We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

#1,107 of 2,643 Restaurants in Budapest
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Cafe, European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Drinks
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

District VII / Jewish Quarter
0.5 miles from Great / Central Synagogue (Nagy Zsinagoga)
Reviews (19,701)
Filter reviews
9,894 results
Traveler rating
4,246
2,391
1,520
868
869
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
4,246
2,391
1,520
868
869
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cakes ice cream cheesecake goulash most beautiful cafe in the world beautiful building coffee and cake piano player visiting budapest architecture opulent palace grandeur decadent century lemonade europe
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I really wanted to see the architecture of this venue. It didn’t disappoint - very opulent with echoes of a bygone era. We went mid afternoon, zero queues. Turnover seems quite fast. Some things seemed reasonable - others really inflated. The worst thing was the...lack of air con - really stuffy in there, not somewhere to linger unfortunately. Of course we all want to take photos but the constant preening and posing from the insta crowd was grating after a while…. Service was efficient but nothing more. Rest rooms were woeful 😣 Having said all that - I’d still go again though!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. we’re sorry to hear you’ve had a bad experience. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the team.

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

There was a long queue outside when we arrived. We were advised that the wait would be approximately 1 hour. The cafe offered a fast track entry for an extra €5 per head. We took this option as it was very hot outside and we...didn’t want to wait for an hour. They do not fill every table, so the queue is worse than it ought to be. The building is beautiful, and the classical musicians playing were a lovely traditional touch. However, there were no tablecloths or proper napkins to enhance the traditional ambiance. The staff were not very welcoming. They looked miserable and did not engage with the customers. We paid approximately £60 for 2 coffees and 2 cakes, which were pretty average in quality and flavour. There are numerous taxes and service charges added to every bill which ramps up the cost of all drinks and meals, but you don’t get to see what these will cost you until the bill arrives. Don’t go expecting great food as you will be disappointed. Having said all that, I am pleased I saw the building. If they could only summon up genuine welcoming customer service, the experience would be greatly improved.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry to hear about your experience and that our staff didn’t meet the level of service we strive for. I apologize again for any inconvenience this caused you. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Beautiful ornate cafe which has succumbed into being an overpriced tourist trap. Although we arrived way before 11am we were seated at 11:01am and told breakfast had finished and only desserts and drinks were available. Okay so let’s make the most of the desserts …...I asked for the pancake option but without the cottage cheese … apparently not possible to do! The desserts were good but not amazing. Our female server was miserable and unfriendly. Never asked if we had food allergies or came to check if our food was okay. When the bill came I asked them to split it equally three ways so myself and my two friends could each pay our share by card … a male server said this was not possible and only one person could pay the bill. I then asked for him to do three separate bills so we could each make payment … again not possible. The server said it is stated in the terms of the menu so we had already agreed to pay one bill by one person. I have never heard anything so ridiculous. I advised him that they should be more transparent - we only looked at the desserts not the small print!! We didn’t have this issue with any other place we ate in whilst in Budapest The toilets were dirty and had a terrible smell to them. Overall, very, very disappointing and terrible service. Pull your socks up New York Cafe.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry to hear about your experience and that our staff didn’t meet the level of service we strive for. I apologize again for any inconvenience this caused you. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Glamorous surroundings and lovely pianist but it is overpriced and the waiters don’t give a great service. Unfriendly and even slightly patronising when we politely queried the number of items on our bill. Had nice cocktails but the pasta dish and burgers were below average....Wouldn’t have minded the prices given the surroundings and experience but did expect much better food. So disappointed.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. we’re sorry to hear you’ve had a bad experience. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the team.

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Yes it’s overpriced and a bit of a novelty. However, it’s a wonderful environment, some tasty drinks on the menu! Highly recommend the caramel hot chocolate. Didn’t wait too long to get a table

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your day with us! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Big expectations because it is so famous. Once inside the waiters are not friendly, don’t smile. Floors and toilets dirty. Overpriced for the whole experience. You get the bill and you can only pay cash????

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. we’re sorry to hear you’ve had a bad experience. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the team. regarding the paying, you can also pay by card.

Reviewed 5 days ago

Upon receiving numerous recommendations from friends, I booked a table to celebrate my 40th birthday whilst in Budapest. We were greeted by your friendly hostess however there was clearly an overbooking situation as a table needed to be found for us which shouldn’t have been...the case after making a reservation. A table was eventually found towards the back of the restaurant near the band. The waitress who served us was cold, unfriendly and uninviting. Having worked within hospitality for a number of years I understand the pressures that comes with a busy service however this is no excuse for a poor attitude. We were abruptly handed our menus minus a smile! Our order was table, again abruptly, drinks served and eventually food. At no point were we checked on by her or any member of the team to follow up on our meals or to see if we wanted anything else. Our plates were cleared away before my guest was even able to swallow her last mouthful. Having already been made to feel uncomfortable by the service we declined desert and just asked for the bill which was brought to us by a different waitress. The bill contained 2 service charges - 1 food, 1 drink which we questioned and we were told this was mandatory and at 18% of my bill, it’s only 12.5% at the ritz in London! I am not aware of mandatory service?! From start to finish, it unfortunately appears that the restaurant, whilst within a beautiful setting, does not meet the standards one would expect of a high quality establishment and the quality of the food is not reflected in the cost. Very overpriced!More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry to hear about your experience and that our staff didn’t meet the level of service we strive for. I apologize again for any inconvenience this caused you. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

Looks great from inside and out but the waiters are not friendly at all. We had a drink and some starters it was OK. I awaited much more from a place like thisMore

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your feedback, I’m sorry to hear about your experience and that our staff didn’t meet the level of service we strive for. I apologize again for any inconvenience this caused you. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the...More

Reviewed 6 days ago

New York Cafe sets the standard for upscale dining in the city, offering a perfect blend of culinary artistry, impeccable service, and old-world charm. Whether you're a local or a visitor, a meal at New York Cafe is an experience you won't soon forget.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your day with us! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 6 days ago

Well this place is a must see and it was worth seeing. Firstly the good bits. The place is stunning with great music in the background, the food just cakes and coffee were really good and staff were friendly and efficient. The bad. This place...is starting to be ruined by the amount of people doing Instagram posts and spoiling peoples enjoyment. I watched one who spent 10 minutes walking down the stairs and not happy if anyone else got in the way.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Dear Guest. We really appreciate you sharing your review of our service. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the team.

Reviewed 1 week ago

I have to be very honest, it might have been the best caffè in the world in the past but not now ,decore nice, great music, raspberry and pistachios cake good , coffees cold, staff never smiled,. The gents toilet very dirty and unpleasant. Once...served no one has been back to check if all was good. Over priced for the all experience.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. we continuously work to create good experiences for our customers and we’re sorry to hear that we missed the mark here. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wow! Stunning place. Really beautiful and lived up to expectations. We had a drink and dessert. Nice relaxed atmosphere and experience. Would recommend.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your day with us! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Service was friendly and quick. Atmosphere great Food excellent It was a bit expensive but then budapest was anyway. However no more so than nice restaurants back home. Thoroughly recommend this place. Would definitely go back.

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your day with us! Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Be warned that either a nut or peanut allergy will limit you out of all but 1 dessert choice. The creative menu items seemed to mix new flavors and put nuts where they did. It need to be. We wanted a selection of some of...the traditional Hungarian cakes and pastries. But alas no. Nice live piano music in the evening for entertainment.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. Please know that we will be addressing this review with the team. and sorry for the limitation in the menu. looking forward to seeing to again here.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Altough there are many empty tables, they don't give people good tables and they try to get you sit at tables on the edge. They say it's because of reservations. We waited for an hour, our orders didn't come and no one came to the...other tables either. Finally, when we forced them, they took us to a table in the interior. If there is room, why don't you let people to sit on better tables. Only the place deserves all this fame. Service staff are very cocky and the taste is ordinary.More

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
New Sha, Marketing at New York Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. we’re sorry to hear you’ve had such a bad experience. we understand your concern but unfortunately, as you know the cafe will be so crowded most of the time and our colleagues have to use all of the...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
District VII / Jewish Quarter
District VII is the very heart of Budapest and houses
the city’s Jewish Quarter. Its streets are lively and
colorful, its buildings narrate different histories in
an assortment of architectural styles, and its cafes
and bars are frequented and loved by the enthusiastic
crowds. Grand and magnificent, the striking star of
the district is the Great Synagogue, the largest in
Europe and one of the biggest in the world. Distinctly
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Anantara New York Palace Budapest Hotel
4,744 reviews
.02 miles away
Soho Hotel
1,929 reviews
.07 miles away
NH Collection Budapest City Center
1,020 reviews
.08 miles away
Firstapartments Inn City Center
36 reviews
.09 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Rapaz
180 reviews
.08 miles away
Breakfast Room
161 reviews
.00 miles away
Oishi Sushi Budapest
142 reviews
.07 miles away
Habakuk Bar
56 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
New York Palace
2,446 reviews
.02 miles away
Emily Guide - Day Tours
288 reviews
.01 miles away
Frocssterasz
5 reviews
.02 miles away
TimeTrap
131 reviews
.07 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Twricy H
October 27, 2023|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from V2885JXkevinh | Reviewed this property |
Sorry, but I wouldn't know. We were treated very poorly by the wait staff and will never go back. The servings were small and not any better than anywhere else. The prices were ridiculously expensive considering the poor... More
0
Votes
pomm28
October 1, 2023|
AnswerShow all 21 answers
Response from maverik8386 | Reviewed this property |
From what I gathered from my experience, formal wear is a nice touch but it’s not enforced so jeans and shirt is an excellent option During breakfast/brunch time I saw many people, mostly tourists dressed in shorts and... More
2
Votes
zerobugs
May 30, 2023|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ArnauddeKlerk | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can, There are two line: One for reservations, one for without. Depending on the time of day, the line for without reservations can be quite long. Nice tip if you just want to see the cafe: Enter the hotel located to... More
1
Vote
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

NEW YORK CAFE, Budapest - Erzsebetvaros - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about New York Cafe

New York Cafe is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5