We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table
2
Thu, 7/29
8:00 PM

Ratings and reviews

#261 of 338 Bar in Budapest
#1,608 of 2,775 Restaurants in Budapest
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
$5 - $28
CUISINES
International, Bar
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Drinks
View all details
features, about

Location and contact

District I / Buda
0.1 miles from Varhegy
Improve this listing
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
5
1
2
0
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveler rating
5
1
2
0
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Very nice place with beautiful view. Cocktails and food were amazing. The sliders were phenomenal and they created the best old fashioned I’d had in weeks. Servers were attentive, ambiance was nice and the view couldn’t be beat.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

Nice place with a beautiful view. Cocktails and food were great. The sliders were brilliant and they created the best old fashioned I’d had in weeks. Servers were friendly, ambiance was nice and the view couldn’t be beat.

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 6 days ago

I was superexcited to go there well I am not pretty sure whether it was a good choice to celebrate my birthday there. There was big construction behind so the view was ruined a bit. Anyways we booked a table with Danube view and we...got that table. We ordered some food and cocktails however cocktails were only average nothing special like they were made by me and if i go such a place i would expect something extraordinary. Food was good but small portion this is fine dining i know. The biggest disappointment was the waiter’s service. He never smiled he was working like a robot and when my boyfriend asked for the prebooked birthday cake this waiter did not know anything and he wanted to convince us to order dessert. Finally he brought the brownie cake with firework but it almost fell down from the cake. It was very dangerous, My feeling about this restaurant is mostly bad. The only good thing in this place is the view.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Its nice place with beautiful view. Food was good also. The waiter was friendly, but even that the restaurant was empty and we ordered beer, wine and water, he forgot about the water or he cant carry 3 items on the plate. Also were sitting...with empty glasses for a bit. Usually I would not care, cause was not too bad,just was not the best. What annoyes me is the fact, that this was the first place we have visited in Budapest and we had no idea,that sevice is included in the total price. When my boyfriend wanted to give him tip, he said unfortunately they cant get tips on a card and never said is inluded already. So we gave him double tip like 20 EUR in total without knowing. For such a tip Id imagine way better service. Some self reflection is missing here Im affraid.More

Date of visit: July 2021
Helpful?
Ildiko T, Marketing at Leo Rooftop Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear 614kate_inah, Thank you for you detailed review. I am glad that you loved my view and mentioned my colleague's friendliness, although I am sorry that you had some troubles with your order. In case of the service fee: it is written on our menu...More

Reviewed June 17, 2021

Nice view but a bit noisy and dark. Actually we cannot see what we ate, and could not speak with each other because of the noisy music. It is more of a bar than a restaurantMore

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?2  
Ildiko T, Marketing at Leo Rooftop Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear 340 adriennm, Thanks for your feedback, it means a lot that you took time to write it. My Rooftop is definitely more a bar, than a restaurant that is the reason why we offer more cocktail options and bar food, and sometimes the music...More

Reviewed June 4, 2021

You should not miss visiting this place when in Budapest. Not only the view is the best you can get but also the stuff was very friendly and polite. I believe this place deserves the best review and I sincerely believe that people who did...not give good reviews are faking it for personal purposes. I am a frequent traveller and have been in many places around the world, and this place made my stay in Budapest special and I felt that I have to come back one day. The person that served us was very kind and even suggested us some places with nice food. If you love to enjoy your coffee or drink with outstanding view like I do, that is your place!More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
Ildiko T, Marketing at Leo Rooftop Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear melindasG77720LQ, I appreciate your words, they make me really proud to my team and place. Hope to see you soon! Love, Leo :)

Reviewed June 1, 2021

view was nice but the service was absolutely horrendous. Our waiter was nice ( I believe she had black hair put in a ponytail so excluding her, thank you for the good service!) but the rest of the staff were snobby and rude. Sat five...of us on two tiny circular tables put together ( barely could fit all our food and one person had to sit in the crack so she could not put her food in front of her but rather had to eat on another side of the table.) We asked multiple times to be seated somewhere else to no avail as they claimed that it was all reserved. however right next to us was a large table they said could not seat us as one tiny table could "fit three" but two women sat there when we had five. In addition to this they left not long after we sat down and no one sat at the table for the entire duration of our stay which was 1h30 minutes long) so it was just ridiculous. A large assumption but considering how dismissive and unfriendly the staff were I would have to assume it was one of two factors: 1) was it because we were younger than the rest of their customers so they looked down on us thinking we didn't have money ( snobby) and thought we could be pushed around? and/or 2) as a group of asians especially in this climate where asian hate is so prevalent, it makes you paranoid and feel like it could've been discrimination but that's a big conclusion to jump to and maybe they're just rude. Also I've seen the responses the restaurant sometimes gives to bad reviews and its pretty passive aggressive, if you dont want people to leave bad reviews, then do better dont try and gaslight your customers and act like they were misguided or wrong. My friends and I just wanted a nice graduation dinner and heard good reviews but instead were left deeply frustrated by the dismissiveness of the staff.More

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Ildiko T, Marketing at Leo Rooftop Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Anna, First of all thank you for your detailed review and the positive feedback on our colleague's work. On the other hand I am really amazed by your harsh conclusions on the issue, that my managers couldn't give you another table on a full...More

Reviewed May 7, 2021

Nice cocktails, amazing view, and terrible service which destroyed everything... it is nice that it is covered

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
Ildiko T, Marketing at Leo Rooftop Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2021

Dear Eszter, We are sorry for your bad experience! Could you please update us on some details (your server’s name or the name under the reservation was made) to catch up and can understand the situation better? Thanks a lot! Cheers, Leo

Reviewed May 6, 2021 via mobile

The worst place I’ve ever been to The staffs were unfriendly and rude Drinks quality was poor Not recommended at all Just nice viewMore

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?2  
Ildiko T, Marketing at Leo Rooftop Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2021

Dear Tara Msworld, We are surprised on your review, since we didn't get any - this - bad feedback on the spot, and we are sure that the there's no problem with the quality of our drinks or our bartenders attitude for sure. But we'd...More

Reviewed November 2, 2020 via mobile

Received great help organizing a surprise party with the best view in Budapest! Highly recommend this place as always! Great service received by everyone from the hostess to the waiters ⭐️⭐️⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ Thank you 🦁

Date of visit: November 2020
Helpful?
Ildiko T, Marketing at Leo Rooftop Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much Ivar for your positive feedback! See you soon! Leo :)

View more reviews
Best nearby
District I / Buda
The historical center to a city with a multifarious
and intricate past, Buda has some of the most
outstanding buildings in Europe and an enviable
natural landscape with stunning views onto the Danube.
Centered around the Royal Palace, it provides a
glimpse into the golden years of the Austro-Hungarian
empire and the lives led by the aristocracy at the
time. Matthias Church, beside the palace, hosted many
...More
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Hotel Clark Budapest
843 reviews
.05 miles away
Lanchid 19, Budapest
886 reviews
.11 miles away
Carlton Hotel Budapest
1,709 reviews
.12 miles away
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
2,170 reviews
.26 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Meat Boutique
1,972 reviews
.06 miles away
Marvelosa
595 reviews
.09 miles away
Lanchid Brasserie
810 reviews
.09 miles away
Pater Marcus Abbey
625 reviews
.12 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Buda Hill Funicular
1,897 reviews
.02 miles away
Krepostnaya Mountain
41 reviews
.07 miles away
Clark Adam Square (Clark Adam ter)
164 reviews
.04 miles away
Turul Bird Statue
42 reviews
.06 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Leo Rooftop Budapest staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Leo Rooftop Budapest

Leo Rooftop Budapest is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travelers:
  • Food: 3.5
  • Service: 3
  • Value: 3