We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Le Foundouk

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
55, Souk Hal Fassi | Kaat Ben Nahid - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
212524378190
Website
Today
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Closed now
All hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 12:00 pm - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

2,298 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,133: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had Dinner here the night before leaving Marrakech ,first had a very nice Cocktail in the downstairs bar arriving at 7pm ,given some lovely snacks with my Gin sour ,excellent Almonds ,salted and smoked and baked cheese pastry bites. Taken upstairs to the Terrace ,it was a warm night but there was a breeze ,lamps were lit and more people... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank pjcambs
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Can't fault anything about this restaurant. Great service, best food we had in Marrakech. Unlike others I thought the price fair for the quality of the experience. The riad is stunning but we couldn't use the roof terrace that night unfortunately. Do ask for the man with the lamp to guide you if your sense of direction is anything other... More 

Helpful?
Thank jinnywilliams1
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

Hi Jinnywilliams1, We want to thank you for your visit and comment. We are happy to know that you have spent a nice time ​in our restaurant. See you soon, The Foundouk team. More 

Portishead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We popped in here mid-afternoon for a drink, after hearing beautiful things about it. The food was pricey but we wanted to take in the atmosphere. The interior is breathtakingly beautiful, but it seemed more set up for dining. I'm not sure they really wanted us there! We drank up and moved on.

Helpful?
Thank MadDinosaur311
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

Hi MadDinosaur311, We want to thank you for your visit and comment. However, we would like to assure you that we are ready to receive cliens for a glass despite the restaurant's establishment because we have a bar area and our sublime terrace with views of the whole Medina. See you soon, The Foundouk team. More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The best meal and experience we have ever had. Beautiful food and service. Very reasonably priced for the level of service and brilliant food. We will go back again someday! Tip: sit on the rooftop terrace. Magical!

Helpful?
Thank GriffithsE
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

Hi GriffithsE, We thank you for your comment and visit at Foundouk. We attach great importance to our client’s opinions and we are glad to read yours. We hope to welcome you back soon. The Foundouk team. More 

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Foundouk is the perfect place if you are looking to relax after a day wondering the souks of the Medina. Book your table on the terrace to enjoy the evening breeze, you won't be disappointed!

Helpful?
Thank Hooks80
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

Hi Hooks80, We want to thank you for your visit and comment. We are happy to know that you have spent a nice time ​in our restaurant. See you soon, The Foundouk team. More 

Auckland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

As we were staying in a Riad very close by we did not have any trouble finding this restaurant. We arrived at about 7.45pm on a Sunday night and were the only ones there. (Over the course of dinner about a dozen other diners were welcomed). It is a vast establishment and utterly beautiful in decor and atmosphere. The soundtrack... More 

Helpful?
Thank suehH1805MT
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

Hi SuehH1805MT, We want to thank you for your visit and comment. We are happy to know that you have spent a nice time ​in our restaurant. See you soon, The Foundouk team. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel and had some decent reviews online, but the service was shocking. Despite the amazing ambiance and atmosphere on the rooftop, the service made the whole experience negative. The waiters just chatted amongst themselves, they were very inattentive. We had to top up our own wine and water despite being seated near the waiter... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kristine P
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

​Hi Kristine P, Thank you for your visit and comment. We regret that you did not have a service that meets your expectations. However, we would like to assure you that we urge our staffs on the importance of our service with : courtesy, smile and kindness. We hope to welcome you back to fully afresh your experience at Foundouk.... More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When you finaly find Le Fondouk, it´s not easy you will enjoy fantastic food in a very nice restaurant. It feels like going 100 years back in time when you enter the restaurant. The service is nice and you must try some of the tangines.

Helpful?
Thank daffy67hernstrom7
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

Hi Daffy67, We want to thank you for your visit and comment. We are happy to know that you have spent a nice time ​in our restaurant. See you soon, The Foundouk team. More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wonderful service and wine offerings, the food was delicious but more expensive than other restaurants in the area! Lovely rooftop!

Helpful?
Thank rp426
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

Hi rp426, Thank you for your comment and visit. We hope to welcome you back soon. The Foundouk team. More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My daughter and I enjoyed a super meal here during our stay in Marrakech. (The owner of the restaurant also owns the beautiful boutique hotel where we stayed. Les Cinq Djellabas.......amazing!!). On arrival, we were escorted upstairs and the beautiful moonlit terrace took our breath away. Beautiful views across Marrakech, candle lit tables, attentive staff and delicious food and drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank anon566
Thomas C, Responsable relations publiques at Le Foundouk, responded to this review

​Hi Anon566, We want to thank you for your visit and comment. We are happy to know that you have spent a nice time ​in our restaurant. See you soon, The Foundouk team. More 

Travelers who viewed Le Foundouk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Foundouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 stars
    Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 stars
Average prices
$22 - $44
Cuisine
French, African, Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Halal
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Reservations, Private Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Tuesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Wednesday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Thursday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Friday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Saturday
12:00 pm - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 55, Souk Hal Fassi | Kaat Ben Nahid - Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
  • Location: Africa  >  Morocco  >  Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region  >  Marrakech
  • Phone Number: 212524378190
Description
Since 2002 Located in the médina near the souks.Historical district. Lunch - tea time - Apéritifs - Diner - Cocktails Morocon & International foods Open from tuesday to sunday from 12 am to 12 pm Roof terrasse with panoramic view on the Marrakech Médina Air conditioned You come with taxis ask "Place du Mokef", walking ask for "Le Musée de Marakech". To "young" guides in the médina you can offer 20 dirhams maximum.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Le Foundouk and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
8 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Le Foundouk staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?