We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Kuglóf Bistro is a well-known small cozy bistro for breakfast and lunch in the heart of Budapest. We serve high quality specialty coffee, home made pastry, healthy cakes and freshly squeezed juices, hand-made Hungarian and Belgian beer and premium selection Hungarian wine.
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch
CUISINES
Cafe, European, Central European, Hungarian
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service, Wine and Beer
Reviews (523)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
166
67
23
6
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
166
67
23
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch eggs benedict bread ham sandwich pasta hollandaise sauce cute place nice food great coffee cozy atmosphere lemonade
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed June 28, 2020 via mobile

This is a small cafe situated in a nice little spot off of Váci Utca near the Danube River. I have only eaten breakfast here and have been here many times. The food is always delicious. It is a cute place to go to and...drink coffee and have breakfast. Kuglof is dependable and serves terrific food. I will continue to eat breakfast there as long as they keep up the great work.More

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed June 13, 2020 via mobile

This is probably the best breakfast place in Budapest. The service is impeccable. The food is excellent and the dishes are very well made. Fine espresso. I cannot recommend this place more. Great experience. Thank you!

Date of visit: June 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed March 7, 2020 via mobile

Found this little place on trip advisor, unfortunately the menu online is different to the one in store so not as expected. I had eggs Benedict which was spot on - the ham was excellent quality and very tasty. boyfriend didn't fancy anything on the...menu so had some bacon and bread rolls but bacon was dry. Maybe that's the Hungarian way though 🤷‍♀️ service was ok but could be better. I would recommend this place to eat.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed March 3, 2020 via mobile

Small but clean breakfast cafe. Quick service. Clean environment. Open kitchen so you can see the chefs at work. Very cool. The french toast was delicious and the pancakes were also delightful. Good quality coffee and decent value for money. I would return here for...sure on my next visit.More

Date of visit: March 2020
Helpful?
Reviewed February 14, 2020

Fabulous breakfast Best hot chocolate ever tasted, coffee was delicious too. Had eggs Benedict 10/10, husband had French toast-he loved it. Definitely top of the list of places to eat for breakfast/lunch

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed February 8, 2020 via mobile

Wonderful small breakfast place. Great and personable service. All the food we ordered was tasty and delicious!

Date of visit: February 2020
Helpful?1  
Reviewed January 28, 2020 via mobile

Cozy place with good options for breakfast. We ordered the breakfast platter and shared it - good amount of food for two people. The platter consisted of eggs, ham, sausage and bread. Overall a good place 😊

Date of visit: January 2020
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 7, 2020

We were in Budapest for a couple of days and came across this cafe. We decided to have breakfast here and we really enjoyed it - food was good and the coffee was good. The only downside was that there is very little room inside....We were literally squashed in with barely enough room to slide onto our chairs. There was more room outside but we were there in winter and it was really cold. Nevertheless, it was a good, well-priced breakie and would recommend it. Try the liptauer - it's delicious.More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

The absolute worst meal we had on our trip to Budapest. The “English breakfast” was so disgusting that we didn’t eat all of it. The waiter was really rude, and the music was so loud that we couldnt even talk to eachother. The “chef” and...the waiter went out the front door, to smoke right outside where the whole “restaurant” could see them. So disgusting. Oh, and we didn’t get all the food we ordered - but luckily that just meant that we could get out of there faster. Pick somewhere else!More

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?1  
kuglofbisztro, Közönségkapcsolati vezető at Kuglof, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2020

Thank you for taking your time to share your honest opinion about our restaurant with us. We are sorry to hear that our meals and customer service did not match your expectations. Let us express our apologies for the unpleasant experience you had at our...More

Reviewed December 13, 2019 via mobile

We had a great breakfast in a worm and cozy atmosphere. We ordered three different items from the menu and were all great. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: December 2019
Helpful?2  
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
La Prima Fashion Hotel
1,879 reviews
.06 miles away
Millennium Court, Budapest - Marriott Executive Apartments
934 reviews
.07 miles away
Promenade City Hotel
1,254 reviews
.09 miles away
Mercure Budapest City Center
534 reviews
.11 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lucky 7 Burgers
5,186 reviews
.04 miles away
Babel Budapest
518 reviews
.05 miles away
Bamba Marha Burger Bar
242 reviews
.05 miles away
Monk’s Bistrot
1,650 reviews
.02 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Belvarosi Nagyboldogasszony Foplebaniatemplom
123 reviews
.04 miles away
March 15 Square (Marcius 15 ter)
64 reviews
.06 miles away
Sandor Petofi Statue
55 reviews
.09 miles away
Klotild Palaces
54 reviews
.09 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lauramI5373ZQ
January 20, 2020|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from dagmarja | Reviewed this property |
No, it isn’t. We didn’t have a reservation and there was a place to sit. We were there around 10:00 so I don’t know if it’s like that all the day.
1
Vote
Google Translation
RafalB8
August 29, 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kuglofbisztro | Property representative |
Hi, yes we have :)
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kuglof

Yes, Kuglof offers takeout services.

Yes, Kuglof offers delivery services.

Kuglof is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5