chef, Ciaran Gantly and I have taken note of your feedback on the food served in the chafing dishes and we will look into the same. Our buffets are popular with guests saying that food is fresh and tasty. We do... More 

Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2016

We held my daughters first birthday party at Kempinski The Villa Rosa.Great food with lots of varieties. The service was very good and i like the ambience very much.

Helpful?
Thank pooja p
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear pooja p, Thank you for selecting the hotel as your preferred venue to host your daughter’s first birthday party. We really do hope that it was a great celebration. Our team is happy to read your feedback on the selection of food, quality, service and ambience. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel once again in... More 

Lyon, France
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2016

I found buffet and there was enough variety. But the ambienc was not nice and the place was crowded by conference teams and groups. They almost asked me to move away.

Helpful?
Thank rextitus
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

The buffet does offer a good variety, however I found most of the food a bit bland with the exception of the indian cuisine which was flavoursome. We had Christmas dinner there and unfortunately the turkey lacked all traditional trimmings which was a great disappointment. The service was friendly but could have been better as we had booked our table... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris M
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear Chris M, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your dining experience with us during the festive season. I am very disappointed to read that you found some of the food to lack flavour and the turkey to not come accompanied with all the trimmings. I have also taken note of your message... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2016

Starting from basement parking: Extremely poor signage.directions not clear for which way to go. Security guys all over directing people on which direction to take. Way to lifts confusing too. making way to the restaurants can be quite a challenge....signage, signage! Restaurant-charming and very well appointed. Average service, a tad slow on attending to one-had to ask twice for hot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nush
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear Nush, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your hotel experience. I apologize for the confusion that you might have experienced in regard to your arrival experience. I will look into the same to see how we can improve on this. I am pleased to read that you did food selection at the lunch buffet, I... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2016 via mobile

I have been here severally for dinner and parties and always loved the ambience and the food. This time we stayed in as a family and got to enjoy the food and the ambience as usual. The staff at Cafe villa Rosa were also very friendly and most remembered us from previous dinners. However, the service was terrible perhaps because... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daphne M
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear Daphne M, Thank you for your feedback on you stay at the hotel. I am disappointed to read that you did not find the service to be as per expectations during the festive season. We are always happy to organize activities for the children and have taken note of this for any future stays. I have also taken note... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2015

On the 13 December 2015 I took my sister-in.low and my brother for what was supposed to be a surprise high tea treat. on arrival we were asked to find a suitable place to seat at the lobby, it was very noisy because there was already a choir singing and dancing. I stated that we would like to seat in... More 

Helpful?
Thank samwel n
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear samwel n, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your high tea experience with us. I have taken note of all your feedback and I have reviewed the same with the team. I do apologize that we could not meet your... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

We had an office dinner at the Cafe Villa Rosa. Buffet. Good food and variety. Wait staff was also very helpful and courteous. Plenty of parking space in the basement. Would definitely visit again.

Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
ManishNambiar, General Manager at Cafe Villa Rosa, responded to this review

Dear Caroline M, It’s a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your office dinner at Café Villa Rosa and were pleased with the food selection and variety, service and the parking availability onsite. We do take pride in providing the best service for all our guests and I am glad we did this during your dining experience with us. We... More 

Travelers who viewed Cafe Villa Rosa also viewed

Nairobi Region, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 
Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Cafe Villa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 stars
Cuisine
European, Italian, Contemporary
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chiromo Road, Nairobi | Villa Rosa Kempinski Hotel, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nairobi
  • Phone Number: +254 703 049 000

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Cafe Villa Rosa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?