We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Beer House

160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
+264 61 232 457
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent39%
  • Very good44%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travelers talk about
“game meat” (97 reviews)
“kebab” (30 reviews)
“eisbein” (52 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
German, African, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (2,570)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 1,656 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

Joe's Beer House is HUGE! The outdoor tables near the roaring fire make for quite an atmosphere. As beer aficionados, I am sorry to say that the beer list was not what we were hoping for. However, the wild game on the menu is exciting...More

Thank CKF
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

My husband and I met here for beers and dinner with friends while we were traveling in Namibia. It was a great place to meet. The atmosphere is entertaining with many antiques and curiosities to look at throughout the restaurant. Food was fast service was...More

Thank Carrie N
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you very much for the positive feedback and for recommending Joe's Beerhouse to other travelers.

Reviewed 3 days ago

super fun place to go to. Great food. pricy. you need to reserve in advance and ask for indoor table. In winter it's way to cold to be out of doors in the evening

Thank Anthony A
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse. We are very happy that you had a good time and that you enjoyed your meals.

Reviewed 3 days ago

We were a party of 6 who were really looking forward to our meal at the famous "Joe's Beer House". We're still trying to work out just what all the hype is about. * Food was certainly only mediocre. * Pork chops were very dry...More

1  Thank Nicky H
CJ123737, Owner at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

We hugely appreciate your feedback and would sincerely like to apologise for your most unfortunate experience. It is a shame that you had to endure our worst side which is certainly not our norm but we take serious heed of your detailed complaints and endeavour...More

Reviewed 3 days ago

Lovely atmosphere, with excellent food - specialty of course the Eisbein with mash and sauerkraut. great for an evening out with a very lively atmosphere and fires in the open spaces to get rid of the desert chill

Thank Pieter N
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the review, we are happy you had an enjoyable time at Joe's Beerhouse.

Reviewed 5 days ago

Friends took us here as a farewell. The food was delicious but pricey for Namibia we thought, Service at dinner was great but we did feel like they they shunted us out the door so they could close up.

Thank Penelope F
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse and apologies for any inconvenience caused on your visit.

Reviewed 6 days ago

I can't review the food because we didn't stay. We made reservations a few months in advance and had heard what a fun place this is. So we were looking forward to it. The place was bustling, but we felt sure we'd be seated in...More

Thank Heather H
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Good day, we would like to express our sincere apologies. Kindly provide us with information as to your method of booking used and the time of your arrival at our restaurant. We aim to improve the manner in which matters of a similar nature are...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

We visited Joe's for lunch while on a business trip, and I would go back. Service is slow, with waiters not really checking up on the table often. However the food was fantastic! I had the eisbein - which was perfectly cooked. Crispy on the...More

Thank boredcharou
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

We appreciate the feedback and apologies for any inconvenience caused on your visit.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Joe's has been around for a while, and for a good reason. Every corner of this place has a story to tell, some of which can be read by paging through the menu. Joe's is always buzzing with life from all over, and the food...More

Thank SPvdMerwe
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse.

Reviewed 1 week ago

No trip to Windhoek is complete without a visit to Joe's Beerhouse. The rows of empty UNIVERSAL recognizable bottles on display is testimony to the hours of fun for visitors from all over the world. A must visit for anyone.

Thank theodorusf2016
JerovineM, Manager at Joe's Beer House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the review about Joe's Beerhouse and for the recommendation.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Social
100 reviews
.25 miles away
The Olive Restaurant
121 reviews
.18 miles away
Kubata Restaurant
150 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Trans-Namib Railroad Museum
55 reviews
.80 miles away
Kalahari Sands Casino
54 reviews
.93 miles away
Zoo Park
39 reviews
.54 miles away
Wild Dog Safaris
235 reviews
.30 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
tms2indub
June 5, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Judy R | Reviewed this property |
Drive your own car
0
Votes
656nela
April 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from CJ123737 | Property representative |
Hi, thank you for your inquiry. herewith a list of vegetarian dishes on our menu : 1)Butternut soup 2) Potato and Leek soup 3) A selection of salads 4)Crumbed Mushrooms 5) Sweet Potato gratin with celery,leek, carrots and... More
0
Votes
Jacqueline S
January 29, 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from CJ123737 | Property representative |
Good morning, thank you for your inquiry. The restaurant is totally casual as it is a semi outdoor venue with rustic furniture. Reservation is very advisable and can conveniently be done from our website. Thank you and... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$15 - $22
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Monday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 160 Nelson Mandela Avenue | Eros, Windhoek 9000, Namibia
  • Location: Africa  >  Namibia  >  Khomas Region  >  Windhoek
  • Phone Number: +264 61 232 457
  • E-mail
Description
Joe's Beerhouse is a place for people of all walks of life to meet. It can seat up to 580 guests at a time and is open 7 days of the week. The menu emphasis lies on game meat but also caters for non-meat lovers. It however is not geared toward fine dining. Reservations are essential as the restaurant is well frequently booked out.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing