Joe's Beerhouse

Joe's Beerhouse

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+264 61 232 457+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Mon
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Tue
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Wed
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Thu
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Fri
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Sat
12:00 PM - 12:00 AM
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Travelers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Details
Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
PRICE RANGE
$15.00 – $22.00
CUISINES
German, African, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
meals, features
Does this restaurant allow dogs or considered pet friendly?
About
Joe's Beerhouse is a place for people of all walks of life to meet. It can seat up to 580 guests at a time and is open 7 days of the week. The menu emphasis lies on game meat but also caters for non-meat lovers. It however is not geared toward fine dining. Reservations are essential as the restaurant is well frequently booked out.
PRICE RANGE
$15.00 – $22.00
CUISINES
German, African, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Free off-street parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles4,537 reviews
Excellent
1,889
Very good
1,840
Average
558
Poor
153
Terrible
97
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Lindsay A
Brisbane128 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
We visited Joe's on the recommendation of international traveling friends and some Namibian locals. They said we had to try the game meats. We did and they were amazing. I ordered the Namib Bushfire, which had a skewer of Springbok, Oryx and Kudu meat. They were all nice, though the Oryx was my favourite, tender and juicy. I ordered the meat medium rare and that's exactly how it was served. I also tried some of the craft beers, which were superb. The service was excellent, our server had a great sense of humour. We were seated at long tables with bench seats. My wife had a sore back and without prompting our server brought her a chair with a back, to make it easier for her to sit for the evening. We hit Windhoek in the middle of a very rainy patch, the drought of six years has finally broken. Torrential rain started pouring down at about 9pm. We had booked Joe's shuttle which picks you up and takes you home again for a modest $50 (Namibian) return per person. When it was time to get into the shuttle we had to make a run for it through torrential rain, the pathway into Joe's had become a river and we walked/ran through about 4-6 inches of water in the dining courtyard, just to get out the front door. Then we drove through streets which resembled rivers, thank goodness the driver knew where he was going. Apart from the soggy end, it was a great experience, with great service. I would highly recommend having a meal here.
Written March 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
Your detailed review is very much appreciated and we thank you for the time taken to elaborate as this gives great insight to fellow travellers. Thank you also for being understanding regarding the rain and the mini floods it tends to cause.
Written March 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

chitownsam
Chicago2033 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
Very quirky decor. One of a kind. Huge restaurant but even so, reservations highly recommended. We came as a large group. Most people had large servings of game meat on a kebab, which they all liked. I wanted a change of pace from all the meat I had been eating, so I opted for the roast chicken, which was tasty. Despite asking for extra crispy fries (chips), the fries I got were quite soggy. Service was prompt and efficient. The waiter was happy to give us multiple checks.
Written March 13, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

MrsH28
Cape Town Central123 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 couples
If in Windhoek, Joe's is definately the place to pop in, awesome decor, and on a Thursday night from 6-7they have a drumming circle which was awesome through enjoyed it. Joe's off a urber service pick up from your accommodation and drop again at R25 per person one way. Was really disappointed in their food, ordered a oryx schnitzel, I was convinced it was a pork schnitzel
Written January 29, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
We thank you for your review. We have investigated your complaint and regret that you were dissappointed. It is quite possible that the schnitzels were mixed up and we have implemented stricter control to prevent it from happening again. Kindly note that the drumming takes place on Wednesday. The shuttle fee is N$25 per person provided you are not located outside the 5km perimeter of Joe's.
Written February 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shaz D
San Francisco13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2020 couples
I have been coming to Joe’s for years now but I was super bummed by how average the food was on my recent visit. I ordered a pork belly - Which was described as being ‘spicy’ - I don’t think it was even seasoned/marinated before and it arrived with a bunch of bbq sauce that seemed to have been placed afterwards. The meat was also cold when it got to the table as well. The service standards have also gotten pretty disappointing- we visited on a Monday and it wasn’t super busy, but it took us asking for a menu for it to be brought to us. Overall, if you’re visiting Windhoek and are in need of a place with really cool ambiance and decor, you will be happy. However, I’m sad to say, don’t expect a great steak/meal.
Written December 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

stonellas
London821 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 none
This restaurant was recommended to us and to be honest we have never been to a restaurant quite like it before. The restaurant sent a shuttle to pick us up from our B&B (and also to drop us back after the meal). It is the most bizarre restaurant we have ever been to. It is a very large almost sprawling restaurant in the open divided into small dining areas with a number of bars in these areas surrounded by object d’art or if you prefer junk shop items. These included an old Morris Mini car over one of the entrances, old signs, pieces of rusting machinery etc. Although the restaurant is in the open all the tables have cover over them either enormous parasols or the tables are set under wooden gazebos. If you are a large party then you can sit on your own but as we were only 2 we were seated on a long wooden bench which was great way to meet new friends !!! However at any restaurant the main thing is not the décor but the quality of the food. and at Joe's the food is very good indeed. After a couple of cocktails to start with we ordered the crumbed mushrooms as an appetizer to share and the baked garlic and cheese rolls. For our main courses my wife choose the Zebra Loin steak which was perfectly cooked as ordered whilst I chose the pork belly which was enormous - 3 different cuts of meat including pork belly & one of the meatiest pork ribs I have seen - almost a large pork chop. The main courses were served with fries. We had eaten far too much so we skipped dessert The food was excellent and was matched by the service.. All the servers were friendly & efficient and despite the restaurant being extremely busy (we were glad we had made reservations) all the courses were served in a timely manner. The ambience & vibe was wonderful & it was a great way to start our road trip around Namibia
Written March 7, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
We hope that your most detailed and in depth review will be very insightful to fellow travellers and we genuinely thank you for making this concerted effort. At the same time we are indeed happy to note that your total experience at our venue was to your satisfaction. You can imagine that it is a great challenge to consistently satisfy our guests being such a large restaurant and having a staff compliment of over 100 persons. Your full marks are very motivating and very much appreciated.
Written March 8, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Shimnik
Delft7109 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 none
Joe's beerhouse is a too popular place even in the COVID times. The menu is very extensive with a few options from game meat. I have chosen the Bushman sasotie with 5 varios loin cuts: springbok, kudu, oryx, zebra and crocodile. It was nice but special game smell is noticeable. Unfortunately, only one Pinotage wine was available and it was not the one I wanted to try. The draught beer is nice. The restaurant offers a shuttle transfer for 25N$ one way, which is very convenient.
Written January 5, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
We take note of your concerns and thank you for reviewing us. The menu and wine selection will be enlarged once the Covid situation has subsided.
Written March 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

brodarte
Toluca307 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 none
We spent our first night, which just happened to be New Years, in Joe's and had a blast. Went ahead and ordered the game dish (kabobs) which turned out to be quite good! Th place itself has a very fun atmosphere. Interesting place to have a few beers or simply just hang out. Live music on the first night there. We decided to come back after our safari through the country and enjoyed int just as well. Did not have a reservation, but where able to get a table right away. The cost of the food / beverages is very reasonable; at least compared to what I would expect to pay in a similar restaurant in North America. Local is lekka! I would rate this as a "must do" while in Namibia!
Written February 1, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
Your positive feedback is sincerely appreciated and we are really glad to read that we managed to please you on both occasions of your visits. Kind regards.
Written February 4, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Maksim B
London3476 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 friends
I was told that this was the place where I should definitely go when in Windhoek as it was kind of the “must-visit” restaurant for tourists. So friend of ours from Windhoek brought us there and it was a nice experience, to a level where I was so stuffed with tasty food that I couldn’t breathe. Nice atmosphere, round tables under traditional savannah umbrellas, quick service and a big choice of food. One can go for traditional local cuisine or for international crowd-pleasers. I went for the combination of meats: zebra, springbok, oryx , crocodile, kudu and the meal was really huge! Price-wise , we were 4 people and had a blast for 70 GBP including quite some beers
Written November 10, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
Thank you for your generous recommendation and we are glad that you had a great stay at our establishment.
Written January 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christopher S
Oxted477 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sep 2022 couples
Located a short distance from where we were staying in Windhoek, this is a popular eating place. It has various different sections so that it doesn’t feel as large as it really is. Food was good and portions adequate for our appetites with many guests seen taking leftovers away in containers. Staff were friendly and service good though they were extremely busy in early evening on a Saturday night. Worth booking in advance if you want to eat there - they do,offer a pick up service for guests for a small charge and there is some parking. would be happy to recommend
Written September 27, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
Thank you for your detailed description and high recommendation. We are very glad to read that you had a great experience at our establishment.
Written October 3, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Christoph A
27 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2021 none
Wo geht man hin, wenn man das erste Mal in Windhoek ist? Joes Beerhouse soll Kult sein. Weit gefehlt. Das scheinbar leckerste Angebot ausgesucht. Bushman Sosatie, Garstufe medium rare. Was auf dem Teller serviert wurde war kurz angebratenes Fleisch was innen komplett roh war. Wer steht da am Grill? Es war mit Abstand das schlechteste Essen was uns in Namibia in 3 Wochen serviert wurde. Beilagen und Salat zeugten auch nicht von liebenswerter Küche. Wiederholungsfaktor Null. Leider. English: Where do you go the first time you're in Windhoek? Joe's Beerhouse is supposed to be a cult. Far from it. The most seemingly delicious offer chosen. Bushman Sosatie, cooking stage medium rare. What was served on the plate was briefly fried meat which was completely raw inside. Who's at the grill? It was by far the worst food served to us in Namibia in 3 weeks. Side dishes and salad also did not testify to lovable cuisine. Repetition factor zero. Unfortunately.
Written June 8, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
We thank you for reviewing us and regret having disappointed you. If meat is undercooked which will certainly happen many times in any restaurant all over the world it is easy to rectify by re-grilling it or by serving an altogether new plate. It is a pity we were not given the opportunity to do so but still like to apooigize for your bad experience.
Written June 10, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Crispin
14 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2021 couples
Went for supper in January 2021, so the experience was hampered a lot by Covid. Atmosphere was probably flat vs what it usually is. However the main reason for a 3 rating is the food is average. You can find better game steaks anywhere in Namibia (or even up the road, say Hotel Thule...) with bigger portions and cheaper too. Now that I’ve been once for the experience I wouldn’t go out of my way to go back. Saving grace was the free taxi ride home!
Written February 7, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
Thank you for reviewing us and we regret that your experience was not up to your expectation. Kind regards
Written March 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vanessa M
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022 business
We were a group of 11, thinking that this would be a nice experience for the tour group after a trip…unfortunately the experience was horrible. Our waiter only came when we went searching for him. Asking other waiters/waitresses, they just advised us to call our waiter. Sitting on the dry without drinks for most of the time, which was not the worst, the food we ordered came 2 hours later. Also here we had to ask several times. When the food came, most of it was cold or served wrong. The Restaurant has so many service personal, but somehow they are all “too busy” or not available. Sad, a few years ago this place used to be great.
Written February 14, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
We take note of your comments and sincerely regret that you were subjected to this unacceptable service. We admit that we were totally overwhelmed by Valentine's diners. We underestimated the situation and did not expect many patrons for three obvious reasons, a) it was raining b) it was a Monday c) we are still struggling with the number of staff which had to be reduced to the Covid situation. we are doing our best to prevent a repeat of the situation and thank you for your understanding.
Written February 15, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dave1q
36 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2020 none
Joe's is a legend in Windhoek so I always go there on my business trips. Recently however I notice two things: prices going way too high; quality of food coming way down. The beer is still good, the atmosphere really fun. But flavourless food, now very expensive.
Written December 3, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Graham H
Nairobi Region17 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
No safari trip or in fact any trip to Windhoek would not be complete without a visit to Joe's beer house. Let me start off by saying that you might be very disappointed if you don't make a reservation. We arrived at just before 12:00 lunch time on a Saturday and it was already buzzing and we had to share a table with some other Nomads. But it's that sort of place great food, a good selection of drinks and a place for friendly chats with complete stranger's. If you visit Windhoek and don't get to Joe's beer house you are missing out. Ohh and it has very secure , undercover car parking for your 4 x 4 so you can relax and enjoy your meal.
Written January 16, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CJ123737
We are pleased to note that your stay at our restaurant was so favourable. Thank you for reviewing us. Kind regards.
Written January 20, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Denise T
33 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 family
Very quirky atmosphere, spacious place with multiple options of seating. Great service. It has it's own parking are and it's huge. We tried the Namib trio (Kudu, zebra and springbok loin cuts, served with a red wine sauce- this sauce you can skip, baked sweet potato, Joe’s sour cream and a vegetable kebab) and the meat was cooked into perfection! Liked the Kudu and springbok. We also ordered the Mieliepap cakelets and they were the highlight of the meal, very delicious and well seasoned. The portion of the dishes looked well served around us, lots of people ordering the pork knuckel and schnitzel. We were full but would definitely try the other red meats dishes as Namibia is known for their high quality red meat. Had the on tap beers Hansa and Castle light and Windoek lager to get taste Namibian beer. We ordered dessert, malva pudding and Dom Pedro and they were also delicious. It's definitely a touristy restaurant but the quality of food was great, I enjoyed that even being a huge restaurant the noise was minimum, no loud music very chill place, I would return for the red meat for sure. One dish for 2 people, one starter, 4 beers and dessert was enough to make us full and final price was very low if you are used with USA Washington prices. Would highly recommend this place and would recommend sticking with the red meat.
Written July 3, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carol-Jean Rechter
Your detailed review is very much appreciated and we are glad that you had such a great experience at our establishment. Thank you for recommending us.
Written July 4, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 2,813
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
The Stellenbosch Wine Bar and Bistro
$$ - $$$ · International, European, Wine Bar
The Stellenbosch Tasting Room
$$ - $$$ · International, European, Wine Bar
Skybar
$$ - $$$ · Bar
Sardinia Blue Olive
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Mediterranean, European
The Olive Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Contemporary
La Familia Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Italian, Bar, Pizza, Barbecue
O Portuga
$$ - $$$ · Seafood, European, Portuguese
The Wine Bar & Wine Shop
$$ - $$$ · Contemporary, Wine Bar
Garnish Restaurant
$$ - $$$ · Indian, International, Asian, Healthy
Fresh 'n Wild At Utopia
$$ - $$$ · International, Healthy
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

JOE'S BEERHOUSE, Windhoek - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Windhoek HotelsWindhoek Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Windhoek
Things to DoFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars