We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Restoran Moon

Claimed

Ratings and reviews

Certificate of Excellence2015 - 2018 Winner
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Location and contact

About
Now already a seven years ago head chefs Roman and Igor decided to quit their careers pursuing high end gastronomy goals and to go back to their culinary roots. Thus Moon was born. We try to be as simple and down to earth as possible, sometimes it seems that it might be a bigger challenge than making gourmet food, as all three of us have city backgrounds and simple products demand much more attention to be able to shine. Simple, honest, sincere, respectful, local, sustainable, Nordic – these are our food mantras we want to convey to you on the plates at the hidden corner of wooden Kalamaja suburb.
PRICE RANGE
$5 - $23
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
European, Russian, Balti, Eastern European
FEATURES
Delivery, Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Reviews (905)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveler rating
377
149
26
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
377
149
26
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken kiev blinis napoleon cake pelmeni potato puree dumplings rabbit white fish sorbet pie bread ice cream salad steak cakes russian cuisine old town
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 565 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

We were really looking forward to visiting Moon, as my husband loves Russian food. Unfortunately, our experience did not live up to our expectations. My fish was absolutely raw, I could not eat any of it. Instead of Borsch my husband was given some red...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank voyagecat1
Reviewed 4 days ago

This highly-recommended restaurant - though a little out of town and not easy to find - was worth the effort. Happily it was on the way from the Harbour Museum to Pikk Street which was next on our itinerary - and timing for lunch was...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank TerryParad
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear TerryParad! Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience with us! We are indeed a little bit hard to find but happy that you did! Nice to hear that you enjoyed our attentive staff and food. Lard is very popular "zakuska" in Russian...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We tried to get to this restaurant years ago on a previous trip to Tallin and are so glad this time around we're able to eat there. The restaurant in itself, the food and the service were great. Everything on our plates was just tasty,...More

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank AulMith
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear AulMith! We are so glad to hear that you were able to visit us this time and your experience was enjoyable. Your feedback is music to our ears. Our staff is delighted about your review. Know we also have smile on our faces :)....More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at a hotel nearby. Arrived before check in time. We decided to have lunch near the hotel. My friend knew Moon from past and suggested we go there. So glad we did. Nice place, decent price, very friendly service and excellent food. Traditional Russian...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank jonin747
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jonin747! Thank you very much for your kind words! We are happy that you enjoyed our food and friendly staff! Hope to see you back in the future!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was right round the corner from where we were staying on the edge of the old town, quite close to Fat Margaret's Tower. It was snowing when we arrived and, at 9pm on a Monday, we we the only customers. The service was therefore...More

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank MarkW55
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear MarkW55! Thank you very much for your kind words! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Reviewed February 5, 2019

Close to the centre of the city, one cannot pick a much better place than Moon: especially if its snowing outside and you just want a relaxed place that offers good food and warmth. Moon does that: a great relaxed atmosphere with wholesome, imaginative food...More

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank RaymondB
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2019

Dear RaymondB! We appreciate your kind words. It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our restaurant.

Reviewed February 3, 2019 via mobile

Visited Tallinn overnight with my best friend. I selected this restaurant based on many praising reviews, even the location was quite far away from old town. The atmosphere was ”ok”, profiling itself being ”modern russian” restaurant. A lot could be done to catch more Russian...More

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank liisal961
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2019

Dear liisal961! Thank you for taking time and sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your thoughts about our restaurant! We are very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us!

Reviewed January 24, 2019 via mobile

There's a cosy restaurant for a group of friends to meet, within walking distance from old city centre. Back again. They never let you down. A good light choice of starters, well presented and tasty main. Their lamb is best. But nothing beats Moon's version...More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank erikak683
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Dear Erika K! Thank you very much for your kind words! We appreciate them and are very glad that you have had great time and food with friends several times in our restaurant! Hope to see you back in future!

Reviewed January 20, 2019 via mobile

Visit to the Moon is complete experience once you open the door. Getting there by foot may present slippery challenges in winter... Very friendly staff, imaginative and utterly delicious food, options for all diets, well selected beverages and willingness to find solutions for dietary limitations....More

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank TiMaMez
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Dear TiMaMez! Thank you very much for your kind words, it is very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we could come through with different requests. Also hope to see you soon back in Moon!

Reviewed January 17, 2019 via mobile

We had really great time. Food was perfectly cooked and tasted amazingly! Service was also very good.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Reinagab
Svetlana J, Public Relations Manager at Restoran Moon, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2019

Thank you very much, Reinagab! We appreciate your kind word!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 87 nearby hotels
Hestia Hotel Ilmarine
1,223 reviews
.10 miles away
Rija Old Town Hotel
514 reviews
.20 miles away
The Three Sisters
689 reviews
.21 miles away
Gotthard Residents
395 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,183 nearby restaurants
Leib Restaurant
1,388 reviews
.28 miles away
Cafe Klaus
266 reviews
.06 miles away
Bordoo at Three Sisters
139 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 606 nearby attractions
St. Olaf’s Church
1,484 reviews
.26 miles away
Estonian Maritime Museum
341 reviews
.19 miles away
Fat Margaret (Paks Margareeta)
357 reviews
.18 miles away
The Broken Line Monument
77 reviews
.27 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
mattjA4244DI
July 30, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Jana Z | Property representative |
For weekend defiantly.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing