We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Slim's Place is a great spot where local islanders and all island visitors can hang out and enjoy some of the best food and drinks AMI has to offer. We have live music on weekends and stay open for the late night crowd looking o eat, drink or watch a game on one of our 12 TVs, or just enjoy some great times with friends. Slim's Place is operated by the Smargisso family who used to own The Banana Cabana Caribbean Restaurant in Bradenton Beach. We are very excited to have executive chef and partner PJ Smargisso heading up the culinary team at Slim's Place. PJ is one of the best young chefs on AMI. He will always think outside the box and create some awesome food that will leave you wanting to
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $25
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks
CUISINES
Dining bars
FEATURES
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Free off-street parking, Television, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wine and Beer, Non-smoking restaurants, Sports bars, Gift Cards Available
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
213
164
56
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
213
164
56
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lobster mac and cheese tater tots philly cheesesteak wings sandwiches lots of tvs bar atmosphere the wait staff fun place eagles beer island servers joint
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Food was good value for where you are at. We went to here because it was the closest to beach we were at on Anna Maria Island for a weekend trip in May with our grandkids 6 & 9. Food was good and filling and...well priced, but waitress was terrible. Seems my grand daughter and I are not her type of customer, we just needed 2 lunches to go, and a wrap & a kid mac & cheese to eat on site. I understand this is a bar, but a child was hungry and this was the closest place to walk to and grab a bite to eat of soldi food. We sat outside on the picnic table as my grand daughter is just 9, inside was a bar atmosphere. The couple at the other picnic table was from Anna Maria had thier black lab dog that got water and snack and attention while we were sneared at by our snob of a waitress. When my to-go orders were delivered to me, I asked about silverware, and she made a snide remark over her shoulder as she was walking back into the restaurant to get the silverware, "about all I had to do was ask", which I did by the way. I left a smaller tip and chose not to press her about her lousy attitutude. I wanted to be sure about disposable silverware as we had potato salad and coleslaw on our to-go orders. If you have any kids don't bother with this place they should put a huge sign saying we'll feed them but we don't to. Only came here for the food this day and sorry we did, not because the food was bad, because it wasn't it was actually good, but we were treated poorly and I was not going to pitch a fit in front of my grand daughter. We are visitors to Anna Maria, and we come here a few times a year between May - September with our grand kids from Tampa Bay area and we fly in from Michigan, it's a first we really don't feel very welcome to this establishment.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Glad you enjoyed your food and sorry that was your experience with my server. That being said you get what you give and you were not a nice person to her. You can't treat a person the way you did and expect them to be...More

Reviewed May 22, 2022

Popular sports bar with good food, friendly staff and a good atmosphere. There was a slight problem when our food order went missing but the server gave us complimentary drinks and ensured our food then came as quickly as possible.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed April 22, 2022 via mobile

Had the worst experience at Slims of any establishment I have ever been to. We were there for a total of five minutes and immediately left because the waitress was RUDE, curt and unwelcoming. I would never recommend this place to anyone looking for a...welcoming place to simply have a drink with friends.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2022

Sorry about your experience with one of our servers. I appreciate the feedback but it's hard to fix the issue without specifics...a time and day would have been helpful. I will be addressing this with all my servers immediately.

Reviewed April 14, 2022 via mobile

Came here last afternoon for a family meal. The wait staff were very friendly and attentive. Nothing was too much trouble. Nice calm atmosphere and lovely vibe to the place. Food came promptly and was super. We had a mix of starters including the tater...tots which r fab and the pork sliders were super. Burgers cooked to perfection and very tasty. Chocolate cake was lovely too. No trouble ordering more drinks etc and staff super. We definitely shall be back. Thanks slims!!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed April 1, 2022

Came in around 9pm for a drink. One of the bartenders was rude and disrespectful, treating us like we upset her by coming in at all. One of us ordered a vodka & sprite. She then told us in a very demeaning way “honey it’s...only beer and wine.” Which would be fine but as she served the person next to us, she took the time to explain to them they also had High Noon and White Claw. Most people do not consider hard seltzers, beer or wine. They are malt beverages. The all Philly decor was cool and they had a lot of TV screens playing different sports games. But it was hard to look past the very first impression the bartender provided. The place wasn’t even busy, had she taken a second of her time to treat us respectfully I would of rated this cute bar 5 stars. It’s unfortunate how one little thing upsets your whole view of the place.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2022

Sorry about your experience with one of my staff. This time of year can be very stressful on island employees. I have discussed this work them and we will try and be better in thefuture

Reviewed March 15, 2022

Visited first night in town. Really great, not too spendy. i highly recommend the burgers... Was surprised to get in quick our first night.

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed February 15, 2022 via mobile

Came here strictly for takeout on Super Bowl Sunday. We were amazed how crowded it actually was people seem to be really enjoying themselves having a great time and the food smelled great so we knew we made the right choice we got some wings...and some sliders to go. The sliders were really really good especially were tasty while we watch the game. The wings were only fair. I certainly had better. And my better half frankly didn’t enjoy them at all . I would say the place is worth a try go ahead give it a shot we did!More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2022

Thanks for giving us a try and ordering takeout our food is much better straight from the kitchen as is most restaurants stop back sometime and dine in you'll see what I'm talking about

Reviewed January 20, 2022 via mobile

We were down for 2 weeks, and ate here 3 times. Great place to watch the games. Multiple tvs, and can get loud when games on. Great Philly Cheesesteak sandwiches. Great crew working.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2022

Thanks come see us again when you visit

Reviewed January 17, 2022 via mobile

I already wrote a huge review on Trip Advisor this morning! Check it out! Very bad experience yesterday and will NEVER step foot near Slims Place ever again! We have been there many times prior enjoying the Eagles games. But we were treated like criminals...by the owner!! The food is great and the waitresses are super efficient and friendly! But the owner needs a class in customer service! But again, he is from Philadelphia- need I say more ? ( They tend to be a bit rowdy! ) I love my Eagles, but never would behave or treat patrons (who have been very good customers) the way he did! Slims place will not receive another $ from us. And I will make sure I tell everyone I know!!More

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?2  
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2022

You were made aware of the situation multiple times. You were being rrude to other customers and asked multiple times to stop or move to a different spot. I did not want to ask you to leave but you left me no choice but to...More

Reviewed January 5, 2022

We had the Philly steak sandwich with tots. Very good. Be sure to get the wiz! Great service! Good local beers but what are you doing not getting a Yeungling?

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2022

We have yuengling on draft along with it's hershey porter...not sure why you said that...glad you enjoyed the Philly

Reviewed December 30, 2021

Stopped into the restaurant for dinner with my family . We had three different dishes and a shared appetizer. Each us enjoyed our meals. The service was quick , friendly and efficient. I will visit this restaurant again .

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed December 3, 2021

Had an order of wings tonight. I'm sorry but $15.00 for 8 wings is too much. They were tasty but I didn't even get full...8 wings and no sides...still hungry. All their prices have gone way up this past year. Used to be a good...value but not anymore. We used to love Slims and considered ourselves regulars,,,but Slim seems to be taking advantage of us. Oh well. Lots of other restaurants near by...More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Chris S, Owner at Slim's Place, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2021

Believe me I wish or prices could be lower but the cost of doing business has gone up across the board this last year. I hope you can understand as I an sure you notice how much more your spending for groceries, gas, insurance, taxes,...More

Reviewed November 11, 2021

My husband and I both had the Philly cheesesteak and it was amazing! I had the mac n cheese and he had the potato salad both were very good. The servers are the best on the island.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed November 10, 2021 via mobile

My family and I stopped here for lunch on a whim after a Segway tour. Fun place! I love that it’s a sports bar and is very clean and inviting. Doors were open so we could enjoy the beautiful weather. Our server was very attentive...and kind. Lobster Mac and cheese was wonderful. My teen boys got an Italian hoagie and burger. Hubby got the steak and cheese. All very good. Beer was nice and cold. You can tell it’s a family owned place by the vibe. The owner welcomed the beer delivery guy like they were friends! We will go back!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 24, 2021

Went for the burgers, my wife had the cheese burger and I had the Slim special! HUGE! Well prepared, juicy and nearly impossible to take a bite out of they're that big!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Sunrise Garden Resort
910 reviews
.43 miles away
HALEY’S COUPLES RETREAT
431 reviews
.54 miles away
Sea Isle Motel
36 reviews
.83 miles away
Bali Hai Beach Resort
219 reviews
1.00 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hometown Desserts
193 reviews
.43 miles away
Ginny's and Jane E's Cafe and Coastal Store
1,763 reviews
.08 miles away
The Donut Experiment
1,503 reviews
.24 miles away
Manatee Marina
19 reviews
.51 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Anna Maria Island Historical Museum
151 reviews
.31 miles away
Anna Maria Historic Green Village
38 reviews
.41 miles away
Island Players Community Theatre
38 reviews
.21 miles away
Island Yoga Space
12 reviews
.08 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ChefGaetanoC
January 2, 2021|
Answer
Response from Grandma118 | Reviewed this property |
I just saw this question. I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to ignore you. I don’t know the answer tho.
0
Votes
traf2019
January 5, 2020|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Lilly0802 | Reviewed this property |
It's a sports bar..probably..but there are lots of other places to go. Gulf Drive Cafe has as many tv's and right on the beach....
0
Votes
375krissim
March 14, 2017|
Answer
Response from Chris S | Property representative |
We are very family friendly...come check is out
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Slim's Place

Yes, Slim's Place offers takeout services.

Slim's Place is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4