We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Purdy Arms

$$ - $$$, European,
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 712 007001
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good41%
  • Average14%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“pizza” (55 reviews)
“curries” (6 reviews)
Open Now
9:00 am - 10:00 pmAll hours
CUISINES
Bar, European, Pub, Pizza, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 50 of 286 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2017 via mobile

Having eaten, and drunk, at Purdy Arms a number of times my girlfriend and I decided to stay for a night and not worry about the long drive home. Fantastic idea - comfortable beds, coffee station next to the bed and a scrumptious breakfast to...More

Thank Geoff Mayes S
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Dear Geoff, Thanks so much for your kind review. Look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Kind Regards Rob

Reviewed February 6, 2017 via mobile

I had brunch there with a few friends and it's been by far the biggest disappointment of my stay in Kenya. Service was tragic: wrong orders; very slow; one of us never got his brunch and after asking for 3 times to 3 different waiters...More

Thank Carla C
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Dear Carla, Straight off let me apologise for your experience at the Purdy Arms. It is entirely our fault, but that weekend our Point Of Sale System decided to go on strike which lead to numerous issues, all bad, and experiences such as yours. We...More

Reviewed February 4, 2017

This restaurant is best during off hours, particularly for early lunch, before the hordes descend. Avoid the weekend brunch, when a) the food has been sitting at the buffet rather than being prepared to order, and b) the crowds can be maddening. salads and appetizers...More

Thank queencharlotta
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Dear Queen Charlotta, Thanks so much for taking time to write a review. I think that you are reasonably spot on and its great that you have given us a go during the less busy times. We are constantly looking at how we can improve...More

Reviewed February 1, 2017

Every time I go I am disappointed by the lack of value for money and the terribly slow service. I find this place overrated and not worth it. I'd skip.More

Thank sgloss487
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Dear S. Gloss, So sorry to read your review and we were all genuinely surprised by your comments. We do feel that we offer amazing value for money particularly when compared to other restaurants in the Karen area who we constantly compare our prices to....More

Reviewed January 30, 2017

Visited your restaurant on Sunday with my Family, The guards were kind enough to direct us to an empty space near the gate. After walking all the way to the way to the restaurant with the kids tripping all over the stones we were happy...More

Thank Murithi K
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Dear Kamwibua, Thanks a lot for taking the time to write a review of the Purdy Arms, but am a bit unsure of how to respond. Yes we can get very busy at weekends as we are extremely popular with families, with large grounds, children's...More

Reviewed January 27, 2017

I enjoy the calming atmosphere at Purdy Arms, and if you are ever there, DO NOT leave without trying the prawn and feta samosas with homemade dip!

Thank MissJAdero
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Dear Miss Adero, Thanks so much for taking time to write such a kind review, it made all the team so happy that you enjoyed your time here. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards Rob

Reviewed January 24, 2017 via mobile

It was my partner's birthday and I chose Purdy Arms because I saw an article about their food on the newspaper. To me, if the food is good, it means they pay attention to detail. We got a very warm welcome, the set up was...More

Thank Sanau B
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Dear Sanau, Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a kind review, and more importantly than that, that your partner enjoyed his birthday. We host a lot of events including birthday parties and it means the world to my wife and I...More

Reviewed January 23, 2017

I was there with the kids and they had a nice time. There is a nice garden area for kids to play. Tables in the outside area are nicely set up. I didn't get a chance to try out the interior, maybe will give it...More

Thank Patrick C
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2017

Dear Patrick, Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a kind review. It means the world to all of the team at the Purdy Arms. Look forward to welcoming you back. Kindest Regards. Rob

Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

We have been here thrice and have had a bad experience every time. Horrible service, you can wait all night to get service. To an extent that the staff complain of being overwhelmed and they request you to understand. Once we waited all afternoon for...More

Thank Shagun V
PurdyArms, Owner at Purdy Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2017

Dear Shagun, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the Purdy Arms on Sunday. I have discussed your issues with the waiters and supervisors and even reviewed the CCTV footage of your table. We were as always very busy at the...More

Reviewed January 22, 2017 via mobile

This is a Very pleasant restaurant in a very pleasant setting. Good food combined with good service. On Saturdays you also find the organic market at their premises giving everybody a chance to buy organic grown veggies.

Thank Micke S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Tamarind Restaurant
508 reviews
.88 miles away
The Talisman
1,234 reviews
.92 miles away
Tamambo Karen Blixen
918 reviews
.86 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Karen Blixen Coffee Garden and Cottages
305 reviews
.87 miles away
Oloolua Nature Trail
76 reviews
.91 miles away
Kazuri Beads Factory
394 reviews
.83 miles away
Escape Room Kenya
50 reviews
.92 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
charlieCornwall
April 28, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from SlammerKenya | Property representative |
Twiga suite is on the first floor overlooking the garden. It has it's own private balcony which can only be accessed from the room and is for the private use of the guests staying there. The garden can get busy on... More
0
Votes
victkipngeno
April 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from SlammerKenya | Property representative |
Hi, Purdy Arms have their own as well as 3rd party security. If you have any specific issues give them a call on 0712 007001 and ask for Rob or Jules. Thanks
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $15
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Wednesday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Thursday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Friday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Saturday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 61 Marula Lane | Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nairobi
  • Phone Number: +254 712 007001
  • E-mail
Description
Set in 21 acres of Karen, a leafy suburb twenty kilometers Southwest of Nairobi, lies the Purdy Arms. With a view of the famed knuckled ridge of the Ngong Hills (“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong Hills” – Karen Blixen, Out of Africa) it is a relaxing place to stay, have a meal or drink or two.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing