We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews



$5 - $14
Cafe, European, Central European, Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features

Location and contact

0.5 miles from Danube River
Improve this listing
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
More languages
Traveler rating
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiche salad parliament building friendly service parlament smoothies
Selected filters
Updating list...
Reviewed August 16, 2020 via mobile

Nice coffee and really kind staff working there. I’ve enjoyed this new design of the coffee. The price is great for location of Caffe-It’s just next to Parlament Building! All recommendation!

Date of visit: August 2020
Reviewed June 28, 2020

I like this place. Not sure where the bad reviews came from (they seem to be about service) because the waiting staff are lovely. Maybe some tourists having an overly ambitious schedule perhaps? My family often stops in here for a drink on the way...to town, and our dog gets a bowl of water straight away. There are plenty of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks on offer, smoothies, deserts, salads, and a couple of really tasty pizzas. Considering the location next to the Parliament building the prices are more than reasonable. Try getting a large beer for less than 5 euros, including service charge, in the 7th arrondissement of Paris. So pick your time of day, don't be in a rush, and enjoy the view.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Reviewed March 1, 2020

In general this was a really bad experience, and the waiters couldn’t seem to care less about us. We had to wait 1 hour for a salad and a pre-made quiche, and they didn’t check up on us once in that hour. When the food...came it looked nothing like the pictures, and the ingredients wasn’t even the same as it said in the menu! On top of it all, it was also very overpriced, and you can get an amazing full course dinner for the same price many other places in Budapest. I would absolutely not recommend this place to anyone!More

Date of visit: February 2020
Reviewed February 20, 2020

My friend and I had the displeasure of visiting 'Smuz' whilst in Budapest. Initially, upon arrival, we were waiting at the door for an unreasonable wait and when a waitress did come over she just pointed in the direction of the tables saying we can...sit where we want! She did not even take us to our seats! As if that wasn't enough, we had to wait again at least 10 minutes for our order to be taken! To top it off, our food took over 45 minutes to arrive! Before it came, we continuously kept asking how long the wait would be and we were told each time 5 minutes. As we had an appointment booked for later, we realised we would not be able to stay and eat and so informed them of this. Well needless to say this did not go down well. The waitress said she would have to get her manager. At which point, the manager, or who I assume is the manager, came over with the pizzas expecting us to still want them. When we told him we were not going to est them and therefore not pay for them he was extremely rude and responded very negatively. He kept asking us where we were from. He was extremely aggressive in his tone and not what you would expect for a customer service environment. As we were leaving, he continued to tell what I can only assume were insults which we found extremely unnecessary. We will certainly NOT be frequenting there again and i would advise others to do the same. That is unless you want to wait an inordinate amount of time and be greeted with inappropriate and aggressive attitudes. From a very disgruntled customer.More

Date of visit: February 2020
m_llerl, Ügyvezető igazgató at Smuz - Viragneked.hu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Dear Amy G, We are sorry if you had an unpleasant experience in our Restaurant. Although we are quite certain, as we have checked in our system, that you have waited an exact 25 minutes for your order, which we don't think is unreasonable in...More

Reviewed February 19, 2020

My friend and I popped in here after visiting the parliament, we arrived at around 14:25pm and sat down. The waiter came over to us around 10 minutes later and took our order of tea, coffee bottled water and two pizzas. We waited around 15...minutes for the drinks and my water wasn’t brought over. By around 15:00pm I asked how long the food would be as we needed to be somewhere else by 15:30pm. She said she will find out. By 15:15 I asked again and said we now need to cancel the food and that we have been here for 55 minutes and I haven’t even had my water, she then began to raise her voice saying this isn’t a fast food restaurant just 5 minutes. I explained we had booked other plans and do not have the time, she angrily walked off and got her manager. Miraculously the manager appeared with these pizzas and again we said we no longer want them as we’ve waited nearly an hour and do not have time. He then got very angry and asked where we was from, I told him my nationality has nothing to do with the situation. He said I will check what time you ordered, he then came back and said you ordered 30 minutes ago that’s not a long time. I said yes it is when I also haven’t even been given my water. The water was then bought over and he insisted that we was going to pay and eat these pizzas. He then said this is not a fast food place what do you expect. I just outright refused to pay for them and said I’d paid for the coffee and tea that we had. He then angrily cancelled the food and tried to charge for the water, I said take off the water then he started shouting what’s wrong with the water and became extremely aggressive. I calmly said I did not have the water and then asked again where I am from, I asked him why he wanted to know this, he said because where you are from this is not normal to want food quickly. As we left he then opened the door and started shouting abuse at us in Hungarian and waving his hands around. This is absolutely appalling behaviour from both members of staff, they was aggressive and rude and the fact he was asking my nationality is inappropriate and discriminative. And absolutely disgusting he began shouting abuse at us as we left.More

Date of visit: February 2020
m_llerl, Ügyvezető igazgató at Smuz - Viragneked.hu, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2020

Dear Clarice R, Dear Amy G, We are sorry if you had an unpleasant experience in our Restaurant. Although we are quite certain, as we have checked in our system, that you have waited an exact 25 minutes for your order, which we don't think...More

Reviewed January 26, 2020 via mobile

Interesting cafe with delicious hot drinks (prices are too high), an unusual interior with great views of the Budapest Parliament. Friendly service. Also, it was very nice to speak the chef, a very friendly person.

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed January 19, 2020

The place looks nice, but service requires a huge improvement. For the money included into the bill as a service charge (10% from the whole amount) should be welcoming and leave a customer with a smile on the face.. no matter how much they are...able to spend in the place. I definitely don’t want to return to this place and give to someone my recommendation.More

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed January 2, 2020 via mobile

I had a pastrami sandwhich which was the equivalant of €12. The bread was rock hard but meat was nice and tender. It was way over priced though. This place is more of an instagram gimmick than a cafe

Date of visit: January 2020
Reviewed December 24, 2019 via mobile

The taste of coffee here is nothing special. The yellow one is too much sweet. Desserts also not outstanding ones. Browny is really smaller than on vitrine. I think this place for one time visiting to get nice fotos and nothing more. And the agilest...thing, that our bill was on 8920 forints (27 euros) but the staff took from my card 33 euro and didn’t forget to include two euros service fee for theirselves, but forgot to ask us in that currency we want to pay....only when I saw a bill later , I understand this. Very unpleasant situation. 6 euros got lost somewhere ....More

Date of visit: December 2019
Reviewed December 20, 2019

Loved this place. Very relaxed, excellent service, vegan friendly, great atmosphere, fabulous cake and multicoloured coffee!

Date of visit: December 2019
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Onriver Hotels - MS Cezanne
71 reviews
.32 miles away
Marmara Hotel Budapest
1,892 reviews
.33 miles away
Novotel Budapest Danube
2,211 reviews
.35 miles away
City Hotel Ring
549 reviews
.36 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Biarritz Restaurant and Cafe
332 reviews
.03 miles away
Vesta Bistro
62 reviews
.08 miles away
Casa Bianca Bistro Italiano
127 reviews
.16 miles away
Szamos Cafe
325 reviews
.25 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Hungarian Parliament Building
41,474 reviews
.14 miles away
Kossuth Lajos Square
484 reviews
.17 miles away
Statue of Ferenc Rakoczi
142 reviews
.19 miles away
In memoriam 1956. October 25. Memorial and Exhibition
45 reviews
.18 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Smuz - Viragneked.hu staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Smúz - Viragneked.hu

Yes, Smúz - Viragneked.hu offers takeout services.

Yes, Smúz - Viragneked.hu offers delivery services.

Smúz - Viragneked.hu is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 3.5
  • Atmosphere: 5