We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $15
CUISINES
Asian, Sri Lankan
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

0.6 miles from Gangaramaya (Vihara) Buddhist Temple
Improve this listing
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,163 results
Traveler rating
518
442
117
47
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
518
442
117
47
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews curry sri lankan meal rice roti cuttlefish local cuisine set menu hoppers vegetarian
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We visited twice. The food was really great but the worst customer service we have seen by far. The waiters ignore the customers even when called upon whilst customers who arrived later were attended to. The staff were tedious and slow. The establishment would improve...much more if they had better staff who were more motivated to attend to the customers.More

Date of visit: January 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent local cuisine. Value for money and great choice of options for vegetarian and non vegetarians. Try the set menu and add on other dishes to it.

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 24, 2022 via mobile

Some family members who visited Sri Lanka from abroad, wanted our typical local cuisine. We decided on Upali’s, essentially to get their great hoppers! However , the entire menu was enjoyed by our guests including the savoury starters . We did add some extras for...a reasonable increase in cost. The table layout with crisp linen in white was commendable. The pleasing attitude and the excellent service of the waiters (with the supervision of Mr Christopher),made the occasion a great success! We’re sure to get them again for another Outdoor Srilankan cuisine catering - by just contacting Ms Thanuja, the on-site manager who was most cooperative. S.GowriMore

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 3, 2022 via mobile

The waiter we had was so concerned about us, food was on time... ethe whole experience was great, as improvement i would suggest to keep the place a big more clean.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 25, 2022 via mobile

Not gonna lie the food was pretty good but if you are a budget traveller I wouldn't recommend this place coz it's too expensive just for a lunch of four. The food was good but the price was just not worth it

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 12, 2022 via mobile

We visited Upali’s for a quick snack recently, as the full menu was not available, the guys mentioned we could have some parata roti with curry, hence we decided to order same , however as we were in a hurry and running late for another...appointment we wanted them to pack our breakfast, all fine so far , We got the bill and to our surprise we got. Bill of Rs 2700+ for 2 plain paratas and a cheese parata. Now that was a highway robbery , not even a 5 star hotel Will charge you like that , the packing was very ordinary nothing fancy at all , just like what a way side shop would do , we paid and left this place obviously felt disappointed with Upali’s . Needless to say will not return again!! Sad how a humble parata and gravy cost that much ! Wake up management of Upali’s!More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Deshani, Owner at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2022

We are sorry you felt this way. First off, our breakfast menu is served from 7.30-11 AM so you are right in that we don’t serve our full menu (lunch items such as certain curries and rice &curry) at that time, however we do have...More

Reviewed June 1, 2022 via mobile

Do not order take away from Restaurant. Worse service ever. Phone orders are not considered and when arrived, it’s not ready. Few experiencesMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Deshani, General Manager at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2022

We are very sorry to hear that your experience with our takeaway was not up to standard. We do our best to accommodate all orders, but we accept that we do make mistakes sometimes. In those events, we are more than happy to make it...More

Reviewed May 25, 2022

We came here for lunch. The place was packed, and we didn't have a booking, but the manager accommodated us and got us a table. We ordered the Dallo Rathata Uyala (Cuttlefish Curry - Rs 1,375), Matara Maalu Ambul Thiyal (Dry Fish Curry - Rs...1,365), Set Menu with white rice (Rs 950), and Lime Sodas (Rs 370 each). The service was quick, and they kept giving us extra vegetables. Obviously, we had no idea that this came at a cost (Rs 325). Great experience, with excellent food. Since this place is not your typical budget restaurant, prepare yourself to fork out around Rs 6,000 for lunch (including service charges).More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 7, 2022 via mobile

Surely one of the best places in town for real Sri Lankan meal. Rice and curry is the best. Also the morning breakfast is great. Their hopper breakfast is the best. Hopper quality is same as those days and the two young boys in the...breakfast area are very helpful. Lunch is really good with traditional Sri Lankan rice and curry. A/C restaurant with parking available. Ideal for a business lunch as well as for a family breakfast 👍 I’m a frequent visitor and a big fan of their hoppers. Chef Buddhika’s and Sandun’s hoppers are out of this world and manager Ms Thanuja is managing the breakfast area superbly. Kavisha is always serving me and he is very helpful. Restaurant arrangements are good with parking and security.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 11, 2022

Loved this place - full menu of all Sri Lankan classics but clearly also tailored for tourists so we felt totally safe eating here. The variety was amazing and the prices were super cheap. Loved this experience!!

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 21, 2022 via mobile

Visited this place on our last day in Sri Lanka. Would highly recommend. Super friendly staff and the food was excellent.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 13, 2022

We went to have lunch in Nov last year and reality too. We ordered Upalis lunch menu with boneless chicken. Horrible lousy food with less vegetables, despite being very expensive. Sorry, but they are not maintaining their standards anymore. They were good at the beginning....I think an ordinary restaurant can serve much better quality rice and curry.More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Deshani, Manager at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2022

Dear RanilMountLavinia, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. As it is not clear, we'd like to clarify when you came to dine in last- was it last November or in 2022? We are sorry to hear you did not like the food...More

Reviewed February 5, 2022 via mobile

Had the chance to drop by Uoali's yesterday and what a wonderful gem of a place Ny wife had delicious roasted 1)2 chicken which came cooked in banana leaf. I had the seafood fried rice. The owner was so very attentive to us and our...needs. Overall wonderful experience!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 10, 2021 via mobile

A favorite of ours. Lots of veg and vegan options (just as if you are unsure) and great flavours too. Large menu to chose from. Love the pineapple curry. Service usually good. The hike made ginger beer is also great. Their lunch time packs are...great too.More

Date of visit: March 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 1, 2021

Nice Sri Lankan restaurant. Good Food with a super choices. The staff were very good and smiling. We had dinner at their vip room where they had a long table enough for about 10 people. It was quiet room and private. They even had an...attached washroom. We did enjoy the Hendella, Crab Omelet, Hoppers. It was really nice and tasty. We will surely come back and always recommend to anyone.More

Date of visit: February 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Desh D, Owner at Upali's, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2021

Thank you so much for visiting Upali’s and taking the time to leave a review. Really glad you enjoyed the food & service, and we hope to see you again soon. Best, Team Upali’s.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Paradise Road Tintagel Colombo
785 reviews
.38 miles away
Jetwing Colombo Seven
835 reviews
.45 miles away
Unique Towers Luxury Boutique Suites
112 reviews
.50 miles away
Residence By Uga Escapes
572 reviews
.55 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Flamingo House
326 reviews
.30 miles away
Cafe Shaze
336 reviews
.29 miles away
Indian Summer Restaurant
273 reviews
.25 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Viharamahadevi Park
706 reviews
.20 miles away
Colombo National Museum
1,327 reviews
.35 miles away
Arcade Independence Square
193 reviews
.15 miles away
Nelum Pokuna Mahinda Rajapaksa Theatre
50 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Upali's staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

UPALI'S, Colombo - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Upali's

Yes, Upali's offers takeout services.

Upali's is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4