Városliget Café & Restaurant

Városliget Café & Restaurant

Someone from this business manages this listing.
Learn More
+36 30 869 1426+ Add website
Hours
Sun
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Mon
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Tue
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Wed
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Thu
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Fri
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Sat
12:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Improve this listing
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Ratings and reviews
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Travelers' Choice 2023

RATINGS
Food
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Atmosphere
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Food and ambience
Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Does this restaurant allow dogs or considered pet friendly?
About
Városigeti Cafe & Restaurant: A Culinary Oasis in the Heart of Városligeti Park Nestled amidst the serene embrace of Városligeti Park, the Városigeti Cafe & Restaurant is more than just a dining spot – it's an experience. As the city's buzz fades away, allow the melodies of chirping birds and rustling leaves to serenade you while you indulge in our meticulously curated menu. Every bite tells a story, intertwining the rich traditions of Hungarian cuisine with contemporary flair. Enjoy the panorama of nature's splendor from our spacious terrace, or cozy up inside with chic, rustic interiors that mirror the park's natural charm. Whether it's a midday lunch basked in the sun's glow, a romantic dinner under the starlit sky, or a lively dinner gathering with friends, Városigeti Cafe & Restaurant promises unforgettable moments. A feast for the senses awaits.
PRICE RANGE
$6.00 – $43.00
CUISINES
International, European, Central European, Hungarian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Live Music, Waterfront, Dog Friendly, Gift Cards Available

Reviews

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,262 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Városliget Café & Restaurant comes highly recommended for its delectable cuisine, including standout dishes such as crispy duck and goulash soup, and for its enchanting atmosphere, complete with live music and stunning views that captivate guests. While the ambience earns high marks for sophistication and warmth, some diners have encountered slow service and noted occasional lapses in cleanliness and food temperature. Nevertheless, the restaurant's overall charm and culinary delights continue to draw praise from its patrons.
Food
Delicious
Atmosphere
Sophisticated
Service
Varied
Value
Reasonable

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveler reviews and learn more about how the site works.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles3,262 reviews
Excellent
2,461
Very good
588
Average
117
Poor
50
Terrible
47
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.

Eric
La Jolla389 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2020 none
We came to this cafe on a cold winter day & fell in love with the vibe & ambiance of this place. It overlooks a scenic lake & castle and during winter months the lake is transformed into an ice skating rink. The cafe feels cozy & homey while still offering a chic elegance. Our favorite part was the live music. We ordered a few lattes, which were incredible! Followed by beef goulash and their specialty dish (beef consume, bone marrow, steak with cherry sauce). All of the items were incredible. Because of the ambiance & incredible food, we wish we could have stayed in the cafe all day! This place is truly one of the best cafes in Budapest!
Written March 11, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D_Baranyai
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing our restaurant. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to hosting you again
Written September 13, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ágnes R
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2021 solo
Beautiful surranding with a view on skating young people. Excellent food, kind service. It is not easy to find the very moment for a welldone gooseliver but they were successful. And the details: greengage limonade full of fruits instead of icecubes, fresh whipped cream on the Coffee made of special roasted and selected beans. I can recommend to every gourmet.
Written November 21, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Máté F
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate your recommendation very much. Hope your return soon. Városliget Café & Restaurant 1895 TEAM
Written December 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Chisom U
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2020 friends
If you’re looking for a respite from the cold winter weather of Budapest, this is the place for you! The atmosphere is warm and cosy, with the live music and friendly faces. We ordered two hazelnut hot chocolates and a hot lemonade and they were the best we’ve ever had, so much so that we had to order another round! If that’s not enough Mario, our waiter, was an absolute delight. He welcomed us, taught us common Hungarian phrases and would frequently return to quiz us on what we had retained. It was an evening of laughing and drinking and can’t think of any place in Budapest that made us feel more at home. If you’re around Hero’s square or the ice rink and looking for a place to rest, you have to come here!! Thank you Városliget for a great time :)
Written February 20, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D_Baranyai
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. Happy to read that you enjoyed the atmosphere. Hope you return soon. Városliget Café & Restaurant 1895 TEAM
Written February 29, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kinga
2 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 friends
The Varosliget café completly changed his style/quality level since I visited it some years ago. It was quite special with fine cuisine, now it is a very touristic, avarage quality foot restaurant. The view (ice skating park) and the service is nice, the quality of the food is correct but nothing special and the choice is very limited. It could be a simple restaurant to visit after your ice skating program but the price level is completly exaggerated; very high. For this price you can find much better restaurant in Budapest.
Written January 4, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
D_Baranyai
Our dear guest. Thank you for your feedback, thank you for taking the time to write down your experience. Our pricing is determined by the quality of our restaurant and the location. We are very sorry if you found our services expensive. From now on we will try to put even more emphasis on communicating our prices more clearly. Best Regards David
Written February 28, 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nancy Jin
Budapest42 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2020 business
Excellent food with an excellent view of the city park castle. Though the choice on their menu are not much the quality of the food is good. I really appreciate such restaurants pay more attention to the food quality over quantity. For main courses, we ordered pearch fish steaks, beef steak and duck legs. For desserts, we ordered their Sacher cake, white chocolate cakes. Highly recommended. Indoor view is much better than on the terrace. Remember to make an reservation in advance if you want a good spot.
Written July 22, 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Robicsek
Budapest580 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 none
We went for the special Dining City occasion with a reasonably priced menu and wine pairing. The venue is nice with a view to the lake-cum-skating rink (currently neither, just plain concrete). We had the duck liver pate for starter which was good, but not extraordinary. The Black cod with parsnip purée and leek quinoa was good, but rather bland, a more inventive chef would have added some extra spices. The Apricot cottage cheesecake (according to our waiter it was peach, but we didn’t think so) was good. The wine pairing was, again, nothing special, it was about all right. Service was extremely slow, and we had to ask for the dessert wine (the waiter would have forgotten, although it made part of the wine pairing). It was overpriced, we shall not come back.
Written October 10, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalma Petrity
Dear Guest, First of all thank you for your review. We are terribly sorry that the view was not that magnificent that you expected. Since we are preparing for the winter season already, there are a couple of weeks when we do not have any lake neiter the ice rink. I am sorry to hear, you were not satisfied with our chef's seasoning, but we also appreciate your feedback. We are trying to improve all our skills in our restaurant so thank you for helping us finding the spots that we should focus on more. Kind regards, Városliget Café & Restaurant Team
Written October 18, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Joe A
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 none
Typical tourist trap. High prices, low quality, slow service. We waited 1.5 hours for the main dishes. The beans in the side dish were not properly cooked and when I mentioned it, they acknowledged it, but they were not very interested in compensating with something. they billed the poorly prepared food along with a 15% service charge.
Written October 16, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
András E
Dear Guest, I apologize for what happened. Our mission is the quality hospitality, so I investigated this case and took the necessary steps. I'm very sorry for your disappointment. I'd like to solve our mistake and compensate you. Please, could you contact me due to compensation by e-mail (andras.eross@topartbudapest.hu)? Best regards, András Erőss
Written October 19, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Rach&Nathan
Manchester61 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 couples
We went here after the baths after reading the good reviews, but were disappointed with the small portion sizes for what was an expensive lunch. The beef sandwich had warm bread but came served with cold beef and no side dish, was expecting hot freshly cooked beef and some crisps or fries to accompany. Toilets were flooded and had broken toilet seat. Paid £34 for lunch for two and left feeling hungry. Disappointing experience. The views look nice though and convenient after the baths.
Written April 11, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
András Erőss
Dear Nathan! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. These are very important to us. We are very sorry that you left with a bad experience. We investigated and solved these technical problems. We work with picuteres menu for the better information. In all cases, the order must mutch with the menu. Best regards, András Erőss
Written April 13, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jose
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 family
The Varosliget cafe & restaurant is located in an extraordinary location, surrounded by beautiful green parks and historical monuments. The service provided by the members works at this place is supreme, particularly mentioning the waitress Adrienn, very professional, always smiling and very helpful. From 1 (bad) to 10 (best) I give 10 without a doubt.
Written June 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalma Petrity
Dear Guest, It is a true delight, that you found our restaurant and the surrounded area extraordinary. We are grateful to hear you were satisfied with Adrienn's service. I will let her know about your kind words. Hope you return soon, Városliget Café&Restaurant Team
Written June 12, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Onelifeliveit
United Kingdom1722 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 solo
I booked Varosliget for lunch a few weeks before my arrival and I am glad I did because I saw a few people turned away who had not booked. My lunch of smoked duck salad for starters and salmon with vegetables washed down with a cooling refreshing glass of white wine was just what I needed. Its pricier than most places but you pay for the atmosphere and the venue. I sat outside and its a shame that they don't have external seating at the back with beautiful views of the lake. I would return and recommend in a heartbeat. If you are in the Vajdahunyad Castle, Hero's Square area then book this place. You will not regret it. I saw them able to accommodate a party of ten people without booking but turn away a solo young woman who had not booked. As a solo traveller myself, restaurants know that they make less money on one diner than a full table. Sometimes you don't know what your plans are like on the day but either way you have to eat, so book up online and cancel if your plans change. I used to be the one that would tell the waiter that I don't mind sharing my table especially if I was coming to the end of the meal, just so that a solo person could get a seat. I no longer do that because in these modern times, you can email or phone in advance, even 15 minutes before. I don't mean to be harsh but you are spending sometimes just a few days in a magical city, make it count by planning and enjoying the best that there is to offer.
Written June 26, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalma Petrity
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you that you spend time to share your thoughts and experiences here with the community! We were glad to read your comment, you enjoyed your meal and the atmosphere as well! Happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and wrote such a nice review. We hope you return and enjoy the atmosphere and food again. Best regards, Városliget Café & Restaurant Team
Written July 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LAM
24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2023 couples
We needed somewhere to escape from an April shower and stumbled across Varosliget quite by accident. Restaurant was initially busy but lovely table found for us in minutes. Noticed the wonderful atmosphere as we were shown to our table, there was live music, a chap singing covers at a volume entirely appropriate. The menu offered a wide selection of choices and also provided wine pairing with each dish which we thought was so helpful. I chose the spinach pasta dish and recommended wine to accompany and my partner chose the paprika chicken with paired wine. Incredible. Really delicious, both beautifully cooked with not a speck left on the plate. We shared a dessert which was a superlative pistachio and white chocolate cake accompanied by intensely delicious raspberry ice cream. So cute that the shard of chocolate it came with had Easter bunnies printed on it. Service was full of detail and attentiveness with special mention to Cintia. 10/10
Written April 10, 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
András Erőss
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our restaurant. Happy to read that you enjoyed our restaurant. Looking forward to hosting you again. Városliget Café & Restaurant 1895 TEAM
Written April 13, 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Innez K
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2022 couples
We attended Varosliget in April and it was one of the most pleasant memories of all the restaurants in Budapest. Especially I'd like to thank Adrian the waitress whose attitude and professionalism was absolutely outstanding! Naturally, when we wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we came back to Varosliget in June 2022. I have to admit that we were in the best Budapest restaurants including Hoppa and Comme Chez Soi but they were not wow for us. Varosliget is the restaurant where everything matches- a stunning view on the lake and the castle, delicious food and caring service. We will definitely come back again!
Written July 1, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalma Petrity
Dear Guest, Let me thank you for the kind words and thank you very much for choosing our restaurant. I will definitely share your comment with our coworker Adrienn. It makes us happy when our effort is a appreciated. We are glad that you visited us several times in the past months, we hope to be able to host you soon again! Best regards, Városliget Café & Restaurant Team
Written July 2, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Tamas S
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2022 none
We just came home after a splendid late lunch at Varosliget Cafe. The restaurant offers beautiful views at the Varosliget lake. We were seated at a table directly overlooking the lake. Adrienn, our server, made very helpful recomendations about the highlights of the menu. She was kind, passionate and very knowledgeable about everything the restaurant offered. She also gave us her opinion about our food choices. We ended up choosing a buffalo mozarella soup, meat broth, grilled salmon and wiener schnitzel. We concluded our visit with The Varosliget cake selection which was simply a delight to our tastebuds. The Varosliget Cafe is a must to visit when you are nearby.
Written July 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalma Petrity
Dear valued Guest, First of all, let me thank you that you spent time to share your thoughts and experience. It is a pleasure reading such a praising review like yours. Thank you very much for posting it! We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and service as well at our restaurant. it is a true delight to hear that our efforts are appreciated and remembered. We would be so happy to welcome you back soon. Warmest regards, Városliget Café & Restaurant Team
Written July 17, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

EmMoz
Dachau2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 family
In October 2017 we had an incredible and memorable dining experience made purely by the kindness and care by staff of looking after us as parents of two very small children. Marianna was our waitress extraordinaire who took care of the attentions of a lively 4 year old and a sleepy 3 year old whilst we had an extremely tasty culinary experience. We didn't want to leave! Thank you! The fond memories of that snapshot of time are everlasting.
Written August 8, 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dalma Petrity
Dear Guest, We would like to say how pleased we are to read such a nice review about your preivous experience in Városliget Café&Restaurant! We hope you left with sweet memories! Looking forward for welcoming you back again at your next visit to Budapest! Best regards, városliget Café & Restaurant Team
Written August 8, 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nicholai M
London451 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2021 family
The place is stunning and serves great food and has good costumer service. We came in here before the pool party so it was a bit late and when they reminded us that they are only open for a little bit longer, I thought we would not stay here so long. But we did as the food was amazing, and the view of the Vajdahunyad Castle was stunning. One thing which was as stunning was their food and one thing I apricate is a menu which has a wine pared with the meals. Of course, I went for the wine and duck as you can see looks really nice. Did not eat my first beef goulash soup till this place so can not say that much about it besides I loved that too. The bread they made was not for me.
Written December 2, 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Máté F
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to share your kind review with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our restaurant. We are looking forward to your next visit. Városliget Café & Restaurant 1895 TEAM
Written December 30, 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-15 of 1,908
Best moderately priced restaurants
See all
Sponsored
Millennium Kávéház És Étterem
$$ - $$$ · International, European, Healthy, Central European
Jouri Restaurant Lebanese Cuisine & Blend of Marocco
$$ - $$$ · Lebanese, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Healthy
Beerstro 14
$$ - $$$ · Steakhouse, Hungarian
Főőrség Étterem és Kávéház (Royal Guard Restaurant & Café)
$$ - $$$ · Cafe, European, Healthy, Eastern European
Byblos - Fine Lebanese and Levantine Cuisine
$$ - $$$ · Lebanese, Healthy, Middle Eastern, Arabic
Meshuga
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Mediterranean, Healthy, Middle Eastern
Kolbizz Sausage & Beer House
$$ - $$$ · Bar, Pub, Hungarian, Beer restaurants
Tapassio
$$ - $$$ · Seafood, International, Mediterranean, European
Hoppá Bistro
$$ - $$$ · French, European, Healthy, Eastern European
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

VÁROSLIGET CAFÉ & RESTAURANT, Budapest - Városliget - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

All Budapest HotelsBudapest Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Budapest
Things to Do
All Budapest RestaurantsRestaurants near Városliget Café & Restaurant
FlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars