We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dr. Shakshuka

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

#1,150 of 1,444 Restaurants in Tel Aviv
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Mentioned in

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $15
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill, Mediterranean

Location and contact

About
Doctor Shakshuka is a kosher restaurant serving North-African home-style cuisine, which has many fans. Most of the cooking is done in the family kitchen by the mother of the family. The restaurant caters to private events in a unique and authentic atmosphere. Doctor Shakshuka offers the best Turkish shawarma made of thin slices of lamb with minced lamb meat in between, skewered on one huge spit, in his new shawarma place (same location).
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $15
Special Diets
Kosher, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Steakhouse, Grill, Mediterranean
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
186
150
105
82
112
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
186
150
105
82
112
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shakshuka cuscus tasting menu eggplant lamb jaffa flea market old city street food israel lemonade yaffo
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 635 reviews
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I’ve never experienced such a terrible service anywhere in the world. The people running this place are money-hungry and will try to force their over priced options down your throat just to squeeze the last shekel out of you. Impolite and overrated, overall a sad...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank voib
Reviewed 6 days ago

We were excited to try this at first and prices looked ok but after the bill came in we were way overcharged and they would not even budge about it! My husband and I ordered on Shakshuka to share and one drink and paid $40!!!...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Alikond
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Having read the reviews which were overwhelmingly negative happened by late in the day and decided to eat there. Not withstanding the management's rebuttal of any criticism the restaurant is undoubtedly run down and and surviving on past glory. Shabby and tatty environment with mediocre...More

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank quipshotm
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After a 12 hour tour of Nazerath, we were desperate for food and just walked into Dr. Shakshuka and deeply regretted it. I ordered the Lamb Shawarma with french fries. The lamb was inedible and tasted like it was reheated while the french fries were...More

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank PrincessStephanie01
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

don’t do it! we ordered shakshuka with eggplant and hummus.. nothing special.. or rather very unspecial. unfriendly staff and hidden service and cost of starters in the bill.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank OlgaZab89
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I came with a colleague and the place is good, spatious, but he said it's not the best shakshuka it was good enough for me

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Mario d
BarakK, Guest Relations Manager at Dr. Shakshuka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing 💙

Reviewed August 6, 2019

Not worth the hype, no offense Phil from Someone Feed Phil. We had better shakshuka in better settings. We shlepped down to Jaffa just for this and not fully worth it. Other spots in Jaffa I wish we tried.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank mishyeats14
BarakK, Guest Relations Manager at Dr. Shakshuka, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Hi, We read your review and we really liked to know what was “not fully worth it” It’s hard to understand the hype a guest is coming with. We can offer you to come again for a better experience. Pls contact Avi for matter. Dr...More

Reviewed August 5, 2019 via mobile

The food is very delicious and we even got a lot of bread for free. We ordered one portion to share with a large lemonade but the waiter kept trying to push us to order a big menu each. It would’ve been cheaper if we...More

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank danielhansen13
BarakK, Guest Relations Manager at Dr. Shakshuka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest, The menus in Dr Shakshuka is set for one person And one person only. Although we served a lot of food we preferred our guest To try our menus. The salads are free refills so it is not right to share with two...More

Reviewed August 4, 2019

Last Wednesday we returned here after 4 years. In 2015 in enjoyed it so much, now I was very dissappointed. The waiter was rude. We sat in, they brought small salats, without asking them. Some 10 cups. I told we'd like to chose, they told...More

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank Laszlo7909
BarakK, Guest Relations Manager at Dr. Shakshuka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear guest, We are very sorry to read your were disappointed. The small salads are served to all customers unless they wish not to eat it. When a customer ask we take them back. The reason for serving the salads is to keep the tradition...More

Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

It is 5 days since we ate at this place. I cannot now be far from a toilet as the consequences of a very costly steak and salad still linger. Had to cancel our Jerusalem visit the day after eating here and it is either...More

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank admirallordnelson
BarakK, Guest Relations Manager at Dr. Shakshuka, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear customer, We are sorry to hear about your situation and feel very sad for you. Is there anyway we can still reach you and check with you what did you had to eat On that day we had no complains from other customers, but...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 134 nearby hotels
Market House Tel Aviv Jaffa - An Atlas Boutique Hotel
1,343 reviews
.02 miles away
The Setai Tel Aviv
354 reviews
.07 miles away
The Jaffa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Tel Aviv
117 reviews
.24 miles away
Margosa Hotel
832 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,986 nearby restaurants
Milk Bakery
50 reviews
.02 miles away
Jericho
102 reviews
.05 miles away
Ramesses
111 reviews
.02 miles away
Said El Abu Lafia and Sons
74 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 914 nearby attractions
Jaffa Old City
9,919 reviews
.05 miles away
Shuk Hapishpeshim
80 reviews
.11 miles away
Great Mahmoudiya Mosque
54 reviews
.06 miles away
Montefiore Winery
15 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Dara U
June 3, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BarakK | Property representative |
Rabanut tel Aviv jaffa
0
Votes
Dara U
June 3, 2015|
Answer
Response from BarakK | Property representative |
Yes. Welcome(:
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing