We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Founding Farmers

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
1924 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3607 (20th St. / Pennsylvania Ave. (Foggy Bottom))
+1 202-822-8783
Today
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Mon 7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tue - Thu 7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Fri 7:00 am - 12:00 am
Sat 9:00 am - 12:00 am
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

4,894 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 4,729: English reviews
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

The atmosphere is lovely. It is a large space with tons of seating. Food was underwhelming, I had a chicken sandwich that was very dry and unappealing.

Helpful?
Thank Hilary S
Level Contributor
162 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We came here with very high expectations and they were met. Had the fried green tomatoes, deviled eggs and bacon lollipops. All were excellent. Entrees were wonderful (grits, veggie loaf and goat cheese ravioli). The best part was the waitress. She was friendly and very attentive. Cheers!!

Helpful?
Thank Nevin H
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Hi Nevin, Thank you for taking the time to write- it makes me so happy to read about your recent trip to Founding Farmers. Part of what makes my job so rewarding is reading your great accounts of delicious food and excellent service. Thanks for sharing! We look forward to having you back soon and thank you for the kind... More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my third time visiting Founding Farmers. And, it still doesn't disappoint. I came here attempting to have breakfast, but just missed it as the stop serving it at 11. I stayed anyway and enjoyed some great food. My highlights and recommendations are... the bacon pops. (Bacon on a stick with brown sugar) the beignets were the best I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Hi Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback. I am thrilled to read how much you enjoy your trips to Founding Farmers! I’m so glad we were able to give you a memorable experience. Attentive service and delicious food is exactly what we are going for, so mission accomplished. We can’t wait to have... More 

California
Level Contributor
191 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very friendly. 15 min wait on a Friday morning. Totally worth it. Food was great...lots of choices, lots of flavor. Would go back for sure! Coffee was excellent.

Helpful?
Thank bl1416
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Hi There, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback. I am thrilled about your recent dining experience at Founding Farmers! We want you to count on us to deliver you fresh, flavorful food every time you eat with us and based on your review, it sounds like we have accomplished our goal. We can't wait... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

This review is for breakfast. I like Founding Farmers for breakfast...the food is great and the ambience is lively. You really can't go wrong for breakfast or brunch. However, I don't think it's all that memorable or special. It's just one of dozens of solid restaurants for breakfast. I would not wait in line to eat here (you often need... More 

Helpful?
Thank Allen T
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Hi Allen, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback. While we definitely want to be dependable, we also want to blow you away with flavorful food! I am so glad you enjoyed our breakfast. In the future if anything can be improved, please do not hesitate to let us know. We always want to exceed... More 

Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We decided to visit this FF as we concluded a late evening walk from the White House and Lincoln Memorial. We called ahead for a 9pm reservation and arrived early. We were told we would be seated prior to the reservation time yet we continued to see walk-ins seated ahead of us. That aside the chicken and waffles were the... More 

Helpful?
Thank DaveGSU
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Hi Dave Thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback. Delicious, fresh, quality food is exactly what we strive to provide you with and I'm glad we can say mission accomplished! I am sorry to hear about the delayed seating, however. Please know that addressing this issue is really our Managers' TOP priority, and we are... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Its ALWAYS busy and noisy and you need a reservation, but its worth it. The food is great, though not the healthiest. Their signature Fried Green tomatoes are yummy, as is the goat cheese ravioli, but again the chicken is fried. Their burgers, fish, and steaks are great, but with all the food there, you always feel like you over... More 

Helpful?
Thank RoninDC
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Hi Ronin, Thank you for taking the time to write and share your feedback. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your recent meal at Founding Farmers! We want you to count on us to deliver you fresh, flavorful food every time you eat with us and based on your review, it sounds like we have accomplished our goal.... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were excited to try this place after reading the reviews and went for a hot breakfast. The food was awful - tasteless, fast food slapped together. The coffee was also terrible. The only saving grace is the food came out fast. I would give it a miss. Plenty of other options in DC.

Helpful?
Thank beakyonhols
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Hi Beaky- We take great pride in the freshness and high quality of our food, and it sounds like we dropped the ball with the during your visit for breakfast. I definitely want to run a quality check on the dishes mentioned and share your feedback with the culinary team immediately. In the future please do not hesitate to share... More 

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

This restaurant is one of our top choices for a colleagues lunch meeting, is close to our office in Downtown DC and has a very good ambiance and nice variety, the prices are Ok

Helpful?
Thank Adriana H
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Hi Adriana, Thanks for taking the time to share your experience- I’m so happy to read how much you enjoyed your recent meal at Founding Farmers. Providing you with the total package- delicious food, excellent service and comfortable atmosphere- is exactly what we strive for. I’m delighted this matches your review! We look forward to having back again soon. Cheers,... More 

Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Really disapointing. Had a salad that was ok, but didn't look so good, and I paid too much for it. Yesterday I went to Farmers and Distillers near Chinatown and it was much better. The only good thing is that they have free wifi.

Helpful?
Thank 344Marcela
Julie S, Guest Relations Manager at Founding Farmers, responded to this review

Dear Marcela, Thank you for taking the time to write and review our restaurant. I am DEEPLY sorry to read about your recent disappointing trip to Founding Farmers. Please know that poorly prepared food and subpar service are NOT hallmarks of our restaurant and I’m so sorry for what you experienced. We take great pride in both the attentiveness of... More 

Travelers who viewed Founding Farmers also viewed

 

Been to Founding Farmers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
$15 - $50
Cuisine
American, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
Good for
Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
9:00 am - 10:00 pm
Monday
7:00 am - 10:00 pm
Tuesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Wednesday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Thursday
7:00 am - 11:00 pm
Friday
7:00 am - 12:00 am
Saturday
9:00 am - 12:00 am
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1924 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20006-3607
    (20th St. / Pennsylvania Ave. (Foggy Bottom))
  • Public Transportation: There are two Metro stops within 3 blocks of the restaurant, Orange/Blue lines at Farragut West or Foggy Bottom/GWU. The red DC Circulator bus Georgetown/Union Station line stops on Pennsylvania Ave. at 21st street, as well as on K Street and on 19th, all just one block away.
  • Location: United States  >  District of Columbia (DC)  >  Washington DC>  > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
  • Neighborhood: Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
  • Phone Number: +1 202-822-8783
Description
Founding Farmers, the Greenest Restaurant in DC, is owned by the more than 40,000 family farmers of the NDFU, serving American inspired real food and drink with an emphasis and focus on cooking from scratch. While our restaurant is supplied by hundreds of family farms everywhere, that doesn't mean we know every farm, and that doesn't mean we never have to buy product from the traditional (corporate) supply chain, but it does mean we're working hard to direct our purchasing dollars where it aligns with our values. We're serving the best food we can, made from scratch in our kitchens every day. Our innovative, American dishes are made primarily with pure ingredients honoring the farmers and their hard-earned bounty.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Founding Farmers and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Founding Farmers staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?