We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Madame Hien Restaurant

#57 of 1,823 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
15 Chan Cam Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Name/address in local language
+84 4 3938 1588
Website
Today
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 11:00 am - 11:00 pm
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

1,649 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,078: English reviews
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Madame Hien had the original and interesting idea to start from "street cooking" which in itself is rich and diversificated, and to raise it to more sophisticated dishes still related to their roots. Result is interesting and so tasty I did not feel arrogance mentions in another comment, perhaps because I am French, but the staff did not know it... More 

Helpful?
Thank jfle47
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Jfle47, Thank you very much for your positive comment. Have a nice trip in Hanoi. Sincerely Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food and ambience but it was challenging trying to decide what to eat when there are dietary limitations in the party. There are set menus which are great, but if you want to order ala carte, the wait staff aren't much help. But what we ended up ordering was really good. You pay a lot more than what you'd... More 

Helpful?
Thank juliana74
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Juliana, Thank you for your comment. I already inform my Service team the way to help the guest to order. Sorry for the inconvenience during your experience. We hope to welcome you again to give you the best advice. Sincerely Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

1 review
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The quality of the food is amazing for the Lunch Menu. For 200k, you can select from a range of starters, main course, and dessert. Granted it is a fairly expensive option compared to other local restaurants/eateries, the value you get is impeccable. For starters, I had assorted rice rolls, which came with a fish dip and fried shallots. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank Aaron Y
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Aaron, Thank you for your nice comment. We hope to welcome you again. Sincerely Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The place is a former Spanish embassy and very nicely decorated. Tables and chairs are all made of proper wood, I.e. very heavy. Apparently it's very popular amongst westerners as the whole place was packed with westerners. Service is very good but the food isn't as good as expected. We ordered prawn rolls and Halong curry crab as appetisers. They... More 

Helpful?
Thank S L
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear SL, Firstly, thank you very much for sharing with us your experience time in our restaurant Madame Hien. We are really sorry for your bad experience, we took note on that and inform the kitchen already. Sincerely Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

Haarlem
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awful place. Looks nice, cute but then meet the staff. Very uptight arrogant French/Vietnamese waiter leaving us with an excessive bill and a very bad aftertaste. Would not come back here, since staff (especially the French staff) is only kind and sincere to French people. The mealprice is extraordinary and not worth it. Not recommended.

Helpful?
Thank rishi1978
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Rishi, Thank you for sharing with us your comment. We have well noted your comment and we would like to apologize for the bad experience you had. Sincerely, Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were invited by the staff of a NGO at Madame Hien. We enjoyed the authentic Vietnamese foods such as Banh Cuon, Pho, Bun, Nem, Com Nieu or grilled piglets, banana-flower salad and lemongrass-duck foie gras. A pleasant and tasty experience.

Helpful?
Thank cameranny44
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Cameranny44, Thank you very much for you comment. Have a nice day, Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went to this place as recommended by a colleague. A bit more upscale local cuisine Food was delicious and staff were very attentive We tried the Cha Ca (perch) & Hanoi family tray (as a sampler - has soup, salad, fish, meat & rice)

Helpful?
Thank mikey991234
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Mikey, Thank you very much for your nice comment. We wish you a nice trip and hope to see you again. Sincerely Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we tried their tasting menu. Many different items very artfully presented and great tasting. Mostly shrimp, but also vegetables, duck and noodles. You may want to put on some mosquito repellant as they are present even in the inside rooms.

Helpful?
Thank naeemsiddiqi
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Naeem, Thank you for your nice comment positive. We are really glad to read your comment. Have a nice day and thank you again. Best regards Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was recommended by the hotel to go to this restaurant. I observed that they were a little understaffed. At first, the staff seemed impatient that we took awhile to decide on our order. Instead of recommending some dishes to us, or asking if we need help with the ordering, the staff walked away to leave us to think about... More 

Helpful?
Thank cherubean
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Cher, Thank you for sharing with us your experience. I already took note and shared with all my team about your unsatisfaction. Have a nice day and enjoy your trip. Sincerely Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

Elwood, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely loved my whole experience here.. The location in the back streets of Hanoi, you come off the street in to an old Colonial house of serenity... which soon turns in to a bustling restaurant of talk and laughter. The food here, yes is Vietnamese with all your favourites. Then of course you had these elements of a French twist... More 

Helpful?
Thank aj_flyer
MadameHienRestaurant, Manager at Madame Hien Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Flyer, Thank you for sharing with us your nice experience you had with us. We are really happy to see your satisfaction. Enjoy your trip. Sincerely Vincent Page Restaurant Manager Madame Hien Restaurant More 

Travelers who viewed Madame Hien Restaurant also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to Madame Hien Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$8 - $20
Cuisine
Vietnamese, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Monday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Tuesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Saturday
11:00 am - 11:00 pm
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 15 Chan Cam Street, Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
  • Location: Asia  >  Vietnam  >  Hanoi
  • Phone Number: +84 4 3938 1588
Description
With fresh air terrace surrounded by trees, Madame Hien Buffet is located in the Century villa inside the old French quarter, former Spanish cultural center until 2016.

Our restaurant represent traditional Vietnamese food from the North to the South the country in Buffet Style with animation corner, great Barbecue with grilled in front of the guests.
Set menu and a la carte are also available.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Madame Hien Restaurant and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Madame Hien Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?