We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night
CUISINES
Bar, Eastern European, Central European
FEATURES
Takeout, Parking Available, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Street Parking, Television, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
48
37
22
9
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
48
37
22
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews potatoes salad pork bread basket soups tongue ham fries interesting decor on tap no frills tasty food thank you very much beer waitress litre block
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed August 10, 2020

Loved all about it. Great interior with so much of old interesting memorabilia.Felt a bit like museum.Glad I could show children old stuff from my grandparent's time.Enjoyed all food very much too.Quite simple but good quality and nicely cooked.Shame didn't ask our waitress name.She was...wonderful!Thank you very much!Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 17, 2020 via mobile

We're planning to come again. The menu has excellent choices for everybody. Light house beer was tasty. The fried tongue was great.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 11, 2020

very good and tasty food, beer :) lovely atmosphere. Fast food delivery. The best place in the city!

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed July 6, 2020 via mobile

My husband had a dish from the menu and I had special offer of the day.Mine was 3 EUR,and his 10 EUR,but we got the same.It was really strange and disappointing.

Date of visit: July 2020
Helpful?
C4166YV_, Владелец at Gubernators, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2020

It is strange that you did not ask the waiter or the administrator for clarification. And how to believe it?

Reviewed February 8, 2020 via mobile

Sashlik was like a gum and dont take anything in cheese or with cheese, because it is very fat. Pork ribs were good. Would not come back.

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

We have been in Daugavpils for a couple of days and our lunch at the Gubernators on a Sunday is the best meal we have had in Daugavpils so far. Very close to the city center. The restaurant is downstairs in a building less than...a block away from the Main Building of the Daugavpils University. Walk down the stairs into the restaurant filled with antiques at least 50 years old. The food menu is extensive. Good selection of beers, including their own. Service was good. Bread basket with assorted compound butters was inviting. Food was plated nicely and seasoned well. Portion size was more than adequate. If we were staying in Daugavpils longer, we would definitely have a meal there again.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed October 23, 2019 via mobile

Found this restaurant following reviewing Tripadvisor. No kids menu. Interesting decor. Pleasant staff. Enjoyed the meal but was pricey for the location. 40 euros. 4 soft drinks. 2 children who shared a meal. Two adult mains and just one starter. Would visit again if only...because there is limited places to eat in this town. If you do not like your food covered in sauces and pepper then ask for plain or put on the side. Car park but not exclusive for the restaurant.More

Date of visit: October 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed September 3, 2019

After wandering around central Daugavpils at 21:30 for around 20 minutes looking for somewhere to eat, only to discover that everywhere was either closed or closing despite the early hour, we were just beginning to give up. I then found this place listed on TripAdvisor,...and we decided to walk down, and if it was closed, we would accept defeat and go get a Hesburger or Cili Pica before they closed too. Fortunately, when we reached the stairwell down into the restaurant, and asked the waitress downstairs if the kitchen was still open, she responded positively and showed us to a table. There were maybe two other occupied tables, but it was a Monday night. The interior decoration and underground scenic nature reminded me immediately of the well-regarded Folkklubs Ala Pagrabs in Riga, so we were hopeful that the food and beer would also be of good quality. The menu size was decent, and we both quickly found dishes that we wanted to try, which was good as our order was taken relatively fast too. Though, it struck me as weird that the menu was in Latvian, English, and French - no Latgalian or Russian to be seen. After ordering, we were brought a bread basket with a few butters; the waitress neglected to explain to us which butter was which, and we were left guessing, however. They had a decent beer selection, but unfortunately only one beer on tap - which was more expensive; available either unfiltered, light, or dark. I ordered unfiltered, which the menu had the price listed at as 1 litre. I was brought a 0.5l glass of it, which was confusing after I ordered 1litre, but fortunately at the end we were charged only for the 0.5l instead of the full litre. The food was brought after a normal waiting period after ordering, so at least seemed to be made fresh instead of simply being heated. My pork chop with brie was delicious: a good amount of cheese, with the side of potatoes in cheese sauce also really tasty, though a bit more cheese to cream in the sauce ratio would not go amiss. My girlfriend's chicken in shrimp sauce was also really really good, though she regretted ordering roast potatoes instead of the cheesy ones that I had taken. The food presentation was basic and simple; the place is simple Latvian, no-frills, hearty eating. The side vegetables cost extra and weren't included with the meal, which always strikes me as a little stingy in a restaurant, though also explained the even stingier salad portion here. In fact, the salad simply looked weird on the plate given how small it was. Still, the restaurant experience at Gubernators, despite some friends who used to live in Daugavpils later telling us we should have gone elsewhere, was a solid 4/5. I would happily return.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?
Алексей Н, Владелец at Gubernators, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Thank you for choosing our restaurant for your dinner! We also have a menu in Russian. It is printed on the same sheet, together with a menu in Latvian. It's amazing that you did not notice it. Thank you for your opinion and appreciation. Respectfully!

Reviewed August 16, 2019 via mobile

Typical dishes but not very tasty. The fish had a strange taste and the stew had too much garlic. The soups were good. Cute furniture and atmosphere.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
Reviewed August 12, 2019 via mobile

The place is in a cave downstairs and decor is cozy and quaint. Good service. Plenty of menu options to choose from. We ate here both nights we were in Daugavpils so we obviously liked it. Try the molten chocolate cake with a scoop of...ice cream:)More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Verina
5 reviews
.20 miles away
Park Hotel Latgola
202 reviews
.24 miles away
HomeLike Hotel
62 reviews
.34 miles away
Biplan Hotel
109 reviews
.58 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Cafe Imbir'
40 reviews
.27 miles away
Sokoladna
74 reviews
.21 miles away
Art HUB
144 reviews
.41 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Saints Boris and Gleb Cathedral
50 reviews
.87 miles away
Latgale Zoological Garden
52 reviews
.45 miles away
Dubrovin Park
33 reviews
.16 miles away
Shmakovka Museum
22 reviews
.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Gubernators staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing