We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
In 2014, Kamal Laftimi and Sebastian de Gzell took over an old carpet store off the famed Rahba Lakdima spice square (places des épices) and, alongside interior designer Romain Meniere, transformed it into “Nomad”. With a strong emphasis on fresh local produce and ample variety for vegetarians, pescetarians, and carnivores alike, the lively restaurant serves simple “Modern Moroccan” cuisine: revisions of traditional local cuisine and international dishes with a Moroccan twist. Spread over 4 floors, with intimate dining rooms and two levels of terraces that offer fantastic views of the surrounding Medina and Atlas mountain range (when visible between November and May), Nomad is perfect for both
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $11
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Moroccan, Mediterranean, Healthy, Middle Eastern, Contemporary
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (6,098)
Filter reviews
3,177 results
Traveler rating
1,536
915
416
201
109
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
1,536
915
416
201
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lamb burger courgette fritters cake tagine ice cream salad juice spice market no alcohol moroccan food le jardin nice view nice restaurant rooftop medina sunset blankets
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

I really don’t get the hype about this place. It felt really basic and at the same time very pretentious. Service was bad and slow, food was mediocre and there are better views in Marrakech. Seriously overrated.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us, We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at our establishment. We highly appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration to improve the quality of our menu. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Booked the restaurant a week before travelling to Marrakech, heard its one of the best on a handful of websites, it was not. Was given a table on the terrace. The chicken dish was not very hot, despite of being served in a tagine, there...were flies on the terrace, and the dish just didnt taste fresh. I ate some portion and left, got fever and upset stomach the following afternoon ☹️ Avoid at all cost or just don’t order the chicken dish.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are deeply sorry for this incident. We began investigating this matter as soon as we received your complaint and we promise to make sure this problem does not happen again. We look forward to receiving you...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

This upmarket place in the Medina area serving modern cuisine with a Moroccan twist is a must visit. The highly rated restaurant is full most of the time, so I recommend taking a reservation. The dishes are delicious. We tried the Gazpacho, Cauliflower and a...dessert. The presentation, taste and service was phenomenal.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy that you had a pleasant experience in our restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excelent experience on decoration, view, service and cuisine. Prices a bit too high with almost only tourists, but I recomend anyway.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy that you had a pleasant experience in our restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Definitely I'can recommend this restaurant on the middle of the old Town nice service wonderful hospitality

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy that you had a pleasant experience in our restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had requested a top terrace table and asked for confirmation of that 6 days in advance. When we arrived we were told that only indoor tables were available and that this was stated on the website when we booked. To me this was not...clear. The inside tables where we were seated were quite close together (too close for comfort). We are vegetarian, my wife got the cauliflower dish (which was nice) and I got the platter (which underwhelmed me). The staff were nice but were run off their feet. I got a sense that this place was really good but has grown too fast and is struggling to cope. The prices are too high in my opinion. Having walked around the souk later we realised there are umpteen lovely rooftop restaurants which looked lovely. Next time I'll go to one of them!More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us, We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at our establishment, but we would like to highlight that we never confirm the rooftop as the table placement depends on the availability on the time of the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found the food very reasonably priced. Buzzing atmosphere. Only disappointment was we didn’t realise there was no alcohol served until we arrived but that wasn’t a huge deal. Friendly staff, good service.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy that you had a pleasant experience in our restaurant. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nomad is easy to find in the souk and the place is nicely designed. The food, however was really disappointing. I had the cauliflower main course and it looked as if it had been roasted a week ago…cold and uninspiring with brown unpleasant stalks. On...a cauliflower pure, it was all too much. The base tasted good, but there was just not enough of it! The lamb burger was very mediocre too. Some of the staff were pleasant but the cashier looked sulky and was not very friendly or welcoming.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us, We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at our establishment. We greatly appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration to improve the quality of our menu and service. We look forward to welcoming...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A smart restaurant in central Marrakesh. Most tables are outside, so pre-booking is essential. The food was well presented and tasty. Service was nice. The only downside to my visit was that we were asked to leave our table after 1hr 30 minutes. We were...a party of 3. This is because a party of 2 wanted to sit at our table, even though they had been offered an alternative table. Felt a little irritated by this particularly as other people had been seated longer than us.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that you had pleasant experience at our restaurant. Your remark is highly appreciated and will be taken into consideration. We hope to receive you back again very soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Try the lamb! Well, I should come back and try more, as everything looks great! Good prices, friendly atmosphere with a roof top. A little downside is the non alcohol police. Fair enough, they have very good juices. Cheers.

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that you had pleasant experience at our restaurant. We hope to receive you back again very soon.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked Nomad back in February with the hope of sitting on the rooftop however when we arrived we were seated inside and the rooftop was full. Admittedly it said indoor on the booking apparently but there is no option to choose rooftop when you...book so even if you book in advance you may be seated inside. Overall the food and service was good at the time although personally I found them a little quick to remove plates and drinks from the table (my boyfriend's finished coke can hadn't even hit the table before they took it away) The reception area/ where you pay the bill is chaos and not well managed. There are too many people standing around, trying to get up the stairs or waiting to pay so at peak times it's very disorganised. Shortly after eating at Nomad I got food poisoning. My boyfriend and I shared the same food all day barring the calamari I ate at Nomad and he wasn't sick at all so it must have been that.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us, We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience at our establishment. We greatly appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration to improve the quality of our services. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not sure why this place is a recommendation. Is it for the lovely views of its terraces? There are many other places that offer that in Marrakesh, but they also provide good food. Their dishes tasted bland, old and poorly cooked. Also do bear in...mind that the place only serves non-alcoholic beverages. That would not have been at all an issue if the food was edible. Let’s say that Nomad has a lot of room for improvement and this is an opportunity.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us, We are sorry that you had an unpleasant experience in our house. We really appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration to improve the quality of our services. We look forward to welcoming you back...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely setting and views and a nice menu however my meal had a large fly cooked into it that I discovered half way through the meal. Upon pointing this out we received an apology (these things happen and we wouldn’t be tricky about it) but...there was no offer to take the cost off our bill or even just the 8% service charge. The food itself was lacking seasoning also. We were looking forward to ordering dessert as they sounded really good but we were put off at this point unfortunately.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience. Your remarks are highly appreciated and will be taken into consideration to improve the quality of our menu and service. We hope to receive you again very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Impossible to express how perfect it is at NOMAD... we were a group of 6 and basically just ordered all the salads and starters to share. Every one was wonderful in it's unique way, light fresh and full of flavour. Decor was stripped back and...bohemian. Waiters warm and helpful. A stylish and international crowd all there to enjoy the incredible food. This is how it's done.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience in our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our guide and were not disappointed! The food was amazing and the staff was super attentive. The man who waited our table gave us some great advice on which food to choose and was very present...without being invasive. I don’t know his name but he made us feel really welcome! Shukran to him.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
laftimigroup, Agence/Consultant at NOMAD, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant experience in our restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Riad Joya
375 reviews
.02 miles away
Riad Dollar Des Sables
209 reviews
.04 miles away
Hotel Riad Rahba
107 reviews
.04 miles away
Riad Zarka
146 reviews
.05 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
L'Mida Marrakech
494 reviews
.07 miles away
Amornakoch restaurant cafe
129 reviews
.12 miles away
Cafe Chez ZaZa
1,134 reviews
.11 miles away
Zeitoun Cafe Jemaa El Fnaa
3,366 reviews
.13 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Dunes Expedition
53 reviews
.12 miles away
Musee de la Musique
277 reviews
.09 miles away
Rahba Kedima Square
524 reviews
.03 miles away
Musee Yves Saint Laurent Marrakech
2,003 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
thetankengine
June 19, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Raúl F | Reviewed this property |
Yes, that wouldn't be a problem.
0
Votes
mostafak707
January 20, 2020|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from BharatShah-60 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you do require a reservation. As it does get very booked up sometimes days in advance
0
Votes
E3593ETjohnc
April 25, 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from sazy2014 | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do. I used Amex (a tricky one in general), so I am quite sure they will accept all other major cards.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about NOMAD

NOMAD is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5