We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Joe's Fish Shack

42 Mews Rd | Fishing Boat Harbour, WA 6160, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
+61 8 9336 7161
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good40%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible8%
Travelers talk about
“seafood” (60 reviews)
“chilli mussels” (35 reviews)
“caesar salad” (6 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Australian, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
42 Mews Rd | Fishing Boat Harbour, WA 6160, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A group of us went a had a nice meal .. staff attentive...food good no complaints would recommend you attend

Thank david o
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi david o, Thank you for your review & recommendation of our restaurant, we hope to see you & the rest of your group again soon. Beest Regards, JFS Team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had 2 seafood platers and the seafood chowder. Platers were ok but chowder left much to be desired. Very little flavor & too 'gluggy'. Espresso martini was far too sweet - this, we sent back. It's not a pub, so stick to bottled drinks. Stuffed...More

Thank Louise R
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi Louise R, We are sorry you didn't enjoy your Seafood Chowder, we have been using the same recipe for many years & is a popular choice for guests. We would like to follow this through with our staff & it would be great to...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We went there on a Sunday afternoon and found the place very relaxing, great view, good food and excellent service. Thank you.

Thank Maristons
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Maristons, Thank you for your review & rating of our restaurant. Our staff work very hard to make every guest visitor to Joe’s an enjoyable & memorable experience & they appreciate your comments. Best Regards, JFS Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A group of 15 family members had dinner, 5 of them where children. The service was excellent. Some had the seafood platter and it was so large they couldn’t finish it but gave it a good try. The Chilli Mussels where fantastic and thoroughly enjoyed....More

Thank Lee C
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Lee C, Thank you for your review of our restaurant, we are glad your family had an enjoyable night, Thank you for your comments about the chilli mussels, barramundi & the service & for choosing Joe’s for you family gathering. We hope to see...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A nice place to go if you want upmarket fish and chips.We had a nice position by the window which needed partial screening because of the sun. My daughter had the sea food chowder,we all had a taste or more, absolutely delicious. As our visit...More

Thank Ineedtoexperienceit
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ineedtoexperienceit, Thank you for your review of our restaurant, Your comments are appreciated. May I suggest a return visit next time you are in Fremantle to clear those blurrs. Best Regards JFS Team

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A friend and i caught up for dinner... shared the seafood platter. Within 4 hours we saw it again and again. Eat with caution. Raised with the restaurant. They said we will look into it. Attitude towards food health and safety is poor at best....More

Thank Losttheplot1
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Losttheplot1, We did call back on Wednesday & left a message on the number that was left with our Manager, I would really appreciate the opportunity to speak with you could you please provide the number again or alternatively contact me on 0433 539...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Six of us, travelling together, ate here twice in a four night local stay and we loved the place. It has great sea and marina views, interesting décor, massive meals and plenty of food choices ... and it's not all fish. Certainly the fish and...More

Thank RichPWade
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi RichPWade, We thank you & travelling friends for choosing Joe's in the first place & then returning in such a short space of time. We will keep mushy peas on our list for consideration, probably a better option for Winter! We hope you enjoyed...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I loved the chilli mussels!!!! Hubby's snapper too was delicious. Loved the feel, the people and the food..... Highly recommended!!!More

Thank Fatty Z
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Fatty Z, Our chilli mussels are a bit of a speciality for us so is good to know they hit the spot for you, our snapper is fresh wild caught of the coast of WA, one of our favourite fishes. Thank you for your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose to eat here for a somewhat early dinner as we had just arrived form the UK. The service was great and as mentioned by others the seafood platter was very generous, it would have been fine for the 2 of us! It was...More

Thank Simon T
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Simon T, It's good to hear you enjoyed our Seafood Platter, we believe this choice showcases our fresh local seafood, Also good to know our team looked after & the weather was a bit warmer than the UK for you. Thank you for your...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered half a cray salad and chips each Crab cooked well and nice accompanying sauce. Generous amount of salad. Quick service as well. Would go againMore

Thank Neil O
des t, General Manager at Joe's Fish Shack, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Neil O, Thank you for your review & rating of our restaurant. Our team is glad you enjoyed your crayfish which is caught locally in waters just off of Fremantle & brought to Joe's alive so you can be sure it is fresh. We...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 hotels in Fremantle
Esplanade Hotel Fremantle - by Rydges
1,739 reviews
.18 miles away
Be. Fremantle
275 reviews
.27 miles away
Hougoumont Hotel Fremantle
415 reviews
.29 miles away
Quality Suites Fremantle
224 reviews
.30 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Moore & Moore Cafe
441 reviews
.19 miles away
Little Creatures
2,597 reviews
.06 miles away
Bread in Common
980 reviews
.21 miles away
CHAR CHAR RESTAURANT + BAR
709 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Shipwreck Galleries
791 reviews
.12 miles away
Little Creatures
730 reviews
.06 miles away
Bucket List Diver
24 reviews
.24 miles away
Fremantle Fishing Boat Harbour
629 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Joe's Fish Shack staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
$88
Cuisine
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Scenic view, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 42 Mews Rd | Fishing Boat Harbour, WA 6160, Fremantle, Western Australia 6160, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Western Australia  >  Greater Perth  >  Fremantle
  • Phone Number: +61 8 9336 7161
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing