We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Butelli Restaurant

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2016 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$10 - $34
CUISINES
Italian, Mediterranean, European
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
50
13
3
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
50
13
3
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza old town tourist trap estonian food dessert
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2019

Great restaurant with a wide variety of dishes. We were really satisfied by our lunch and we definitely recommend!

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank averyanderson
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

Looked and tasted like microwaved lasagna and tastless greasy pizza, far from authentic as advertised. Nice staff though.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank 252kitteh
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

Before any remarks made. Yes it is not Estonian food. The selection of beer is absolutely fantastic and as can be seen by the picture, the pizza was phenomenal. Perhaps one of the best pizzas I’ve ever had. One of the co-owners is always present...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Martin-GoEs
Reviewed May 21, 2018

I came here with my friends seeing the high rate on this website, but we got surprisingly disappointed by our experience. We sat outside, it was a beautiful sunny day and the old town was quite full of tourists. We didn't recognize the waiters at...More

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Giulia C
Fausto B, Direttore at Butelli Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

I'm sorry for your disappoint on your experience, but I have to tell you that in the front terrace, the service is run by the hotel staff and not the restaurant employees. So the problems that you had are due to the bad hotel service....More

Reviewed September 25, 2017

Usually restaurants near Raekoja Plats(Old Town's Main Square) are just overpriced tourist traps, but not Butelli. Few steps down from street level and you end up in this cozy, romantic cellar restaurant. It was a quiet night, so we got real personal and friendly service....More

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Halkidis
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

My visit did not help my diet. The scallops entree was delicious especially the sauce and onions.Relatively small but incredibly tasty. Next I had the gnocchi with cherry tomatoes. Delightful but I should have ordered a half portion. I followed this up with the lamb...More

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank WHISKASyKANGOU
Reviewed August 22, 2017

We took a break from Estonian cuisine while visiting Tallinn and treated ourselves to a delightful Italian meal. We wanted fish and loved the skate (oven roasted on a tasty mound of potatoes and greens) and the cacciucco (Tuscan preparation using Baltic fish). The restaurant...More

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank S K
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Italian restaurant in an old salt cellar in the old center of Tallinn. Excellent food and personalized service, including modifying the recipe. Owner is from Liguria, but has migrated to Tallinn.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank travelerstoo
Fausto B, Proprietario at Butelli Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2017

I wish to thank you for your nice words and your appreciation of our work. The only thing i have to correct in your revue is that we are from TUSCANY and not from Liguria.

Reviewed July 20, 2017

This is a cosy restaurant in the basement area of the Merchant's House Hotel. We went there because it was raining and we didn't fancy roaming around Tallinn looking for somewhere we fancied. We were very pleasantly surprised by the fresh, good quality food and...More

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank jend184
Reviewed June 11, 2017

Since my last name is "Buetell" I had to stop. No regrets here. The service was very friendly, the atmosphere was "old world" charm, and the food completely outstanding. This resturant was a high point for my visit to Estonia.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank Goodness4you
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 87 nearby hotels
Merchant's House Hotel
815 reviews
.02 miles away
St. Petersbourg Hotel
1,085 reviews
.03 miles away
Kinga Apartments
7 reviews
.04 miles away
St Olav Hotel
1,067 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,194 nearby restaurants
Rataskaevu16
6,373 reviews
.04 miles away
Vegan Restoran V
1,484 reviews
.04 miles away
Tabula Rasa Tallinn
197 reviews
.04 miles away
Von Krahli Aed
2,514 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 618 nearby attractions
Tallinn Museum of Orders of Knighthood
125 reviews
.07 miles away
Tallinn Legends
332 reviews
.04 miles away
Rataskaevu Street
196 reviews
.04 miles away
Tallinn Tourist Information Centre
61 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Butelli Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing