We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Read more
Updated 09/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 09/04/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
About
Welcome to Thai Kani Restaurant Slipway Beach. Thai Kani opened its doors to the residents of Dar es Salaam in 2013. A family-owned restaurant offering authentic Thai and Japanese cuisine came to life, offering creative dishes and a one-of-a-kind dining experience. It’s warm atmosphere, ocean views, signature cocktails and food all come together to make it one of Tanzania’s highly ranked restaurants. Come join us on a culinary adventure and experience Thai and Japanese flavours on the shores of Dar es Salaam like you have never before. Proudly Tanzanian owned and operated, Thai Kani has introduced the Thai and Japanese culinary cultures to Dar es Salaam through the most important form: food.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Dinner, Lunch
CUISINES
Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Thai
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
68
56
17
5
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
68
56
17
5
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai food flat noodles tuna rice level of spiciness visited twice sea view food was great indian ocean waterfront restaurant slipway sunset spicy
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We decided to have lunch at Thai Kani. We arrived and had our order taken. Sadly I missed my lunch. My wife ordered and had some special request. The food arrived and I have to say, it was delicious. We will go there again.

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed January 12, 2021 via mobile

Decent Asian food! Good service too. But a bit on the pricey side. We were eating by the front of the deck and there were kids asking for money from the street side which was kind of annoying. Otherwise, nice experience.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
thaikani, Owner at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2021

Thank you for your nice review, the kids sneak in to try and get football sponsorships for their local football teams ! We do give them support but they are always looking for more.

Reviewed January 2, 2021 via mobile

Great waterfront seating. Their menu has a variety of delicious food. Their service is excellent. Friendly staff.

Date of visit: January 2021
Helpful?
thaikani, Owner at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2021

Thank you 🙏 And Karibu tena ! 🍾🥂

Reviewed December 19, 2020 via mobile

Very deceiving Specials deal written on the chalkboard outside... makes it look like 3 course meal is 40,000....So after ordering the deal and wondering where the other 2 courses are we were told “Starter is 40,000,Main is 38,000 and desert is 15,000.....Stay away from this...scam restaurant.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?1  
thaikani, Owner at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2021

We feel sad that you feel there was a scam involved in our Special board in the way the pricing may have appeared. We sincerely apologize if you miss-understood the pricing. We look forward to having you return to Thai Kani and at any time...More

Reviewed October 14, 2020

Thai Kani is a nice place to relax with a sea view. Having a drink there and watching the sun go down is such a great feeling. The food is a bit pricey but that's in line with eating at Slipway. During this last visit...was had the tuna (very good), pad thai, a stirfry and pad see ew (had the noodles this time!). From my time in Thailand, I know that they use spoons and not chopsticks. No spoons on the table but it's all good. I liked that you can clarify the level of spiciness for your meals. I also had a gin drink which was very good. Every drink I've had there has been good.Thai Kani is one of those places where it's easy to get people to agree to meet there.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?
miriam g, Owner at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2020

Thank you for taking your time to review us. We appreciate your comments and you will get a spoon next time.😉 🙏🙏

Reviewed October 5, 2020 via mobile

Thai Kani used to.be wonderful when it was in Masaki, quality and service took a hit when they moved to the waterfront. Visited (or tried to) last Saturday night. Stood with my wife waiting at their table for getting seated. There were a number of...free tables... passed numerous times by all the waiters / waitresses who mostly smiled but didn't think we wanted to sit (?). Then apparently the owner came out and spent some time looking around, and at us, but no offer of a seat or getting someone to attend to us. I guess they are making so much money they no longer need to take original regulars. So, as good as the food and service used to be, it isn't what it was (by a long way) so unfortunately I dont think we will.be going there again.More

Date of visit: October 2020
Helpful?2  
miriam g, Owner at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2020

Hi Exitroute, It breaks my heart to read of unsatisfied Custumer’s, it really is not our intention and with these hard times we are trying our best to provide the best service and experience for all our customers, Old and New ! Had I have...More

Reviewed August 29, 2020 via mobile

I hope to come again in thaikhan..god food,good service' eg' FRANCIS 'waiter'💪 padthai, spice tuna crispy rice and stir prowns in thai garlic was so good..

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?1  
miriam g, Owner at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2020

Thank you for your nice review, we appreciate your time to write it and rate our service. I will also convey the praise to Francis as he is one of our best employees 🙏🙏💕💕💐💐🍾🥂🍾🥂

Reviewed June 6, 2020

This restaurant is very odd in the way that it functions. It makes it clear that it prefers foreigners dining at their tables & makes others who aren't of a certain race uncomfortable. Also food & service is horrible.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?1  
miriam g, Front Office Manager at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2020

Dear Tamanda, I am sorry to hear this and to hear that you had a horrible experience at Thai kani, this is very a very sensitive issue and we will investigate your incident. Our policy is to treat all our customers the same with the...More

Reviewed March 9, 2020 via mobile

Visited twice in two days, great curry, great pad Thai, great craft beer and great service. I will return when I am back in town.

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
miriam g, Owner at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2020

Thank you for your review and appreciate your time taken, Karibu tena. 🙏🙏🙏

Reviewed February 11, 2020

I came in this restaurant for the good reviews but after trying it I have been disappointed. Frankly not only disappointed but angry. I came here to eat sushi and sushimi and I ended to have just rice on my dishes. I tried the tuna...signature dish but I received 8 small cubes of fried rice with on top a spicy pink sauce. I asked the waiter where was the tuna and they told me inside the sauce.... not more than a gram of tuna and a "signature " dish of only rice for 30.000 ?! I asked to take away and bring me some fish eventually paying a difference but the young waiter just ran away leaving the dish on the table. Unbelievable. Not a manager. The other person had sashimi but no variety, only red snapper and tuna, 6 small pieces. We spend 132.000 and had nothing in the stomach, we left restaurant and went straight into another. Service only limited to bring dishes , they dont even take away dirty dishes. If you want to eat fish this is certainly not the place where to dine.More

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
thaikani, General Manager at Thai Kani, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2020

Hi there, We are extremely sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at Thai kani. Thank you for taking the time to write this review we appreciate you taking the time to do so, we are constantly looking at ways to improve. We...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Slipway
493 reviews
.07 miles away
Alexander's Hotel
120 reviews
.28 miles away
Sea Cliff Court
59 reviews
.54 miles away
Fig Tree Residences
4 reviews
.69 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Terrace Restaurant
226 reviews
.03 miles away
Zuane
448 reviews
.82 miles away
The Waterfront Sunset Restaurant & Beach Bar
772 reviews
.04 miles away
Cape Town Fish Market
1,132 reviews
.38 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
The Slipway Shopping Centre
189 reviews
.08 miles away
Coco Beach
211 reviews
.98 miles away
Chocolate Mamas-Gourmet Tanzania Chocolate Ltd.
7 reviews
.04 miles away
Travel Partners Safaris
14 reviews
.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
vlo2581
December 15, 2019|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from thaikani | Property representative |
Yes we do. Karibu sana!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thai Kani

Yes, Thai Kani offers takeout services.

Yes, Thai Kani offers delivery services.

Yes, Thai Kani is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Thai Kani is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4