We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$6,000 - $12,000
CUISINES
Central European, Hungarian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

District I / Buda
0.1 miles from Halaszbastya
Improve this listing
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveler rating
84
125
60
37
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
84
125
60
37
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews goulash soup chicken cherry strudel cucumber salad pancakes burger matthias church our waiter hungarian food buda bastion
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

The place looks nice, the food wasn’t bad, service wasn’t great… According to internet (TripAdvisor, Google, their own website) the place closes at 10pm. We came in at 8 pm, sat by a table, looked at the menu and started to order… we were immediately...advised that we should order everything now, because the ‘kitchen closes at 8:30pm’. We chose not to order all courses at the same time. I ordered chicken soup and my wife had duck. The food was not bad. It was even tasty. After the soup, I actually asked for a dish of duck for myself. Service was ‘pushy’, as they wanted to leave…. The ‘peak’ came with desert… they suggested a Tiramisu. What we got is not even close, so if you know what Tiramisu is, and you like it… Avoid their version AT ALL COST… We were not happy… the first time became the last time.More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
GaborJuhasz, General Manager at Arany Hordo Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Sir! You write a wrong site, we havn't chicken soup and tiramisu on the menu! Please delete your post. Thanks!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The prices were quite average, if a little overpriced, at £12-£15 for a main but where this restaurant distinguished itself was in its poor and unwelcoming service. The waiters were quite rude and made snide comments when we asked for extra bread and water. When...the time came to pay they tried to charge us a different price to what was on the bill under the guise of a dubious “rounding-up” system and then got angry at us when we asked why the numbers didn’t add up. Altogether I don’t really recommend this place and there are better options for cheaper down the road.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 16, 2022 via mobile

Food: not great, im attaching pics, we ordered very simple dishes, what I ordered was Caesar salad with chicken, what I got was literally salad scraps with one cherry tomato, some very oily chicken and 2 plain toasts. What my friend ordered was traditional goulash,...and she got very watery soup only with some meat, carrot and potatoes, although she likes how the seasoning tasted Service: We made a mistake by coming from the "back" of the outside garden (but it was open and guests were coming by there idk) and we got yelled at by one of the servers, but when we were paying he was nice :) the one who was finally serving us was ok. Wine: WARM, and we got two already poured glasses, I really don't recommend.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 4, 2022

We had lunch here after visiting Buda Castle, and what a disappointment! The service was friendly but slow, and the food was bland. My dish (pasta With tomato, basil, and mozzarella) had no flavor. They did not put any basil or salt on the pasta....The tomato sauce was bland… it was like eating a blank sheet of paper. The dishes we had looked nothing like pictures on their website. Our other dish (grilled chicken with tomatoes and cheese) was also bland… not even salted… Awful… The prices are reasonable, but the food is bad. We can’t recommend this place. Go elsewhere.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 2, 2022 via mobile

Waiter was extremly arrogant. Jamie Oliver’s is about 40 meters far and had professional service, and the place is much better

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 10, 2022 via mobile

The reviews stating the food is bland is just confusing to me. The food has always been flavourful. From the goulash soup to the beef stew, schnitzel (which is my favourite since it’s been added to the menu), chicken paprikas, cucumber salad, and cherry strudel...are all amazing. My husbands side of the family is Hungarian and i know what good Hungarian food tastes like. We have been here MANY times over the years and especially over the last 2 weeks and you can see the difference in service between some. Some people are downright rude to servers and frankly what do you expect??? We are friendly and patient with any server in any restaurant. Everything we have eaten here has been hot, tasty and authentic. The servers are happy to engage in conversation. Please come here with an open mind and happy attitude.More

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 30, 2022

We stopped by around noon, after touring the nearby Hospital in the Rock. We were walking by, it was hot, and we were thirsty. We sat outside, under the covered area at the side of the building. We were treated very well during our short...visit. And the beer was delicious. I would return.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 25, 2022 via mobile

The food we had was very good and tasty. Also, the location is very nice. It might take a little longer to be served, but we saw that it is quite normal situation in every restaurant in Budapest. Overall, we will definitely return here.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 22, 2022 via mobile

No taste at all Its sad to see nice restaurant like this to qerve such poor quality of food. The service wasnt bad

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 12, 2022

We travelled from London to Berlin; then Vienna; Prague and then Budapest. Aranyaka Hardo is in a good location in Buda.Very unfriendly waiter. In a hurry and everything was took much trouble. Average food, nothing special. And to cap it off - a mandatory 13%...service charge. We went to Jamie Oliver’s (50 mtrs down the road) the next day - and had excellent service in a better environment (service charge is not mandatory, but we left over 13%!)More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 4, 2022 via mobile

Great place for lunch or dinner. We have had skewer, burger, steak and some starters. Goat cheese and pate were really tasty. Service very friendly.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 23, 2022 via mobile

We were a bit concerned after reading some negative reviews but decided to give this place a visit for lunch as we were nearby. We were served by friendly attentive staff and food was good . (Goulash in a pot and Beef stew). It wasn’t...the best food we’ve had in Budapest but we were still happy with what we received both in food and service.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 10, 2022

I had a lunch there with my family. The 2 Cesar salads were absolutely awful, full of old gem lettuce pieces, 2 tomatoes, no cucumber and a rather bad salad dressing. On top of it, cold chicken breast pieces and many croutons. The goulash soup...was rather poor as well. 3 pieces of beef swimming in a pool of hot liquid, no potato in it and full of carrott chunks. The service was average. They were friendly however the waiter promised my salad won't have croutons in it (as I cannot eat gluten) yet when he brought it out, my sald was full of croutons. When I complained he said "Oh just remove the unwanted bits from your plate". We were charged almost £30.00 for this rather awful food. Don't go there!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 8, 2022

My friend and I had dinner here, we shared a platter. The food was nice. There was only 1 other table being used, when they left we felt rushed as the were saying the kitchen is going to close so if you want anything else...you need to order now! It was the most expensive meal we had in Budapest, with a big service charge! Although the food was nice it was VERY expensive, not worth the price.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 30, 2022

Paid €40 for a platter to share but it was bland amd cold! We were given free drinks for the poor service but just not worth it. Also 1e% service charge added, which was compensated by the drinks charge, however, not worth our hard earned...40euros at all. Must have been frozen food that was warmed up then some sauce poured over, which was just as bad. Please sort out your menu. Sorry to say I would not recommend at all.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
District I / Buda
The historical center to a city with a multifarious
and intricate past, Buda has some of the most
outstanding buildings in Europe and an enviable
natural landscape with stunning views onto the Danube.
Centered around the Royal Palace, it provides a
glimpse into the golden years of the Austro-Hungarian
empire and the lives led by the aristocracy at the
time. Matthias Church, beside the palace, hosted many
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Burg Hotel
389 reviews
.08 miles away
Hilton Budapest
5,547 reviews
.13 miles away
Milford Suites Budapest
129 reviews
.18 miles away
Pest-Buda - Design Boutique Hotel
380 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Aranybastya Restaurant - Gallery - Cafe
105 reviews
.15 miles away
Alabardos Restaurant
442 reviews
.10 miles away
Ramazuri Bistronomy
626 reviews
.08 miles away
Hunyadi Etterem Restaurant
627 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Faust Wine Cellar
1,074 reviews
.10 miles away
Matthias Church
10,399 reviews
.09 miles away
Statue of St Stephen
1,333 reviews
.08 miles away
The House of Houdini
452 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
shjmd
February 8, 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RosemaryD476 | Reviewed this property |
We were there on a Friday. We did not need to book ahead. We used a Visa card and our bill printed out in Euros.
2
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

ARANY HORDO RESTAURANT, Budapest - Varkerulet - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arany Hordó Restaurant

Arany Hordó Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 3.5