We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travelers' Choice
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$12 - $30
CUISINES
International, European, Contemporary
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (797)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveler rating
433
158
37
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
433
158
37
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews risotto ostrich steak samosas pork game meat bread salad ilala lodge wine list vegetarian options food is excellent kudu hotel falls terrace candlelight africa
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 21, 2020

We had an excellent evening in the Palm restaurant, the food, service and atmosphere were all great. A special mention to the brilliant pianist. The food is a little on the expensive side but a good option for special occasions.

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 5, 2020

Absolutely enjoyed dinner and the service! I don't remember the name of our waiter but he was very good!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Masibanda77, Guest Relations Manager at The Palm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2020

Thank you Tendai for the great review and rating. We are happy you had a great Valentines'day dinner.

Reviewed January 24, 2020

Very romantic candlelight dinner in the garden (may we suggest you improve the light on the garden tables, it was a bit difficult to read the menu in the dark!!) But this is a minor matter. The table looked lovely, the food was excellent, so...was the staff, very friendly. Thank you for a very romantic and pleasant anniversary dinner!!More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Masibanda77, Guest Relations Manager at The Palm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2020

Thank you for taking the time to review Ilala Lodge Hotel. We appreciate the feedback as this helps us to keep improving on the high standards expected from our valued guests.

Reviewed January 8, 2020 via mobile

Great atmosphere , especially on the terasse. But watch the bill carefully and rather eat traditional plates like beef and duck - the others are not always good!

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?
Masibanda77, Guest Relations Manager at The Palm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed the Palm Restaurant atmosphere.

Reviewed December 7, 2019

We had a wonderful dinner here while we were staying in Vic Falls. The food and service were excellent. You can hear the falls from the restaurant. They offer indoor and outdoor seating and a wide selection of food on the menu. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Masibanda77, Guest Relations Manager at The Palm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2019

Thank you very much for the great review. We are so glad you had a great dining experience.

Reviewed November 23, 2019

We arrived without a booking and were offered an inside table. We politely said we’d love an outside table and they kindly juggled things around so we could have one. The restaurant is gorgeous and we thoroughly enjoyed the whole evening. We had a couple...of unusual things like stuffed kudu, crocodile and porcini risotto after some other more usual starters. All well presented and delicious. Sitting outside on a beautiful night sipping South African wine was a great final night in Zimbabwe.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
Masibanda77, Guest Relations Manager at The Palm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Thank you very much for the great review of our Palm Restaurant. We are glad you had a great dining experience.

Reviewed November 6, 2019

We stayed at the hotel so we had dinner here once and breakfast each morning. Great food and service

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Masibanda77, Guest Relations Manager at The Palm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2019

Thank you Becker for a great review. We are glad you enjoyed the good food and service.

Reviewed November 4, 2019

I reserved this restaurant above all others for our 30th wedding anniversary - a special occasion and I mentioned this when I made the reservation. When we arrived (a little early) there was no reservation, nothing. OK the restaurant was far from booked with so...many open tables. But no. The person at the front door (one of the management team) was unpleasant. The workers attempted to make things right by putting a table out on their terrace (on the grass, under a tree). That was a no for us, so we opted for an interior table. Once we sat down, we were move to heart another table because the one we were at was reserved (people never showed). We ordered dinner and the food was good. Not great, but good. We accompanied it with some SA wines that were also very good (good value as well). We observed how the management team treated asome guests and not others and this began to get our ire up. We also observed how one of the team welcomed a young couple and Castries their champagne like he was choking a chicken and then left the unopened bottle on a table as if to “warm it up”. When we mentioned that’s this is not traditionally they way champagne is treated there was a big commotion. The “real” manager came by to ask how things were going — and we were honest about our disappointment and how the restaurant let us down (food and wait service was good). The manager wanted to offer us something and in the end comped our dinners — total unexpected and appreciated, but all he could do after the fact. Food good, workers polite and professionals. Some managers good, others the worst. I can’t say I would go back, but I also cannot NOT recommend it.More

Date of visit: November 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 29, 2019

As it was our wedding anniversary we picked the Palm on our last evening. Lovely old colonial style surroundings without being stuffy. Food was excellent - well presented and a good menu. Service was also very good. Plus an elephant appeared to feed at the...edge of the bush by the hotel - an added bonus!More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Masibanda77, Guest Relations Manager at The Palm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2019

Many thanks for the fabulous review. We are glad you had a great dining experience. Many congratulations on the Anniversary and we wish you many more celebrations. We are glad you created some great memories while dining at the Palm Restaurant.

Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

Service was great and staff friendly. View from the restaurant is beautiful giving some extra to the experience.

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Masibanda77, Guest Relations Manager at The Palm Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2019

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are glad you had a great dining experience.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Old Drift Lodge
288 reviews
4.48 miles away
Victoria Falls River Lodge - Zambezi Crescent
624 reviews
5.01 miles away
Victoria Falls Safari Lodge
2,675 reviews
1.61 miles away
Elephant Hills Resort
1,204 reviews
1.40 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Pariah State Victoria Falls
156 reviews
.30 miles away
Wild Horizons Lookout Cafe
1,665 reviews
.39 miles away
Livingstone Room at Victoria Falls Hotel
759 reviews
.32 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Shearwater Victoria Falls Day Tours
9 reviews
.27 miles away
Victoria Falls Snake Park
159 reviews
.08 miles away
Elephant's Walk Shopping and Artist's Village
137 reviews
.10 miles away
Prime Art Gallery
27 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Holly R
January 27, 2019|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from IlalaVictoriaFalls | Property representative |
Hi Holly, The Zambian and Zimbabwean Border is open from 06h00 until 22h00. However, we would suggest leaving adequate time (30mins to 45mins) for the border crossing - it isn't usually busy late at night but rather have... More
0
Votes
vin p
August 19, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from alijane377 | Reviewed this property |
We didn't book and the restaurant wasn't full. Depends what time of year you are going? Disappointing that no one bothers to answer your email.
1
Vote
Mike N
May 17, 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Martin V | Property representative |
3 questions: • Is this a nice place for anniversary dinner? Yes! We can arrange a wonderful table under the stars and on the lawn area for you! • Average cost per person? 3 Courses - $33-$40 depending on your choices. We... More
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing