We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Socially distanced dining tables
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
The Hut Restaurant is one of the best newly opened restaurants in Rwanda. Our unique international cuisine that incorporates local, organic Rwandan ingredients. Our customers especially enjoy dining on our outdoor terrace with an excellent scenic view of Kigali hills. . Lunch service and daytime conferences during weekdays may be arranged with advanced reservations.
PRICE RANGE
$10 - $80
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
CUISINES
Bar, Fusion
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
282
55
8
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
282
55
8
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews avocado fries pork shoulder burger goat fish tacos filet mignon chicken brochette our waiter great food and service last night varied menu nyama choma beautiful view charles patrick chef
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hut is indeed one of the great restaurants in town not to miss.Just go there and enjoy yourself with friends

Date of visit: November 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fast and marvellous, especially for meat lover although the not boring veggie burger is a classic. Fantastic variety of food type.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 16, 2022 via mobile

The Hut was recommended to our group and the food did not disappoint. The service and the ambiance was outstanding. I will definitely recommend this establishment.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Our team offers their gratitude to the kind words you have shared in your feedback as it encourages them to continue their efforts to...More

Reviewed October 11, 2022

I just experienced a great time at the hut restaurant with good service from Patrick our waiter and my business partners where happy to come with me next time, hope the amount of chips will be the same, thank you

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for visiting The Hut We are glad that you enjoyed our Food and Service. Thank you very much for recognizing Mr. Patrick. Hope to see you at the Hut Restaurant during your next visit. Warm Regards. JD General Manager

Reviewed October 11, 2022

The Hut offers monthly specials, and last night, we tried two of them. I had the Thai chicken Bangkok, which was excellent. The chicken was tender and juicy with great flavor from the marinade. It's served with green papaya salad (excellent) and glass noodle pad...Thai. A great dish! My husband had the braised pork shoulder which was very tender and flavorful. The pork fell apart - no knife needed. It was served with steamed rice, leafy greens and a generous helping of crispy onion rings. Chef Sajith does a wonderful job. Very accommodating to any special dietary needs.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such a lovely review as well as for complimenting our associates by name. Warm Regards.. JD General Manager

Reviewed October 9, 2022 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at 'the hut'. The menu has a lot of options, so everybody should find something, he/she likes to eat. Our food was delicious and quickly served. Our waiter Patrick was very kind and courtous. We will definitely come back.More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2022

Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence. Hope to see you at The Hut during your...More

Reviewed October 5, 2022

we yesterday eat there, and we were so delight to enjoy delicious meal and excellent service we offered by Schadrack. we will be back very soon to enjoy amazing food and good vibes.

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing a comprehensive feedback. Appreciate you complimenting our associates by name as well as for the recommendation. Warm Regards JD General Manager

Reviewed October 2, 2022 via mobile

My wife and I came here for our first wedding anniversary with our family and it was amazing. Claire was our sever and she was excellent. Her recommendations for food were delicious and it was an excellent meal. We would recommend Claire and the hut...to anyone visiting Kigali!More

Date of visit: October 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing a comprehensive feedback. Appreciate you complimenting our associates by name as well as for the recommendation. Warm Regards JD General Manager

Reviewed September 22, 2022

I've been visiting Kigali for the last 25 years and keep watching it grow into one of the most beautiful, convenient, and safe places to visit in the world. Last Friday evening, I had dinner at The Hut looking out over the twinkling lights of...Kigali. The food was just delicious, plentiful, super fresh, and healthy. Claire was our lovely and attentive server, asked about allergies, provided tastes of yummy wine before we ordered our glasses to accompany our meal, and was available to us the entire meal! Even all of my Rwandese friends love this place - which is within walking distance of the Kigali Conference Centre. Go there if you are so lucky to be in KGL.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for visiting The Hut We are glad that you enjoyed our Food and Service. Thank you very much for recognizing Ms. Claire Hope to see you at the Hut Restaurant during your next visit. Warm Regards. JD General Manager

Reviewed September 21, 2022

My friends and I had a great experience at “The Hut”. The service was very quick, waiters led by Patrick were very professional, and food was outstanding. Th

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing positive feedback. Will share your compliments with Patrick. Warm Regards JD

Reviewed September 12, 2022 via mobile

The Hut exceeded my expectations as it is an unassuming restaurant. Our waitress Claire was friendly and attentive, it’s seldom that you are served by such a kind person. I can highly recommend the Falafel salad it was beyond delicious!

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing a comprehensive feedback. Appreciate you complimenting our associates by name as well as for the recommendation. Warm Regards JD

Reviewed September 7, 2022

Really enjoyed our first visit to The Hut! Cool setting and very relaxed vibe. Super friendly and helpful staff, including Mr. Jacque, who took care of us so well while we were there. Murakoze, Jacque! Large selection of food and good vegetarian options - everyone...enjoyed their meals, and the tree tomato juice was definitely a favorite! We'll be back next time we're in Kigali!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing positive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Our team offers their gratitude to the kind words you have shared in your feedback as it encourages them to continue their efforts to...More

Reviewed September 4, 2022 via mobile

We had an all around awesome experience at the hut. The food and menu choice was excellent (including some great vegetarian options), the portions were big and the dishes were all delicious - we thoroughly enjoyed our meals. I highly recommend the tree tomato juice...or one of the local Virunga beers to go with the food. The service was also excellent - Mr Jacque was a truly lovely, attentive and patient waiter having to deal with an indecisive group! He was awesome and he went out of his way to accommodate us. Thank you! If we ever find our selves in Kigali again we will definitely be back!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such a lovely review as well as for complimenting our associates by name. Warm Regards... JD General Manager

Reviewed September 3, 2022 via mobile

Nice setting, nice view, good service (Jacques). Good selection of local and international food, yeasty snd quality ingredients and fair price. We will be back for sure . Popular place during weekends, best to book aheadMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2022

Dear Schhel, We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence. Hope to see you at The Hut during your...More

Reviewed August 30, 2022

The Hut is a calm setting with a gorgeous view. The starters are flavorful as with the main dishes. Our server was Jacque, a very nice person. We were well taken care of. We finished off the evening well satisfied with our choice.

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheHutrwanda, General Manager at The Hut, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2022

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing such a lovely review as well as for complimenting our associates by name. Warm Regards... JD General Manager

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Radisson Blu Hotel & Convention Centre, Kigali
1,446 reviews
.22 miles away
Nobilis Apartments
5 reviews
.30 miles away
Lemigo Hotel
270 reviews
.36 miles away
Ninzi Hill Hotel
12 reviews
.56 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Meze Fresh
366 reviews
.34 miles away
Lavana
63 reviews
.70 miles away
Filini Restaurant & Bar Kigali
73 reviews
.23 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kigali Convention Centre
18 reviews
.22 miles away
Campaign Against Genocide Museum
22 reviews
.78 miles away
Avenue du Commerce
29 reviews
.70 miles away
Casino Kigali
19 reviews
.36 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
IRADUKUNDA E
February 26, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from QuikAg80 | Reviewed this property |
You may get cassava as a side dish with some dinners but I don’t remember it as an entree. Too many other good food to order
1
Vote
made in c
January 11, 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Kig777 | Reviewed this property |
It depends on your budget.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE HUT, Kigali - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Hut

Yes, The Hut offers takeout services.

Yes, The Hut is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Hut is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5