We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

CUISINES
European, Cafe, International, Central European, Hungarian
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Table Service
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
10
5
1
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
10
5
1
5
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 26, 2019

You where sitting on the other side of a beautiful castle, where the small boats and the sun is shining. You would think this would be a great place for a relaxing break from the sights. We ordered an hot chocolate and an doble espresso....The hot-chocolate was tasty, but nothing special. However, the espresso was served cold. I don't know why, but the coffee I ordered was cold! That shouldn't happen. Later, we had to haggle the staff to able to pay for the drinks. We waited and the bill came. We paid just a 100 Forints more and added small coins. Thinking they would return the 100HUF. The waiter didn't, as they thought they deserved it for their services. I would not return here again. Would rather by from one of the people who was selling maize or something in the green pastures of the area. This was disappointing.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2019

Dear Guest! Thank you for your review – it is essential for us to constantly improve by using our guests’ observations. We always try to pay appropriate attention to every order so that our guests could enjoy their stay. We hope that we will be...More

Reviewed September 11, 2019 via mobile

Nice look, but unbelievably unfriendly spanish looking female staff. I'm not sure if you can make the customer feel even more unwelcome. We will not see each other again soon.More

Date of visit: September 2019
Helpful?2  
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2019

Dear Guest First of all, we would like to say thank you for your review – it is essential for us to constantly improve by using our guests’ observations. What is more important, we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We...More

Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

The place is amazing with great views of the lake and the castle. Really good for relaxing and having cold drinks in summer. The service of the staff is horrible. Almost all the staff treated us bad, with cold answers and not kind. They include...the service tip in the bill, perhaps this was one of the reasons. The food not good, burgers and fries were cold, too slow to be served and not a good quality. Prices are high for the quality of the food. Desserts are not bad. The staff, the worst part.More

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?2  
NorbertK1654, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2019

Dear Guest! First of all I would like to thank you for your review and helping us to improve continuously. My name is Norbert Korpás, manager of the restaurant, and I would like to apologize on behalf of my colleagues and myself because this misunderstanding....More

Reviewed August 11, 2019

Very nice bar. Perfect service. Kris was very attentive. Must visit if by heroes square in budapest.

Date of visit: August 2019
Helpful?1  
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2019

Dear Guest, Let me thank you for the kind words and thank you very much for choosing our restaurant. We were glad to read your comment on us. We would be so happy to welcome you back soon. Best regards, Norbert Korpás

Reviewed August 7, 2019

We had a good experience here. The setting near Hero's Square was very nice and the staff was very friendly. We came for lunch and our food came out very quickly. It very touristy, being located right near the hop on/off bus stop, but the...food was still delicious.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2019

Dear Guest, Let me thank you for the kind words and thank you very much for choosing our restaurant. We were glad to read that you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere as well. We really hope you return soon :) Best regards, Norbert Korpás

Reviewed July 24, 2019 via mobile

We had a delicious lunch - sausage, nachos, and drinks - and was given great service courtesy of Danny.

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2019

Dear Our Guest, Thank you for your great review :) We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you return soon! Best regards, Korpás Norbert

Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

Sitting in a nice cozy area right behind the Heroes Square. Beautiful lake and the view of the Museum castle. Excellent service, great Hungarian beer and food. Love our waitress... She is not only beautiful but also very kind and friendly

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2019

Dear James, Thank you for taking time to share your kind review with us! We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant:) We are looking forward to your next visit. Best Regards, Korpás Norbert

Reviewed July 11, 2019

Food wasn’t terrible, but missed off ingredients, assuming because we were tourists that we wouldn’t notice. the whole time we were there the staff kept giving side-eye looks to us, showed no enthusiasm towards serving us and even told us we could sit down until...more people came then we’d have to leave. It was a hot day so we asked if they could fill up our bottle with some tap water, but just said no with no friendly manner or apology for inconvenience. I would not recommend this due to the appalling attitudes of the staff.More

Date of visit: July 2019
Helpful?1  
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2019

Dear Our Guest, Thank you for taking your time and writing your feedback which assists us to serve our guests better. We were reading your message about your visit to our restaurant with regret and astonishment. We always try to pay appropriate attention to special...More

Reviewed May 25, 2019 via mobile

Place was nice and view was great, food and staff were not. The burger I ordered had the consistency of plywood and I’m not entirely convinced it was even meat. Staff didn’t care. I’m sure their other dishes are fine but don’t order the cheeseburger.More

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?2  
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Dear Guacboi, Thank you for your review – it is essential for us to constantly improve by using our guests’ observations. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our service. We will pay attention to this in the future and hope the next...More

Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

Fantasticly good rasperry lemonade and frisbees. Good price. Perfect for lunch. But not possible to get separate bills.

Date of visit: April 2019
Helpful?
NorbertK1654, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Toterasz, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2019

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great review. Happy to read that you enjoyed our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you feel comfortable with us and returning to us in the future. Best Regards, Korpás Norbert

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square
1,030 reviews
.21 miles away
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
1,481 reviews
.31 miles away
Radio Inn
41 reviews
.41 miles away
Smart Hotel Budapest
21 reviews
.63 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Varosliget Cafe & Restaurant
2,840 reviews
.05 miles away
Gundel
2,194 reviews
.19 miles away
La Perle Noire Restaurant and Lounge
644 reviews
.32 miles away
Bagolyvar
755 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Heroes' Square
12,705 reviews
.06 miles away
Vajdahunyad Castle (Vajdahunyadvar)
2,398 reviews
.17 miles away
Anonymus Szobor (Anonymous' Statue)
1,123 reviews
.18 miles away
Museum of Fine Arts Budapest (Szepmuveszeti Muzeum)
439 reviews
.16 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Toterasz staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tóterasz

Tóterasz is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4