We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Wed, 5/25
8:00 PM
About
The very first seafood bistro in Budapest. Fresh seafood straight from the harbours. Fishes, crabs, shrimps, and seashells. Pick any of them, grab a glass of wine, enjoy the unique atmosphere and your delicious meal. Take it easy and don't worry about the fish-knife!
PRICE RANGE
$25 - $100
Special Diets
Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, Healthy, International
FEATURES
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards, Table Service
Reviews (1,158)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveler rating
350
181
58
39
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
350
181
58
39
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh fish seafood octopus prawns risotto sea bass fries white wine sides huf
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Meal was good, we ate together only fresh grilled seafood. However prices were extremely high: we drink two lemonade, no alcohol and had good portion of various seafood for two person and paid 120 EUR (46.000 HUF). They could solve gluten-free meal also but would...recommend to label it and rice pasta would be great option to choose and not big deal for a restaurant. The athmosphere of the restaurant and was nice but nothing special or fancy. Waiters were kind but not over-trained for sure. Some fish were raw accidentaly which can happen and they were kindly cook it after, just price and service was definitely not in balance. For this price in Budapest I'd recommend any other "fancy" places to visit as a local.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Very good food and good service. Seafood is very fresh and so tasty. Oysters and topping is nice to try with sparkling wine. Would definitely come back if I return to Budapest again.

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

Ate here with friends on two out of the three nights we spent in Budapest. Kicked-off with the starter selection before moving on to the king prawns. The prawns were large and cooked to perfection. The accompanying wine was equally good. A special word of...mention should go to our waitress Barbie who was friendly and provided excellent service in dealing with some slightly tipsy Brits.More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

OMG ! Absolutely amazing! You have to visit this place and try it. The food and service was excellent. I love my seafood and this is definitely one of the best places I’ve ever eaten in

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed March 21, 2022

Visited this restaurant with a friend. I ordered 3 oysters to start and a half a turbot with 2 sides and a gin and tonic. My bill came to 77.67 euros. I have travelled the world and never had such an expensive meal. My friend...had no starter. She had octopus with 2 sides and 2 small glasses of red wine. Her bill was 60 euros. We definitely would not recommend. Vastly overpricedMore

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed February 18, 2022 via mobile

Be aware when ordering at this reataurant . Great idea that you can choose your own fish but everything is charged per a certain amount of grammes. You have no real idea how much it will cost (although didn't think to ask ) I paid...44 000 ft for 2 gin tonics( 7000ft extortionate price) , 4 pieces of scallops , small piece of Monkfish. 1 x XL Tiger prawn large and a pice of Tuna , sweet potato fries and a small green salad. They do not recommend sauces or side orders they leave it up to you . This was missimg for me !! You could easily add up a wopping bill and have no idea until you get the bill . Food was just enough for too but left feeling a little Hungry . You should be advised about the cost you are adding up without prompting and the food quality was mediocre considerimg the high price . I have eayen much better for cheaper . I am honestly disappointed and will not return or recommend Staff were nice but not overly helpful or gave advise on best seafood or fish . Felt a bit rushed.More

Date of visit: February 2022
Helpful?
Kristof C, Marketing at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2022

Dear styl2022, Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to read about your bad experience at our restaurant. Our prices are all displayed visibly to all our customers on our ice bed and on the black boards, and we are always making sure that they...More

Reviewed December 30, 2021

We are not used to leave a feedback in any website for a restaurant but we had to share our miserable experience. First, let’s start with the fact that we are used to go eat at nice restaurants. In any country, ours included, at least...twice a week. We come from Belgium, so of course, we are used to eat mussles and “french” (Belgium) fries. My boyfriend made the mistake of ordering (at the bar please, not at our table…) mussles with white wine. What a surprise when the casserole arrived with 15 mussles in it. While quantity for the other “fishs” is listed and quite clear (100gr = how much), it wasn’t the case at all for the mussles, which is listed as a main course. Our opinion is: if you put 15 mussles in a plate then at least, say it’s 15 mussles so you know to not choose that. That’s the BIG disappointment of our last day. We were looking forward eating at that restaurant that had such a good rating, it’s a real disappointment, even if the risotto I ordered was good. For the next costumers: when you’re choosing this restaurant, take into account that you’ll pay the price to go eat somewhere else after that. (That’s what we are doing right now, we already booked another restaurant). Anyway, don’t go there. Ps: if you’re looking for any nice restaurants in Belgium, don’t hesitate ;)More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Kristof C, Marketing at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2022

Dear Sara, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to read that you arrived with high hopes and left with dissapointment. To tell you the truth, so far we have never received any complaint about the quantity of our foods, whichever it was. In...More

Reviewed December 25, 2021

The food itself was not bad, in fact, the octopus was really tasty. However, I am far from satisfied with this restaurant: extremely overpriced, yet for so much money, the restaurant was cold (I was shivering), hence the food got cold quickly (we had to...ask them to reheat it for us), and the waiters were cursing right in front of us about us. Also, I reserved a table for me and my family on the phone WEEKS BEFORE, but they didn't write it down. Additionally, the waiter who took my reservation was not friendly at all, sounded like they could not wait to hang up the phone. Lastly, for so much money, I would at least expect a clean bathroom, but I got to say, Burger King is cleaner than this.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?1  
Kristof C, Marketing at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2022

Dear hedijja, Thank you for your feedback. We take our customers' complaints to heart and are saddened to hera about your bad experience. With regards to your complaints about the environment, the behaviour of our wait staff and the condition of our restroom, please always...More

Reviewed December 9, 2021 via mobile

The best restaurant for seafood. The service was excellent. You select the fish you want and they cook it in front of you! We went two days in a row in our three day visit in Budapest! Both nights we hadl obster the first time...with cream and the other grilled. We had frutti di mare risotto and fried sweet potato chips. We also had the Hungarian traditional desert with poppy seeds which was the best desert I've ever tried and believe me I tried tons of deserts in my life all over the world! A* for this restaurant and it's personnel!!!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Kristof C, Marketing at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2021

Dear 284nph, Thank you very much for sharing your great experience at our restanurant with us. We believe that we only reach our goal of becoming the best seafood restaurant in Budapest if we give our best to our customers and accounts like yours always...More

Reviewed November 29, 2021 via mobile

Had a business dinner here with a colleague as he preferred real seafood. Well, what can I say, you go up to the counter and chose what you wish, then sit down and wait for the waiter to serve it for you once it is...ready. It was tasty, but as it turned out at the end, incredibly expensive!!! We had 6 prawns and 2 octopus legs for share as starter and 1-1 different type of fish for main course accompanied with a few bottled beers (no draft here). For all this, we’ve paid 73k HUF and I had to have a snack when I arrived home 🤣🤣🤣 I’ve been to at least 60-70 different restaurants in Budapest for business or private occasions and by far this was the most expensive meal ever here and didn’t even get full. It a total rip off, so I would go on a second thought.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?1  
Kristof C, Marketing at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2021

Dear Roland, Thank you for your feedback. Our prices are indeed abouve the average, but so is the price of the materials we are working with. The prices are always displayed transparently and obviously to our customers and we measure the weight right in front...More

Reviewed November 28, 2021 via mobile

Great quality fish, good wine, nice staff. Definetly when you'll get tired of local food or steak/burgers, this is your perfect choice.More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Kristof C, Marketing at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2021

Dear Luca, Thank you for the great rating and the kind words. Our goal is always to provide the highest quality service and food to our customers and when we receive reviews such as yours do we know, that we are doing our job well....More

Reviewed November 24, 2021

The atmosphere is really good the staff very friendly, the food is average and overpriced , I ordered spaghetti vongole it was testy but unfortunately arrived cold at the table.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed October 7, 2021

I cannot count how many times I've been there in the past 3 years, but today was a huge disappointment. I don't know if they changed the entire crew or just the waiters, but nothing met the standards that we used to get today. no-one...noticed our little girl, we needed to ask for the colouring pencils for her (she was the one who asked if they stopped doing it because she did get any...) no-one refilled our wine, the forgot to bring things that we asked for and I was holding my empty plate in the end (out of curiosity) for almost 5 minutes when my husband asked a waiter to clean our table.... And to be honest the food quality was not match the high standards that it used to be... last time we had dinner in Bigfish Lánchíd, probably better to stick to that restaurant.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
papp_peter, Owner at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2021

Dear OrsyT, We're very sorry to hear about your bad experience. Can you please tell us when this incident happened? We always take claims like yours seriously and work hard on it, so these things might not happen again. Please get in contact with us...More

Reviewed October 5, 2021 via mobile

Disappointing and overpriced experience. Paid 50€ per person for poorly cooked and definitely not fresh seafood. Just look at the parrot fish and seabass eyes… must have been there for days. Would have been sort of ok for 30€ but at over 50€ per person...(with only 1 glass of wine) we expected a different quality. Risotto was full and tasted mostly of cream. Rice was undercooked. Frying was poorly made. Grilled seafood all tasted the same as it was all cooked on the same grill. Enough said, a friend of mine stomach was not happy with it. Cool concept, bad execution. Would not recommend.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?1  
Kristof C, Marketing at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2021

Dear marcorich21, We're very sorry to hear about your bad experience. Can you please tell us when this incident occured, so we can investigate if the fish was indeed not fresh? We always take claims like yours seriously and work hard on it, so these...More

Reviewed October 3, 2021 via mobile

Excellent seafood plus side dish plus wine! Love the style to choose fresh (raw) seafood for your meal. Really well made, properly cooked! Expensive? Pay for what you've chosen - no less & no more! Want to get excellent fresh scaloops as bargain? This is...not the place! You'll get 100% what you want... for adequate price.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
Kristof C, Marketing at Bigfish Seafood Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2021

Dear martildu, Thank you for the excellent review and summary of your experience. Only when we receive feedback like yours do we see that we have done our job well. We hope to see you soon! All the best, the Bigfish Andrassy team

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Medos Hotel
876 reviews
.08 miles away
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
463 reviews
.11 miles away
Hard Rock Hotel Budapest
31 reviews
.17 miles away
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
803 reviews
.20 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hoppa Bistro
702 reviews
.07 miles away
Bamba Marha Burger Bar
866 reviews
.05 miles away
Beef Heaven by Tuning
1,181 reviews
.03 miles away
Kiado Pub
450 reviews
.03 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Budapest Operetta Theatre
578 reviews
.10 miles away
New York Palace
2,408 reviews
.02 miles away
Liszt Ferenc Square
228 reviews
.05 miles away
Budapest Metro
820 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Patricia W
July 5, 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from troopytroopy | Reviewed this property |
Ofcourse no
0
Votes
adrienn m
February 26, 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from MineD733 | Reviewed this property |
They sell it per 100 gr, they weigh the fish or fish fillet you choose at the counter before cooking, you pay accordingly..A middle size portion would cost 13-17 € . The side dish costs are around 3-6 €.
2
Votes
X4645ZNthomasf
December 14, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Fekete A | Property representative |
Sure you can! Just ask the cashiers for an option, like a nice home made pasta with tomatoe souce, or a daily risotto.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bigfish Seafood Bistro

Yes, Bigfish Seafood Bistro offers takeout services.

Bigfish Seafood Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4