We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$4 - $19
CUISINES
International, European, Central European, Hungarian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
19
13
4
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
19
13
4
2
4
See what travelers are saying:
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed September 10, 2022 via mobile

This has to be one of the nicest restaurants in the area. We called for lunch and found both the food and the staff excellent. Our 3 course meal with drinks was excellent value at less than £70 for 2 people. Great service, great food...and a great location. What more can you sayMore

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 23, 2022 via mobile

The service was very slow and the staff was rude. We ordered 2 elderflower lemonade and they had no flavor at all, they tasted like water. They should have been with still water (as we ordered them), but they were with soda. Also, our French...potatoes didn't arrive.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed March 6, 2020

First of all we went to get a table and a very rude waiter went to us with a grumpy face, throw a extra chair on the table and not even set up the extra person. We appreciated anyways and he not even looked at...us. Our table was out of their view and everything we needed we had to go to the counter and ask for them. They didn’t have Coca Cola, not even noticed us and brought us Pepsi. For the soup we were in tree eating and they served us a few slices of bread. Although I liked the food I do not recommend it and will not go back for sure.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

if you been in the spa I recommend popping here for a light lunch afterwards outside . Really friendly staff and food is good not to pricey. I give 10\10 for my visit hereMore

Date of visit: May 2019
Helpful?3  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
SzechenyiRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Szechenyi Kertvendeglo, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear BEAS663, WOW - thank you so much your review. We are working so hard to enchant our guests. We are really glad that you enjoyed our Goulash soup and service this much. Hope, we will have a chance to meet again for another signature...More

Reviewed February 13, 2018

We visited here on Saturday afternoon after the baths. There we about two tables in the restaurant, so it wasn't busy yet we got ignored at the door while the waiter had a chat. Eventually the food came and it looked amazing, unfortunately it had...no flavour at all. I had the chicken dish which was served with spinach lasagne, it lacked seasoning and was very poor quality. The food needs some serious flavour!More

Date of visit: February 2018
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

We went into an almost empty restaurant, but could not find at least one clean table, everywhere there were leftovers from previous visitors. We stood for 5 minutes while the waiter cleaned the table. But the dishes serving were of a beautiful restaurant, we ordered...chicken breast with lasagna, everything was delicious!More

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

The food was delicious, and the best limonade we had in Budapest, don't miss it. If the weather allows it, you should definitely sit outside in the garden around the restaurant...

Date of visit: September 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Hi, I am on Szigetfesztival. Visited the bath. After the Szechenyi bath we have found this Garden. The food is great and the top of it the service and the waiter is professional. He offered the best wine ever tasted. :)

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Very good food, I took the caneloni and it was perfect. The lemonade was very fresh and delightful. They even offered us a palinka !

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

Great service and good food in this beautiful restaurant! If you are in the park I can only recommend this place

Date of visit: August 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 2, 2017

Well... where shall I begin? I certainly do not recommend this place. They were rude, they tried to charge us for food we didnt order (oh, it was for another table), we asked where we should seat, they said anywhere, nothing is reserved, then 4...old women came and stared at us while we were trying to have a so-called soup (apparently we were sitting at their usual table!) Staff didnt nothing, despite them trying to move our bags! Then we ordered soup. We didnt get the soup we ordered. Then we got these female human beings. So had enough and thought lets finish lunch somewhere else. Went to pay (we only ordered 1x soup each at this point) and they tried to overcharge us, then they smashed the menu at us + the receipt.. They are extremely rude. And very slow! the restaurant wasnt even half full. Food - not good Staff - not friendly and didnt speak English (allegedly they did!) Never ever go back here!More

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
KalmarEra, PR& Marketing Manager at Szechenyi Kertvendeglo, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2017

Dear Guest! Thank you for yout comments. We are very sorry that you did not feel well in our restaurant. With our colleagues, we are here to serve all the guests to the highest standards, according to their needs, in high quality. We will examine...More

Reviewed June 8, 2017

My son and his wife held their wedding there and everything was perfect. The room was decorated beautifully and the outside walk round veranda gave us a great opportunity to cool down outside occasionally.

Date of visit: June 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

Found this Great place after visiting The zoo. Absolutely superb food Great Price And excellent service. Will definetly visít ágain.! Highly recommended.More

Date of visit: April 2017
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Szechenyi Kertvendeglo, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2017

Dear Zsu S, For a start, we would like to thank you so very much for taking your time and effort to write down and share your absolutely lovely review, it means a lot to our team. We are more than happy to read that...More

Reviewed March 31, 2017

We found this little diamond as we were walking around the park. Beautiful food and the best beer i've ever had! (Perhaps because i was so thirsty) Was lovely sitting outside in the sun and it was reasonably priced too.More

Date of visit: March 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Szechenyi Kertvendeglo, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017

Dear Hayley W, It was truly heart-warming to read your remarkable review about us here, on TripAdvisor. It means a lot to our crew. We couldn't be happier that you found our lovely little place while walking around Városliget. It makes us exceedingly thankful that...More

Reviewed March 21, 2017

interesting place into a beautiful environment , a huge park including the szechenyi thermal baths , must be perfect in summer. fast service , tasteful food , friendly stuff , very good priceMore

Date of visit: March 2017
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
PM_QualityManagement, Vendégkapcsolati vezető at Szechenyi Kertvendeglo, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2017

Dear marios p, We would like to thank you very much for taking a few minutes to share your kind opinion about our charming restaurant. We are so proud that you had such a great time in Széchenyi Kertvendéglő, like you said, this place is...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Ibis Budapest Heroes Square
1,044 reviews
.44 miles away
Alice Hotel
10 reviews
.61 miles away
Mamaison Hotel Andrassy Budapest
1,497 reviews
.63 miles away
Hotel Flandria
23 reviews
.65 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Varosliget Cafe & Restaurant
2,952 reviews
.34 miles away
Gundel Cafe Patisserie Restaurant
2,252 reviews
.30 miles away
Bagolyvar
755 reviews
.36 miles away
Robinson Restaurant
2,033 reviews
.27 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Heroes' Square
12,848 reviews
.36 miles away
Varosliget
571 reviews
.33 miles away
Vajdahunyad Castle (Vajdahunyadvar)
2,438 reviews
.16 miles away
Anonymus Szobor (Anonymous' Statue)
1,133 reviews
.25 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Szechenyi Kertvendeglo staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

SZECHENYI KERTVENDEGLO, Budapest - Varosliget - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Szechenyi Kertvendeglo

Szechenyi Kertvendeglo is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4