We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kandoori

17 Charlimont Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
+94 77 751 1911
Website
Save
All photos (49)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent28%
  • Very good41%
  • Average16%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“naan” (10 reviews)
“nasigoreng” (2 reviews)
Closes in 21 min
Hours
CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Halal, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
17 Charlimont Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Kandoori
1. Best Biryani
"Best Biriyani i ever had , Very nicely done especially the chicken"
Luxshumyraj S
See reviews that mention Best Biryani
2. Naan and Curries
"Naan with Chicken Masala was great."
Tharaka S. S
See reviews that mention Mean and Curries
3. Seafood dishes
"Hot Butter Cuttlefish and a mixed Seafood dish & they were good"
ShaQMnzr
See reviews that mention Seafood
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 85 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2018

I dont recommend their Buriyani but everything else seems to give you a authentic Indian taste.Value for Money and service is ok.Its clean and food is delivered very fast.Lunch is recomended Dinner is when crouded things could get mishandle.Not very child or family friendly staff

Thank shaffaath
Reviewed January 20, 2018

We had veg biryani here and it was great. This place is a bit away from the main market but it was walking distance from Hotel Ozo where we stayed.

Thank Prakash M
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile

Was craving Biriyani so went there around 3.00 pm and was glad to know that they had biriyani. Opted for Tandoori Chicken biriyani which costed Rs.610 while my friend got the Nasigoreng which cost her Rs. 580. We also ordered A portion of hot butter...More

Thank Queenilmz
lafranshuaib, General Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you very much for taking your time to review us and we are glad that you enjoyed the meal, and Will seriously think about the chairs and we will definitely improve it

Reviewed October 27, 2017 via mobile

If you are looking for great tasting Indian food prepared with the best of ingredients then Kandoori is the place. Relaxed environment with superb food. Try their dum biriyani and u would feel u r in india.

Thank ladyhorton01
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

Horrible food,no relation with genuine Indian food ,curries were watery and without any taste,service was abysmal ,it is a place to be frequented by only particular kind of people,altogether a very forgettable experience

Thank Vivek G
lafranshuaib, General Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2017

Thank you for taking your time to review us we are sorry about the experience you had with us, Usually we try to keep our food at high standard. The customers we get are wonderful people we are so glad to have them

Reviewed September 11, 2017

We were staying at the Global Towers Hotel and we were a group which comprised people from India and Pakistan. Kandoori is situated very near to the hotel so we decided to visit the restaurant to see whether it has good Indian/Pakistani food. I must...More

Thank Anmol M
lafranshuaib, Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Thank you For your review

Reviewed July 2, 2017

Took Chicken Biryani Sawan home. It was top quality. Rice was very tasty and so was the chicken. The accompaniments were, onion achchar, hot sambol mix, gravy, etc. The quantities of these were very limited where as the rice was enough for 6-8 persons. The...More

Thank Channa G
Reviewed June 20, 2017 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with my friend arround 1hrs waiting for our menu card after that receive our orders again we asked water bottle again he took 30min I'm not recommended for this place to local

Thank sum_Js
Reviewed May 31, 2017 via mobile

Naan and curry served here had an Indian flavour to it. The restaurant staff were courteous and responsive.

Thank Sasi D
Reviewed April 23, 2017 via mobile

Locals ain't getting a good sit down service but yes the tourist do. Probably to get their trip advisor ratings. But I must say the signature biriyani is worth taking their crappy service. Not recommended for hosting .

Thank Broadeye
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 58 hotels in Colombo
Global Towers Hotel
417 reviews
.10 miles away
OZO Colombo
1,667 reviews
.31 miles away
The Ocean Colombo
340 reviews
.52 miles away
Mirage Hotel Colombo
286 reviews
.54 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The London Grill
264 reviews
.20 miles away
Beach Wadiya
415 reviews
.11 miles away
One Up all Day Breakfast & Coffee
60 reviews
.18 miles away
Tom Yum
94 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Number 11
113 reviews
.53 miles away
Isipathanaramaya Buddhist Temple
61 reviews
.92 miles away
The Factory Outlet
57 reviews
.87 miles away
Recharge Tours
142 reviews
.30 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lasith K
January 31, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from LafranMSA | Property representative |
1500 Rupees, our average bill per person is 750.00
1
Vote
961Jay
November 7, 2016|
Answer
Response from lafranshuaib | Property representative |
Our Biriyani Sawan can be share with minimum of six person and it comes with one extra whole fried chicken, Mixed vegetable curry, Maldive fish sambal, Malay pickle, watalappam
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$2 - $10
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Delivery, Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
1:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:30 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 17 Charlimont Road, Colombo 00600, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Western Province  >  Colombo
  • Phone Number: +94 77 751 1911
  • E-mail
Description
We Started our first Branch in Beruwala one of the tourist destination in Sri Lanka, to cater Locals and Tourists in the area and we got popular among tourist as well as the locals For our unique taste and the pricing that can be affordable for everyone and we opened our second branch in Colombo in 2013. We serve Authentic Indian Food, Chines and Western cuisine, Our Popular dishes are Biryani, Nasi Gorang, Meat Mix Rice, Sea Food Rice, Naan Bread, Chapatti, Indian Curries and Grilled Items from our charcoal grilled Tandoori oven
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing