We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cave Restaurant

J.P Road, Thamel | J.P Road, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
+977 1-4249422
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good29%
  • Average18%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible0%
Oct 23, 2017
“Quirky”
Jan 21, 2018
“Good service, average food, average price”
Open Now
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM Hours
CUISINES
Italian, Chinese, Indian, International, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
J.P Road, Thamel | J.P Road, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 24 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2018

They have Nepali snack like momo, and some Western food also. Taste of Spaghetti was OK, but not excellent. Price is a little higher but staff provided good service.More

Thank SuperSpy007
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear guest! We appreciate your review. We believe that safety should come first that's why we only wash our vegetables with mineral water.Please feel free to come again and try some other food. Our prices are based on several factors such as the prime cost...More

Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

The restaurant is ugly beyond belief. It looks like a huge candle vomited over a bunch of stuffed animal toys. It's amazing to me that no one pointed this out during the makeover. The food was ok, reasonably priced and the service was fine too.More

Thank BangkokAndy1976
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write review. We are happy to know that you found our food, service and decor great. To entertain yourself and your friends during dinner you can order a flag of your country and a stuffed-toy animal,...More

Reviewed October 23, 2017

We ate here several times while staying at the Royal Penguin Hotel. All the meals were very good and the service excellent. It is built like a cave with many different stuffed animals on ledges all around the rooms.it's very different.More

Thank perakash
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Guest We thank you for your review about our restaurant.We are happy to know that you found our food, service and decor great. To entertain yourself and your friends during dinner you can order a flag of your country and a stuffed-toy animal, These...More

Reviewed May 14, 2017 via mobile

Vegetable Tom yum soup was salty and stale. Chicken curry was okay, but compared to portion the price (with VAT and service charge) was too high. I wouldn't go back. Yes they have clean table setting and all, but food was not typically great considering...More

Thank Hyesoo K
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to provide review regarding our restaurant, we appreciate your opinion. Our prices are based on several factors such as the prime cost of the ingredients, our workers salary and expenses for electricity and gas. As we only...More

Reviewed October 8, 2016

Recommended for Breakfast and Dinner. Great Service. Nice cossy place. Enough eating choices. Quiet surroundingsMore

Thank ALEXTEIDE
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest We thank you for your nice review about our restaurant. We're very happy to know that you didn't only enjoy your stay with us, but also really like the food and restaurant in general. We are happy to know that you found our...More

Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

We enjoyed a well price nepalese lunch of dhal and chicken. A calm little oasis with funky decor, away from the madness of Thamel.More

Thank Habanacustom
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your nice review about our restaurant. It's very important for us to know our guests opinion, so we really appreciate your feedback. Our team are always attentive towards the guest request. We are also happy to know that you found...More

Reviewed July 28, 2016

But then we got upstairs, and saw the way it had been decorated. Now I understand the name, someone tried to apply drippy plaster to the walls to give some cave like appearance, but then painted it all shinny white. add orange chairs, and a...More

1  Thank goamazon
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your review about our restaurant. It's very important for us to know our guests opinion, so we really appreciate your feedback. Further to your comment, we would like to express our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Our prices are...More

Reviewed July 20, 2016

The best part about this place is the guards salute you when you walk in so it suddenly turns your aimless search for breakfast into what seems like an important mission of national consequence. The staff are altogether very nice as I have found to...More

1  Thank Nandeez
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear Guest We thank you for your detailed review about our restaurant.It's very important for us to know our guests opinion, so we really appreciate your feedback. Sorry for any inconvenience caused. We have duly noted all the positive comments on the hotel staff and...More

Reviewed July 15, 2016

Interesting place, with eclectic decorations throughout the restaurant. Up a flight of stairs to get to the restaurant. Food was good, service was okay. Could be considered a little pricey for Nepal.More

Thank JessVZ
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for writing feedback regarding our restaurant. We strongly believe that each guest is special and deserves the highest level of hospitality, and we get the greatest satisfaction by achieving that. Our prices are based on several factors such as the prime...More

Reviewed July 6, 2016

This was a good very clean place to eat. Fun place to eat and open late which was handy as other places closed early.More

Thank Josaint13
Yulia G, Manager at The Cave Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2016

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback with rating us “5 out of 5” , this rating is very rewarding and motivating for us to continue to strive for excellence. We are happy that we were able to offer you good hospitality and we look...More

Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Cave Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$15 - $50
Meals
Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Delivery, Takeout, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Families with children, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: J.P Road, Thamel | J.P Road, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
  • Location: Asia  >  Nepal  >  Central Region  >  Bagmati Zone  >  Kathmandu Valley  >  Kathmandu
  • Phone Number: +977 1-4249422
  • E-mail
Description
International menu with more than 200 incredibly delicious recipes.You can have breakfast in the evening, or dinner in the morning - only you decide what you eat, or when, or how much.You can order a half portion of any dish.We cook your food exactly the way you want, removing or adding ingredients of your choice.You can take away any dish.Our freshly squeezed juices contain nothing but freshly squeezed juices!Royal Penguin restaurant welcomes you with exclusive European-grade interior and unique installations from South Korea and Singapore.You can have a table in one of our halls: beautiful Teak Root Hall, or Fine Dining.You can book a table by the phone.The entire restaurant is non-smoking area. With us you can always enjoy both delicious food and fresh air. AC is always on - to make you warm in chilly winter and make you fresh and cool in hot summer Free WI-FI from 2 dedicated lines Electricity is always on.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
;