We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nice Restaurant & Bar

2 Mozart St | on the corner of Hosea Kutako Drive, Windhoek, Namibia
+264 61 300 710
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good36%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible2%
Travelers talk about
“salad” (18 reviews)
“steak” (16 reviews)
“pizza” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
International, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
2 Mozart St | on the corner of Hosea Kutako Drive, Windhoek, Namibia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 331 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

Great place , quality for your money . Menu choice good . Can enjoy sundown drinks on the terrace . Romantic .

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank bushbull01
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Nescafe experience was excellent. The atmosphere and client service was of greatest professionalism and very relaxing.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank odilloutsilek
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

What a pleasant surprise. We had lunch, which consisted of 3 course meal. I think we paid more for the soft drinks than the meal! The food was very well presented and tasted really good. I can recommend this place. It is used as chef...More

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank W7008YGbernardm
NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Nice Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write us this review. Its much appreciated. Our new approach of serving only lunches is working well and introducing our trainees to the opportunity to create food and serve it in a training environment here they...More

Reviewed August 20, 2018

Fresh vegetables, tasty food, excellent service, beautiful location!! Eating here is the best way to support culinary education in Namibia!!More

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Caro K
NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Nice Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for these kind words! Yes, we are open now for lunches daily between 12 and 3 pm and we simply love the response from our public on all of our tasty treats. When popping in again, ask to see our beautiful organic garden...More

Reviewed August 6, 2018

Established as a chef's finishing school, with a restaurant incorporated as a facility to provide vocational training for chefs-in-training and kitchen and bar support staff, the eatery is now closed. Has been CLOSED since the end of 2017. Make no error Nice was a good...More

Date of visit: November 2017
1  Thank 726danny
NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Nice Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Hello. Indeed we did close for some time, however, we are open again for lunches. Our team of trainees, studying Commercial Cookery & Food and Beverage Services serve up delicious fresh meals everyday between 12 and 3pm. We have a new Executive Chef in the...More

Reviewed July 31, 2018 via mobile

Nice serves delicious meals, and the service was great! Be sure to check the specials on the menu, they even had Kapana! The steak we ordered was cooked to perfection.

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank sandyleee
NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Nice Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for your kind words.

Reviewed April 17, 2018

The only way NICE can disappoint is through their service. Their menu is impeccable, affordable, and delicious. This is a great place for business and friends lunch or dinner. The bar areas is quite nice as well, but if you are eating dinner at the...More

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank amainailoke
NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Nice Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Thank you for the recommendation. We have recently changed our approach at NICE and now only serve a scrumptious lunch between 12 and 3 pm weekdays. Our trainees create and serve the meals as part of their training program at NICE, which is a chef...More

Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

I had dinner here with my husband and we were treated with 5 star food and 5 star service! Recommend this for a date as well as for dinner and drinks with friends!More

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank MSow16
NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Nice Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Hello! Even though we no longer serve dinners, we are now open again for lunches, served daily between 12 and 3 pm weekdays. Our trainees are spoilt with fresh vegetables and herbs from our organic garden and you can call us for a reservation on...More

Reviewed March 16, 2018 via mobile

The combination of quality, service, atmosphere, attitude of staff and price level reaches almost an optimum score. It’s absolutely a fine choice if you want to avoid the very city centre of Windhoek.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Vuppies
NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Nice Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Great advice and thank you for the review. We are now open for lunches between 12 and 3 pm. Created by our trainees from the Chef school here. Call us for a reservation on 061 300 710 weekdays.

Reviewed March 6, 2018

"Nice is nice" is a common refrain in Windhoek, describing this pleasant and professional venue. The glassbowl kitchen allows visitors to see experienced and learner chefs make dishes that are always tasty. This is a go-to place close to the CBD. I have visited alone,...More

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank A_Wandering_Wonderer
NamibRand-Safaris, Public Relations Manager at Nice Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2018

Thanks for this. We are currently closed for renovations - so we are planning to re-open our training restaurant to the public by way of being a lunch venue only for the first few months. We have decided to focus on affordable, tasty and healthy...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 18 hotels in Windhoek
Protea Hotel Windhoek Furstenhof
86 reviews
.18 miles away
AVANI Windhoek Hotel & Casino
625 reviews
.38 miles away
Hilton Windhoek
1,621 reviews
.48 miles away
Hotel Pension Uhland
215 reviews
.94 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Skybar
360 reviews
.48 miles away
Craft Cafe Windhoek
317 reviews
.47 miles away
JoJo's Music and Arts Cafe
80 reviews
.49 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Namibia Craft Centre
270 reviews
.47 miles away
Christuskirche
597 reviews
.55 miles away
Trans-Namib Railroad Museum
87 reviews
.56 miles away
National Museum of Namibia
449 reviews
.61 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
RNM1993
November 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from NamibRand-Safaris | Property representative |
Hey there, I recommend you contact our Conferencing Department here (TripAdvisor does not allow 'website links' so replace the _ with a .) nice@mweb_com_na or giving them a call at 061-300-710 Thanks for reaching out to... More
0
Votes
AHZambia
October 28, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from NamibRand-Safaris | Property representative |
Hi, Sorry we did not see this sooner, unfortunately we are closed on Sundays from the morning until evening. We hope you come visit us another time. Sincerely, Brendon Communications Coordinator
0
Votes
Enricho K
August 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from NamibRand-Safaris | Property representative |
Hi, I recommend you email recruitment@wolwedans_com They can guide you through the application process. Typically, they ask for a letter of motivation, a copy of a Namibian ID, an up-to-date CV, testimonial from your... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$20
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Free Wifi
Good for
Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 2 Mozart St | on the corner of Hosea Kutako Drive, Windhoek, Namibia (Formerly Namibia Institute of Culinary Education)
  • Location: Africa  >  Namibia  >  Khomas Region  >  Windhoek
  • Phone Number: +264 61 300 710
  • E-mail
Description
CURRENTLY CLOSED, Reopening mid 2018! In addition to being a commercial restaurant and venue for functions, NICE also serves as the Living Classroom for trainees honing their skills in the culinary arts and food & beverage service. Many years ago, the land that NICE sits on was once a family home for the Bruckners. The family were prominent in the business community and in the mid 1980's started purchasing land near Sossusvlei while the sheep industry began to fall. The idea was the establish a conservation area free of fences to help restore the land. His son, Stephan, utilised the land to establish a commercial business, Wolwedans, which has grown into a successful collection of camps and lodges promoting ecotourism. However, the problem of finding qualified Namibians in the culinary and hospitalisty industry to employ was always present. Therefore, Stephan Bruckner transformed the home in which he grew up in into the Namibian Institute of Culinary Education
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing