We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 7/5
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
$8 - $27
CUISINES
Italian, Pizza, Mediterranean, European, Neapolitan, Campania, Romana, Lazio, Central-Italian, Southern-Italian
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about

Location and contact

Belvaros-Lipotvaros
0.4 miles from Danube River
Improve this listing
Reviews (1,778)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
418
141
38
21
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveler rating
418
141
38
21
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pizza tiramisu risotto bread seafood
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed May 24, 2022

We wanted to eat a little earlier due to having a boat trip booked later that evening. This was in the right location on our route and was recommended by our Lonely Planet Encounter guide book. We opted for sharing a spaghetti carbonara and a...ham and salami pizza. Having our own pizza oven at home, you could say we’re pizza snobs but both the pizza and pasta dishes were excellent quality and very tasty. The strawberry lemonade was also delicious.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed May 4, 2022 via mobile

Went to this restaurant at lunchtime after visiting Parliament Square. The weather was beautiful and the outside area looked very pleasant so decided to give it a try. My wife and I each had pizza and shared a portion of rosemary potatoes, the food was...delicious. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at this restaurant and would return.More

Date of visit: May 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed April 15, 2022

After a long day we were starving and had to choose a place to eat quickly. Apprently we were too quick. The restaurant was not the same as in the pictures and was in the space of the neighbour restaurant. The interior and atmosphere were...ugly and cold. Food came quicly, we had pizza and pasta, the pizza was OK but the pasta not especially good and small portions. The prices was also too high for what you got. Was not impressed by the service either. They wanted to take away my plate as i was still eating. You can find a lot better italian in Budapest!More

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed March 20, 2022 via mobile

Unacceptable service provided on Saturday 19th march, we did not even stay. The first waiter seemed annoyed to see people coming (we had a booking and it was 19h45), and barely said anything to us. We waited almost 10 minutes to get a menu. Prices...in the menu are not the same as displayed outside, and are significantly higher than anywhere we saw in Budapest (have we been given a tourist menu ?). We asked for a wine menu, and it was given to the table next to ours. We started to leave, and none of them even cared about what was going on. This place makes a clear distinction between foreigners and local people. Avoid, there are better places to eat and spend a good evening, unless you want to have the feeling to be scammed and not respected.More

Date of visit: March 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed January 5, 2022

We often visited Da Mario, a restaurant we loved. We were surprised to see that it had moved to the restaurant next door. We asked the waiter about it, but he didn't know why or for how long. The service was slow, not too friendly...and the food compared to Da Mario's standard was poor. This was a disappointment and we won't go back again, unless it returns to its old self.More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed January 1, 2022

Had risotto with mushrooms and truffles, sweet potato fries and tiramisu. A bit pricey but the food was delicious and the waiter who served us had a really nice attitude.

Date of visit: January 2022
Helpful?
Reviewed November 4, 2021 via mobile

Very dissapointed. First, the food came very late, and the portions we received were far too small. Will not be coming here again.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed September 27, 2021

We were here for having dinner. It is a great place for family, is quiet, very good food, friendly and kind staff. We will definitely come back again when we will be back in Budapest! 🥰😍🥰 5 stars from us! ⭐🌟⭐🌟⭐

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed September 1, 2021 via mobile

Upon arrival I was revived well and lead to a table. The service, recommendations and wine were amazing, Mara took amazing care of me so I leave with a smile. Regarding food, high quality and great taste is to be expected. The pace of the...restaurant is quite good wether it’s with few customers or busy. The goulash lives up to its name here as “Legendary” For those looking for a romantic evening, seating facing west gives an amazing view of sunset with the trees and scenery of Budapest architecture. I’m definitely coming back whenever I have the chance.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 20, 2021 via mobile

I have visited Mario twice before covid, and was happy with It. Therefore, wanted to go again. The terrace was 10% full only, but It took long to get service.We ordered Pizza Buffala one for each of us. It took 40 min before we got...It, but one only. The waiter asked if we want to share. I said Yes as I realised that the second pizza was not done. Somewhat later a waiter asked that did we not order 2? I said, Yes but we got only one. He said they will fo another; however we were ready to go on to another plage. I was told they havemerged with Budapeyx Bistto; not goodMore

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed August 2, 2021

Da Mario was one of my favorite restaurants in Budapest which I was visiting quite often in the last 5 years. I went there again last evening after a long period closed due to covid. I’ve booked a table by phone. Surprise, as soon as...I arrive to Da Mario a employee of the restaurant on the side, Budapest Bisztro came and took me to a table on that restaurant without any explanation. I’ve explained that I was willing to eat the usual at Da Mario which I couldn’t find in their Menu and he told me they are merged restaurants now with a different menu, fair enough, but that could be said as soon I booked the table since I was willing to enjoy Da Mario environment and not the Budapet Bisztro. After I order I requested some bread so I can enjoy it with olive oil, again like I always did at Da Mario, after requesting it 2 times, the employee came with the bread without any plate, to whom I’ve asked politely 2 plates to put the olive oil. The answer was, “that’s why I’m going back”, well, god give you two arms and 2 hands why couldn’t you bring everything to the table at the same time? But lets continue this unique experience, my wife’s dish came, and only after 5 minutes and when I complained saying that my wife was not there to have dinner alone my Pizza arrive. Last but not least, when I requested another beer, the employee went to other tables for several minutes, which forced me to request the beer to 2 other employees and it was the one with Da Mario logo on his shirt the one who took 30 seconds to bring it to the table, this process took several minutes. I understand Covid is affecting the industry, but these faults are lack of training and pure common sense. With this kind of service restaurants will lose clients every day, and Da Mario just lost 2. The food, nothing special! I miss the old Da Mario!More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed May 9, 2021 via mobile

If you want a good dish dont go there. Too expensive for the quality. I ordered seafood spaghetti and it was almost cold. The amount of seafood was very exigous and one of the crab was dark blue and dont know if thats ok. Dont...go thereMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
Reviewed January 2, 2021

So we used to go there for pick up orders... But one day we noticed that price was more than usual, so we checked a receipt and realized they charged 20% extra. Following week we ordered again but checked the price this time, and then...they tried to charge 30% more!!! We pointed and then paid the original price....we kept a receipt from a week earlier so we told them, they admitted but because “I wasn’t the guy who handled” they refused to refund the overcharge. Plus, we are under a partial lock down and eat in is currently not allowed, but they had a few parties eating inside at upstairs tables...no genuine service, and not keeping the covid restriction either? Very disappointed.More

Date of visit: December 2020
Helpful?4  
Reviewed August 29, 2020 via mobile

The place would be quite nice if not some construction works going on across the street. The food was ok, but not more. The wine is good. The service was rude.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?3  
vargaal97, Egyéb at Da Mario Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2020

Dear szynka, Thank you for taking your time to share your experience here on Tripadvisor. Hopefully the construction works are going to stop soon. We are very glad that you liked our dishes, however we are deeply saddened by the fact that you have found...More

Reviewed August 18, 2020

The food was just bad, overpriced for such quality. Waiter did not leave parmesan on the table, while for the neighbour table guests got it on the table. Neither pepper was offered. The food wasn’t tasty at all. Choose rather another place for your dinner.More

Date of visit: August 2020
Helpful?2  
budapest_damario, Marketing at Da Mario Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2020

Dear Zhenya, Thank you for sharing your experience with us here on Tripadvisor, however we are deeply sad to read that the food did not live up to your expectations. It would help our work very much if you shared which dishes had issues. Have...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Aurea Ana Palace Hotel
41 reviews
.18 miles away
Hotel President Budapest
1,633 reviews
.19 miles away
Hotel Parlament
3,250 reviews
.22 miles away
H2 Hotel Budapest
136 reviews
.24 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Hungarikum Bisztro
10,557 reviews
.12 miles away
Mokka Cukka
220 reviews
.04 miles away
Kispiac Bisztro
1,338 reviews
.15 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Kossuth Lajos Square
491 reviews
.14 miles away
Monument to Imre Nagy/Remembrance Day (Oct. 23)
594 reviews
.03 miles away
Statue of Ferenc Rakoczi
145 reviews
.13 miles away
Ronald Reagan Statue
279 reviews
.10 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Da Mario Budapest staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Da Mario Budapest

Da Mario Budapest is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5