We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pasara Cafe

Nairobi Central Business District
+ Add cuisine
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Lonrho Bldg, Standard St, city centre, Nairobi, Kenya
338247
Improve this listing
Today
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Dining options: Waitstaff

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 11 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 2
    Excellent
  • 6
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
Rating summary
  • Food
    3 of 5 stars
    Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    1.5 of 5 stars
Charming Café with Good Coffee and Tasty Food

Whenever I'm in Nairobi, I always make a point of coming here. I really like the feel of the café, which looks like it belongs to a bygone era with old posters of films on the walls and a spiral staircase. I really like being able to sit in the booths and take a break from the hustle and bustle... read more

4 of 5 starsReviewed November 1, 2015
UKonthego
,
UK
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
UK
Level Contributor
166 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Whenever I'm in Nairobi, I always make a point of coming here. I really like the feel of the café, which looks like it belongs to a bygone era with old posters of films on the walls and a spiral staircase. I really like being able to sit in the booths and take a break from the hustle and bustle... More 

Helpful?
Thank UKonthego
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2015

Had lunch and the sandwich was very good, with selection of individual fillers.Nice place to visit for a quick lunch in good atmosphere

Helpful?
Thank Chege G
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015 via mobile

This is one of the few places in Nairobi that have good coffee and where coffee tastes like coffee. I've been to several cafes and I have settled for Pasara any time I'm in Nairobi. The staff can be a bit slow and draggy, but I always go back for the coffee. It's a good place for a social meetup... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wanja G
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2015 via mobile

This is a nice place to come for privacy It's quiet and quite peaceful with a homey feel to it I love the posters on the wall with vintage Hollywood movies The service is remarkable with a fairly priced menu I also recommend it as a cafe to visit when solo

Helpful?
Thank Joey M
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Stopped by for lunch the pizza was amazing. The rest of the group had sandwiches and no complaints if your in that area stop by

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Food excellent and really well priced. Good selection on menu and daily specials as well. Local beers and fresh juices, tea etc. Lots of locals in it. Has free wifi as well. Front restaurant is cafe like, formica tables, bench seating. Back room bit more stylised with usual TVs showing football. Dress is very casual. Security guard on door.

Helpful?
Thank Ireland100
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Its been long but the last i checked their tea was goo, I enjoyed it, oh and their passion juice too, mhhhhhhhh yah that's it for now. But their tea, anytime

Helpful?
1 Thank Namz N
pasara c, General Manager at Pasara Cafe, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind thoughts and comments. Plz drop by more often as perhaps you did so in the past.Anytime is tea time -,kind regards. More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

I walked into this restaurant with my wife, and found an empty table where we proceeded to sit. One of the waitresses approached us and mentioned curtly that no food could be served in that section and that we should move to another table. This is was interesting since none of us made a request for food and the waitress... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maasaielder
pasara c, General Manager at Pasara Cafe, responded to this review

Hi. First of all my sincere apology to Madam & youself for an inexcuseable short experience at Pasara.I am shocked but, reality presents itself and the challenge. Infact, I have used your review and comments in one of our training sessions visa-a-vie customer care. Your feedback is priceless and one that I would have otherwise never known. I would appreciate... More 

Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Something homely about this place, i always hang out here on the cafe side as its quieter and i always enjoy their wall hangings 'boulevard of broken dreams'.Their juice is fresh and most of their baked items.

Helpful?
Thank Kenyasafariss
pasara c, General Manager at Pasara Cafe, responded to this review

Hi. My sincere gratitude for your apprecition and comments of Pasara. The series of pictures on "Broken Dreams" are so meaningful and lesson learning. Glad you enjoy them. Next visit check-out the other side depicting Nairobi around the time of WW1. Nostalgia. We sincerely appreciate your patronage. Karibu. More 

London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

An unfortunate experience. Having pointed to and ordered from the break fast menu for eggs and bacon, only the eggs appeared. We then asked for the bacon which came separately and was charged for as an extra. An attempt to clear it up with the waitress was clearly not getting through. The manager at first would not come to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank WorldwideWebster
pasara c, General Manager at Pasara Cafe, responded to this review

Hi. My sincere double apology - one for the delay in responding and the other one for the unfortunate breakfast experience at Pasara. We have revamped our menu since then and anticipate that it is now more clearer for both our valued customers and staff to interpret the offerings and pricing. Please be assured that Pasara continues to be "value... More 

Travelers who viewed Pasara Cafe also viewed

Nairobi, Kenya
Nairobi, Kenya
 

Been to Pasara Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Location and Contact Information

  • Address: Lonrho Bldg, Standard St, city centre, Nairobi, Kenya
  • Location: Africa  >  Kenya  >  Nairobi>  > Nairobi Central Business District
  • Neighborhood: Nairobi Central Business District
  • Phone Number: 338247
Open Hours
Sunday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Monday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Tuesday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Wednesday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Thursday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm
Saturday
6:00 am - 9:00 pm

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pasara Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?