We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Beerhouse

160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
+264 61 232 457
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good44%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“game meat” (122 reviews)
“eisbein” (62 reviews)
“kebab” (37 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
CUISINES
German, African, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (3,021)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 540 of 1,901 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

Definitely Joe's is a place one should consider when traveling to Namibia for the first time. In my opinion not a great restaurant for fine dining. There are about 10 restaurants in Windhoek I would rather recommend. However it is something different and has a...More

Thank Pieter R
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

We appreciate your comments. Thank you for the review.

Reviewed November 22, 2016

The first impression I got was that I was entering a restaurant located close to the beach somewhere in the tropics ! It is a beer house but I didn't get the feeling of such place. Although it is a huge restaurant, one doesn't get...More

Thank ChrisTiane1415
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse. We are happy that you enjoyed your meals.

Reviewed November 22, 2016

Joe's Beer House was recommended by both our travel agent and the manager of our B&B. We went there for dinner on a Monday night and it was so busy that we had to sit at the bar. This was completely fine with us. We...More

Thank Sonya P
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse. We are very glad that you had a great experience and enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed November 22, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is nice, have a good themed ambience and a chilled hangout. Great I could find craft beer. I ordered kingklip fish with veggies and tested horrible. I couldn't eat it.More

Thank Munya K
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2016

We thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse. We sincerely apologize for your meal that was not up to standard as it is not a norm at Joe's Beerhouse to serve food of poor quality. Should you wish to make direct contact please do...More

Reviewed November 22, 2016

What can one say about Joe's. It's full of people, crowded in fact. It's a good idea to make a reservation. My family and I went there with a bunch of friends who'd been before so we had 5-6 tables all lined up. It took...More

Thank davidkillough
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2016

We appreciate the feedback. We apologize for any inconvenience that was caused on your evening.

Reviewed November 20, 2016

Stopped in for dinner one evening, and it was great. While the wait staff seems rather apathetic (granted, that's the case at nearly every dining establishment in this part of the world), the food & drink was great. They ended up seating me (solo traveller)...More

Thank netllama
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2016

Thank you for the review and we are glad that you had a good time at Joe's Beerhouse.

Reviewed November 19, 2016 via mobile

The restaurant is within a large complex and seating is mostly shared around large tables, few tables for 4 and 6 pax... food leans towards exotic dishes, game meat and some German specialities. Servings are sizeable, dishes tasted average. Patrons mostly come in large groups.

Thank DnSGlobeTrotters
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2016

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse and for sharing your experience with us.

Reviewed November 16, 2016 via mobile

Wonderful setting! The beer was colder than any I have ever been served! Fantastic. We did not have any food.

Thank ccrabbia
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Thank you for the positive review, we are glad you had a good time and that you enjoyed the Beer :)

Reviewed November 15, 2016 via mobile

We had eaten here about 10 years ago when we were last here in Namibia and had an excellent meal and everything was very well prepared. We decided to come back based on our good experience the last time here. Four of us came for...More

Thank thewanderingfamily4
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse. We sincerely apologise for the bad experience that you had whilst visiting Joe's Beerhouse as it is not a norm to serve food that is not up to standard and especially to seat Guests at dirty tables....More

Reviewed November 15, 2016

I did a volunteer project near by and they took us here on the Sunday. I am not sure if it was because we were staying somewhere very remote with next to no electricity and on occassions no hot water with very samey food.. However,...More

Thank Sharcoates
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beerhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2016

Thanks so much for the positive review about Joe's Beerhouse. We are glad that you had a great time whilst visiting us.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 hotels in Windhoek
Roof of Africa Hotel Conference & Restaurant
184 reviews
.41 miles away
Hotel Pension Uhland
207 reviews
.42 miles away
Hotel Thule
248 reviews
.46 miles away
Protea Hotel Windhoek Furstenhof
81 reviews
1.21 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Social Restaurant
136 reviews
.25 miles away
The Olive Restaurant
140 reviews
.18 miles away
Kubata Restaurant
162 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Trans-Namib Railroad Museum
73 reviews
.83 miles away
Parliament Gardens
55 reviews
.96 miles away
Owela Museum
40 reviews
.61 miles away
Zoo Park
49 reviews
.54 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tms2indub
June 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Ian O | Reviewed this property |
Joe's Beer Garden and Restaurant is a 2 km walk along the same street as the Utopia hotel; "Nelson Mandela Avenue". You could walk to the venue, get a feel of the area, and decide whether or not you want to walk (that is on... More
0
Votes
656nela
April 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CJ123737 | Property representative |
Hi, thank you for your inquiry. herewith a list of vegetarian dishes on our menu : 1)Butternut soup 2) Potato and Leek soup 3) A selection of salads 4)Crumbed Mushrooms 5) Sweet Potato gratin with celery,leek, carrots and... More
0
Votes
Jacqueline S
January 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from CJ123737 | Property representative |
Good morning, thank you for your inquiry. The restaurant is totally casual as it is a semi outdoor venue with rustic furniture. Reservation is very advisable and can conveniently be done from our website. Thank you and... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$15 - $22
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Monday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Friday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
  • Location: Africa  >  Namibia  >  Khomas Region  >  Windhoek
  • Phone Number: +264 61 232 457
  • E-mail
Description
Joe's Beerhouse is a place for people of all walks of life to meet. It can seat up to 580 guests at a time and is open 7 days of the week. The menu emphasis lies on game meat but also caters for non-meat lovers. It however is not geared toward fine dining. Reservations are essential as the restaurant is well frequently booked out.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing